We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good, affordable hotel in Orlando”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando
Ranked #146 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Indialantic, FL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good, affordable hotel in Orlando”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2009

This hotel is new & very clean. I was a female traveling alone and felt very safe. It's a family hotel w/small pool. Saw a number of business travelers as well. The room was small but nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Room contained desk/wireless for laptop. Staff were friendly, free breakfast included hot and cold items and offered more than the usual "continental". I ate at 7am each morning and had no wait. When leaving at 8:30 however, the breakfast room was crowded. There were kids/teenagers in large numbers (It is 1/2 mile from Universal Studios, afterall). I saw them around, but they were well-mannered and were not the least bothersome. Close to Ikea, Millenia Mall, a Walgreens, and a number of restaurants. Only 2 complaints: The sheers on the window are not sufficient and the curtains dont pull closed, but the height of the room made privacy less of an issue, I guess. Ask for a room on 4th floor or higher! Second, the shampoo is worthless. If you have a lot of hair, bring your own shampoo. Otherwise, I liked this choice, it was the best possible hotel for the money, and I will be staying there again when I return. Without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnabaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    389
    131
    35
    31
See reviews for
392
228
38
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

If you enjoy staying at an upscale hotel without paying an upscale price, business or pleasure - this hotel is for you! We all know how expensive theme parks are these days and due to the economic times, do you really want to waste your money on a "high priced" hotel just for a place to sleep? This will be my 3rd year staying at this hotel and what a good feeling not to cut you vacation short because you over-payed for a hotel room.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoCam6391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

We thought this was an excellent hotel! It was VERY clean and new. The staff was friendly. It does only have a shower (no tub) - but they are very large showers. The breakfast buffet was delicious - and include eggs, sausage. (You can't beat that for a continental breakfast!!!) We would definitely stay here again!

Although there is a holiday inn express closer to universal... it looks run-down compared to this hotel. If you can walk a mile... stay here!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skier1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night, passing through Orlando. The hotel must be brand new--everything was very up to date and trendily decorated. Our room was georgous, nicer than the luxury hotel we stayed in the following night! The rooms are large suites, with a bed and sitting area. The breakfast was a hot and cold buffet with plenty to choose from. We did not go to Universal, but could see the roller coasters from our room on the 10th floor.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supererrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

For a HI Express, this hotel exceeded my expectations. While the rooms were small and the bathroom was tiny, the view was lousy, the staff was um, interesting (if you like gospel singing front desk staff), there were plenty of good things. The pool was great, the elevators were fast, the staff was helpful, the breakfast was kept replenished, the public areas were clean and decorated nicely, the halls were quiet, the free transportation to Universal was great. The Universal staff at the hotel was nice. The location was great and for what we paid, this was a great choice for our family. Good value!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvlagntwkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

Great value for the money. Like most in Orlando, we showered to hit Disney/Universal and slept at night...but wait, only after we had our free breakfast each morning! If you are looking for a room that holds six (pull out sofa sleeper included), provides a pretty decent breakfast, has free parking and is very close to all the tourist areas, this is the hotel. We also had great views from our ninth floor window. Elevators are fast unlike the Double Tree we stayed in last time. The hotel is also about a mile from a high-end outlet mall, 5 minutes from Universal, 15 from Sea World and 20 from Disney. We'll stay again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank St_Louis_MORedbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2009

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with the purpose of our stay being leisure, primarily to visit universal studios. This hotel was perfect for just that. It was conviently located to universal--not walkable but I don't really think that any hotel is within walking distance, because the roads are very busy and the intersections are large. But overall it was reasonably priced, clean and the breakfast was pretty decent.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJGPUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Clarion Inn & Suites
#111 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando
Address: 5605 Major Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-7960 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites @ Univ Studios)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Business Hotel in Orlando
#155 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Closest Holiday Inn Express Hotel to Universal Orlando Just steps away from Universal Studios and 10 minutes from the Orlando Convention Center, our central Orlando hotel offers both comfort and convenience. If you are looking for lodging near Orlando theme parks, look no further than our charming Orlando hotel, conveniently located at the intersection of Florida s Turnpike and I-4. Easy access to popular Orlando attractions like Walt Disney World Resort and SeaWorld Orlando and Aquatica. Cruise International Drive, also known as I-Drive , for the best shopping, restaurants and entertainment in Orlando. Prime Outlets, Festival Bay, and Mall at Millenia are all five minutes away. Also, we are only 15 minutes away from downtown Orlando. During your Orlando business trip, you will be impressed with the accommodations our Orlando hotel provides. Our Universal hotel is conveniently located near the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center and is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Orlando, FL. While vacationing in Orlando, enjoy several hotel amenities including free high-speed Internet access, pool heated (seasonally) and hot breakfast buffet. Book your reservation today and enjoy our great Orlando hotel deals and rates. Must be 21 years of age with valid credit card at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Universal Studios Orlando
Holiday Inn Express Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing