We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would do it again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Ranked #89 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Would do it again!”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This was our first time doing the Whole Disney Vacation and I loved it. Our room at POR was a little outdated and was one of the rooms yet to be renovated, but it was still well kept. Old Man Island Pool was crowded at the best of times, and there were never any lounge chairs available during mid afternoon. A lot of activities for the kids to do at pool side and was a party atmosphere. The restaurant at the main building was excellent. Had the best roast here. Didn't like the fact that there was no one to help you bring your bags to your room. We had driven to Florida from Canada and had luggage and was not even able to get a cart. Had to lug everything by hand to our room which was quite far from the parking area. Should have asked for a room on the first floor as there are no elevators either for those with disabilities.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to transportation and to the main building, otherwise, you will be walking far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet1111161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,874
    2,985
    1,001
    359
    189
See reviews for
5,583
1,314
78
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

spent 7 days here whilst doing the theme parks, hotel and grounds are spotless, rooms are clean,nice swimming pools, bus's to theme parks are regular although crowded.We stayed as room only and after tasting the food in the food hall, i was glad that we were self catering. The food was bland, there was very little to choose from and was expensive, the portions were small and the seating area more like a cafe.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radashley2001
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband, I, and my 6 yr old daughter stayed at Port Orleans Riverside for a week at the end of April. We did get to stay in one of the newly renovated rooms, which was very fresh and clean looking. I know several people have complained about the beds being uncomfortable, but we had no problems sleeping on them. Other complaints were that they could hear their neighbors, but we had no problems with that either. We were conventiently located close to the North bus stop and close to one of the smaller pools. It was just a short scenic walk to the larger pool and waterslide for us also. The buses were a great way to get around for us. Once we parked our car when we arrived, we didn't move it again till we left the resort. On average we waited about 10-15 minutes for a bus, but that's not bad considering they drop you off right at the front gate of each park. We did not eat at the cafeteria located at the resort, but it looked very nice. All the staff was great, the grounds were beautiful, and my little girl had fun chasing all the lizards and bunnies at the resort. I do not have anything negative to say about this resort. I would definately recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank radashley2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We had no serious issues with this resort. Very clean and well organized. The convenience to downtown with the boat service was great and the overall location is close to everything by the disney bus service which was always right on time. A few things to be weiry of is their internet service which was disasterous. Had no problem finding their wifi on the laptop but it would never stay connected. I must of re-connected close to 75 times in a week long stay just to post pictures onto facebook and to use basic email. Maybe to much resort traffic going on and it also seemed that cell phone service was slow as well. Look out for the food court which was always busy with guests on the meal plan and kids everywhere which was sometimes chaotic. Plenty of pools on the property though the satellite ones did not have towels so you had to bring your room towels. Why not just keep a supply available like the main pool offered? Laundry room had some washers out of order and I lost $1 at the detergent dispenser as it was not stocked with soap. Staff was friendly though we did encounter one "pushy" maid who wanted to clean our room and was not happy we were still in it at noon. Would come back for a future stay though we might try the Port Orleans French Quarter resort for a comparison.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Milkon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed down on the allegator bayou with 3 adults and 2 children. The room was a little cramped but all we used it for was sleeping. We could not find one thing wrong with our stay it was perfect. The staff was very helpful and the lady that took care of our room attended to our every need. Main swimming pool smaller one by our room campfires nightly movies fishing boating and Yeha Bob Jackson you could spend a vacation just at this resort. This is nothing like the "value resorts" The food is just as good as in the parks and the gift shop is fully stocked. I highly recomend staying here. It is on another level as compaired to the value resorts it is well worth the extra money. And I dont seem to see the reason for spending the extra money on the deluxe resorts when you can stay here for half the price with almost the same level of "magic"

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Moparman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This was our first time staying at Port Orleans Riverside but not our first stay on Disney property.
This resort provided an excellent experience.
As noted in other reviews, it is a large resort, the walking paths transcend you into a tranquil environment that encourages you to stop and enjoy the scenery. It was simply picturesque. For those with small children a stroller would be a asset or for those traveling with the eldely for which long strolls are difficult a wheelchair would benefit. We stayed in Alligator Bayou at the furthest building away from any anmenities, however, they have multiple pools throughout the resort and one was right next to our building, as was a bus stop.
The room decor had a rustic feel but clean. Mousekeeping came daily and new towel characters always made a exciting return to see what you would have.
This resort has something for everyone from the wonderful pools, beautiful walkiing trails, boat rentals, bike rentals, horse drawn carriage, fishing, dining with palatable food and nightly movies on the lawn. I could have spent multiple relaxing days during our stay.
Disney transportation is always made easy to travel to other resorts for dining or to the parks for a day of adventure.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellylovesdisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Just returned after three-night stay at POR with husband and three kids. We love French Quarter, but can no longer stay as party of five since youngest is now three-years-old, so booked waterfront room at great Florida Resident rate. THE GOOD: Arrived at 10 a.m., and instead of stowing luggage and waiting for room to be ready at regular check-in time, got key immediately to settle-in. * Check-in very quick despite not doing it online ahead of time. * Got refurbished room because of early check-in (ask if this is important to you as not all rooms are complete). * Updates very cute with tasteful, fun bayou theme. * Instead of traditional trundles, updated rooms have benches with backs that pull down to reveal youth bed with cute picture of alligator from Princess and the Frog behind it - my taller than average 10-year-old fit comfortably. * Coffee maker updated to mini, coffee pod units. * Towels, soap, and, shampoo replenished daily. * Food court provided a variety of meal options for breakfast and lunch (didn't eat dinner there) - all good. * Parking never an issue -always got a spot in front of building (could be time of year). * gift shop has large variety of items and open 'til midnight (big deal when we needed pull-ups after long day at parks). Beautiful lush setting. THE BAD: No door separating sleeping area from vanity area (unlike French Quarter which recently updated to a door, which is nice with kids who consistently open the provided curtain when adults trying to dress). Shower/toilet area with door is too small to dress in, comfortably. * Construction to update some buildings is currently taking place. Not really an issue, unless you'd rather not walk past construction workers on the way to and from pool, etc. * Mattresses terrible - in my (and husband's) opinion - woke with sore backs every night (this is highly subjective, though, I know). * Linens weird and scratchy. Were custom fitted to mattresses, which made them very difficult to manage when sleeping - couldn't easily pull them up. * Food court very busy at certain times (8-9:30 a.m. and 11:30 a.m. -1:30 p.m.). If we got there for breakfast closer to 10 and lunch closer to 2 we were OK, however. * Paid for water view room and got a room near one of the smaller pools that we could only see from an angle from our window. Turned out fine since we ended-up using this pool because the main one was always very crowded. *This was also a good because it is very pretty, but I have to say that the lush grounds can be a bit much for those that don't care for humidity. We were there during a rainy spell and, between the little ponds and trees, it was a bit uncomfortable for us at times. It definitely fits the theme of the resort, but I prefer a less wet, woodsy environment.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room - especially if you need trundle. You'll get update bench-style be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joobilance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
1.1 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.6 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
4.6 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.4 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8514 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#72 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing