We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Ranked #89 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I loved my time at Disney Port Orleans Riverside- the resort is a lot quieter and has many pools where you can find some peace during a Disney trip. The ferry to downtown is very convenient and the amenities like the bikes are awesome. I wish they served beignets like the French Quarter but I took a bike ride down to get it. Overall I really liked the resort and would come back again. The feel is very relaxed. We came back to the resort each afternoon to take a break and then go to the park again, it was most convenient that way. Each morning we rode the bus to the parks, breakfast in the hall is a bit crazy but if you go early you can beat the rush.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,878
    2,987
    1,001
    359
    189
See reviews for
5,587
1,316
78
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is the fourth time we have stayed at POR with our family of 5. Once again, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Since our last visit, this resort has changed over to the Disney FastPass+ system. Essentially, you get a wristband that acts as your room key, park tickets, meal vouchers, fast pass vouchers, and credit card. As far as FP+ was concerned, we experienced no glitches, all of our reservations were accurate, and the wristbands were durable and comfortable.

This resort is large, but quaint and quiet. For the amount of people staying there, you really can enjoy your privacy while in your room. This was during Spring Break season, but we never had to wait for a bus. The staff was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JoeP1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, N.Y.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Four of us stayed in a room towards the back of the property, building 25 I believe. It looks far on the map, but the walk wasn't bad at all. And I preferred being out of the heavy traffic area.

We basically had the pool to ourselves, though it wasn't quite warm enough to enjoy it as much as I would have liked during our February visit. We walked over to the jacuzzi on Ol' Man Island and had a nice soak. Thankfully it was more family oriented and not a big party atmosphere.

The property is beautiful and I really like the style of the landscaping in the Alligator Bayou area. Felt the supplies were meager for the room -- had to go ask for more shampoo and conditioner. Lotion is also available upon request. Room was clean and comfortable thought.

The cafeteria dining in the main building is a bit limited, but more than adequate and not quite as expensive as I worried it might be if you choose widely. Remember to save your cups and take advantage of free refills! Avoid the Boatwrights restaurant. I thought it way overpriced and the worst meal of our trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bbright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delmont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This Disney Resort is still as nice as it was years ago when we stayed there when it was called Dixie Landings. It is our favorite for the moderate priced resorts in the park. It is very peaceful here. The grounds are beautiful and the restaurants are very good. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We've stayed here a couple of times and still have not seen everything there is to see on the rounds. Oh, well, not enough time, guess we'll have to go back again!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyje_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed for only one night, but the grounds are beautiful. Nothing but the best with Disney. We had a simple room two queens, and a murphy bed. My 8 year old loved the murphy bed. Pool was great and heated. Service is always wonderful. Only draw back to disney if you have not stayed on property is the prices. Outrageous prices for food or drinks, but its expected, its disney. The beds were hard at this resort, I tossed and turned all night. Not a good sleep due to hard beds. One other thing missing with this resort is there is no activity center for kids. They have games at the pool, but that is it. Nothing like Saratoga which has arts, crafts, and a multitude of activities for kids. But it was a great stay none the less. I would go back, but will choose my room better or upgrade.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tluco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We choose this resort due to wanting bigger beds. I got lucky and got a king bed with a murphy bed. It was the most beautiful resort! It was so quiet and peaceful. This is definitely the best moderate resort at Disney! You will walk a little but its so worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDMHMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia,MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We got to the resort very early, so we knew our room would not be ready, and we were prepared to take the boat to Downtown Disney and have lunch while we waited for the room. Check-in was easy, and I signed up to get a text when our room was ready. We took our bags to luggage check, and went to have lunch. The grounds of the resort are just beautiful, and the boat ride to Downtown Disney was really nice. We got the text that our room was ready while we were finishing up lunch. All we got was a room number. Went back to get our bags and I asked a cast member where room 3421 was. She pulls out a map and shows me, and asks "are you driving there?" Umm no, we did not rent a car, the whole point of staying at a Disney resort I thought!
I asked for an extra map, but she said she didn't have one. Ok, I thought the directions seemed simple enough. We were in building 34 in Alligator Bayou. The signs on property to get to our building make you go the LOONNGG way. Eventually we figured out a better way, but one night my husband got lost coming back to our room, and the signs did NOT help him! I was really disappointed that they did not provide a map at check-in. My husband went back and asked about this, and the cast member's response was "we don't give maps because the buildings move sometimes". Really?
Anyway, we enjoyed the campfire and marshmallow roasting, the playgrounds, bar, pool area. Our room was nice, and our son loved the murphy bed. I did find a used soap on top of an extra blanket on a shelf in the bathroom. No big deal. Not a very big room, but just fine for our 2 night stay. Food options were average. We ate several times at the food court, but was not overly impressed with the food.
All in all, great property, but lacking food options, and A LOT of walking. I wish we could have gotten a room in building 27, like other reviewers stated. Maybe that would have made our stay more enjoyable. I would definitely stay at a Disney resort again, it's definitely the way to go, but probably not returning to Riverside. Make sure you wait for the Disney buses near the lobby. A lot easier to get on the bus there.

Room Tip: If in Alligator Bayou, ask for a room in building 27
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ksimmons77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
1.1 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.6 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
4.6 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.4 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8514 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#72 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing