We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Ranked #89 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Holland, MI
Level Contributor
275 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet.”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We enjoyed our clean, quiet rooms at Port Orleans. The room had a camp feel with beds frames made to look like natural tree limbs. Landscaping was terrific, and our 8-year old daughter loved the swimming pool just a few yards away from the building. We loved the breakfast in a large cafeteria-style room just was a short walk away; you can even get a Mickey-shaped waffle. Great linens and pillows.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tromba61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,910
    3,012
    1,010
    362
    190
See reviews for
5,643
1,323
78
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
243 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This was a vacation for two families, we were taking my son and his family to Disney to celebrate my grandson's fifth birthday. We were able to get two adjoining rooms. The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and the amenities are many. You are close to most of the parks and the buses run frequently. However, the buses can be crowded and you may have to stand the entire trip. There is a beautiful pool on an island adjacent to the lodgings, you just have to cross a bridge to get their. Their "quiet" pool at the center of each of the villages. The food in the main building is fast food style, but tasty and well prepared. It is good for a quick breakfast in the morning, or a late snack in the evening. There is also a boat that will take you to Downtown Disney, but it doesn't run if it is windy. You can rent bike cars, or boats, and there is an area for fishing, you rent the poles. I can highly recommend this location.

Room Tip: If you want to be closer to the buses and the food, make your preferences known.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gourmand47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Riverside is a beautiful resort, whether you stay on the bayou side or magnolia bend side. The quick service restaurants are great but the table service restaurant was a little disappointing. This resort is great for families with young children. I have stayed here twice now and highly recommend it for a moderate resort.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WDWFan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Liberty, IA USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We spent one week at the Port Orleans Riverside. Our lodging was wonderful. We did ask for a refurbished room. Our room was 8071. SInce we are both 80 we had scooters and our room was large enough for us to bring the scooters in each night to plug them into electricity. The rooms were very clean and the linens were very soft and white. We hope to go again next year and take our family. Check in was very easy for us and the bus service from the airport was wonderful. We
were on the middle meal plan and the food was very good. Breakfast especially.
WONDERFUL! WONDERFUL! VACATION

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Grandman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
218 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This was our fifth trip to Disney and our first stay in Port Orleans - Riverside. We called ahead to request a renovated room and then renewed that request on check in - our request was not honored. By the time we got to our room, we decided just to stay in the room we were assigned. It was very dark with no view, but it was close to the parking lot behind us so we ended up using our car because the bus transport was time consuming. The lobby and food court were a bit of a walk and we were in the Parterre building, which is closer than most of the other areas. The food court is very large and has a great selection of food items as well as a sit down restaurant so you can eat there if you can't get reservations in the parks for a sit down meal or if you just want the convenience of eating close to "home". There a few pools, but the one nearest to us is very large and in a beautiful location. There are also a lot of activities for children including a big video arcade and rentals of boats for the nearby river and bicycles and surrey with the fringe on top bike type transport for the entire family. We took the river transportation to Downtown Disney and it was pleasant and probably took less time than the buses. This resort is pretty close to Epcot and Hollywood Studios so the bus transport to those should be easy. We took the bus to Animal Kingdom and Magic Kingdom and the wait was fairly long upon exit from the parks. After that we decided to drive to the parks which made it quicker and more convenient - hate that we increased our carbon footprint! If we had been younger, I would have definitely made the effort to continue with the Disney transport. All in all, the hotel was good, but not the best we have visited.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room close to the lobby - there aren't a lot and as I mentioned, they did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tobique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We have stayed on Disney property before, but as a couple. We now have children (4 and 2) and this was our first time back to Disney property with them. This was our first taste of the Port Orleans area (French Quarter or Riverside).

We arrived on Februay 27th and immediately were bogged down by a resort wide reservation outage, that I was told had been out since 0600 that morning. We arrived at 1230 and were without rooms until it all got cleared up approximately at 4pm that day. That added some stress to our trip I had not expected at all. We were all dressed for a winter morning in the Northeast and it was in the 80s in Orlando. We probably should have packed a change of clothes in our carry ons. We ended up exploring the grounds for several hours.

When we did receive a room I was told we were upgraded to a two queen bedroom with river view and stayed in the Acadian House (building 80). Though we did face the river, a giant tree actually blocked our second floor's window's view of the river. I was okay with it as I never really imagined my family would sit at the window wacthing the river while at Disney World!

The room was a good size by Disney standards and held the two queen beds, a breakfast nook table with two chairs, a bureau that held the flat screen television and a small dorm fridge. There was a single night stand between the two beds. The bathroom was separated from the living space by a closeable curtain. It contained two mirrors and two sinks. The toilet and shower was behind a door. There was no closet, but an area was available next to the sinks with rod and hangars.

My two year old son required a pack n' play which we received from the staff. We managed to squeeze the pack n' play into the bathroom next to the sinks in order to draw the curtain and put him to bed earlier than my wife, my daughter and I. Some PO Riverside rooms have a trundle bed or murphy bed for children. Mine did not. My daughter slept in one of the queen beds and we slept in the other. The beds were a firmer mattress than we were accustomed to, but after a couple tiring days of parks, we didn't care anymore.

Wireless internet was available free of charge. This hotel was not listed as a Disney property with free wireless, but it had it none the less. We enjoyed it for making last minute dinner reservations. The signal wasn't the greatest, but it worked.

The acreage of the property is quite expansive. If there was any "con" to the resort it would be that. After walking the parks all day, the walk from my bedroom to the main building to refill my resort mug seemed awfully far. Coffee was available in the room, but it was not great. So every morning I'd trudge to the main building to get my coffee and bring it back to the room.

We tried the cane fishing on the river and my daughter loved it. We also enjoyed the quiet pool next to Building 80. We never used the "loud pool" on the island. We saw many people using the horse and buggy for rent, but never did ourselves. In hindsight, I wish we had. Movies were played outdoors between Buildings 90 and 95, always starting at 8pm. That was fun to watch for a short while before bed.

All in all, a great trip at a great resort. A little bit of a rocky start on our first day, but by check out on the 5th of March, we were in love with the place.

Room Tip: In hindsight, with a rental car or use of the buses, a parking lot side room is just that much close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank orionreplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort ann, ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Just checked out 3/3. We love this resort....EXCEPT for the signage (as someone previously reported) either not enough direction or, the one sign that is facing the wrong direction - tells you that you're heading to the lobby, not so! We are going back in December for 12 days, my kids 15, 9, & 8 would rather enjoy more resort days than park days. It is so beautiful walking the paths at night...I don't mind getting lost. My daughter and I would just laugh walking back to our room from the main pool because each time, we ended up on a different route, getting lost...OH - memories! I figured out the last night that if you remember the building # (the one on the interior path to the pool and lobby) - you can then find your building (if your building is on the outside, closer to the parking lots) Mousekeeping was awesome! Our Mousekeeper used "white glove standards" tending to our room ... Do you think they'll honor a request to locate us in her building the next time?!! I forgot to mention, we were in a refurbished room in the Alligator Bayou section-love the murphy beds. Boatwrights was the best meal of our entire trip. Every cast member we came in contact with at our resort was just wonderful, helpful, and professional. Can't wait...9 more months!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank prtynpnkFortAnn_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
1.1 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.6 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
4.6 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.4 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8514 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#72 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing