We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Ranked #89 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing time”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We'd never been to Disney so can't compare to other resorts or villas. However, we had an amazing time and it's the first holiday where we weren't ready to go home at the end.

Staff were outstanding and so welcoming (not had this type of customer service before in European/Mediteranean hotels).

The complex is so well maintained. The gardens were tidy and hygiene very good.

It was very easy visiting all Disney parks as the hotel is fairly central and bus services run frequently (the guide time s every 20 minutes but we waited no longer than 10 minutes).

If you fancied a day off from the parks (we needed a rest every now and then) the pool is a good option with plenty of sun beds available from 9am until 11pm.

I was disappointed with the repetitive nature of the dining arrangements (same menu every day with just basic foods). Maybe the "quick service dining plan" is meant to be just that - quick no frills food. It was a cafeteria style place where you would choose what you wanted and then queue up at that service area for it. However, I found it to be really slow at times, not fast. For example, on one counter I wanted burger and fries for dinner. There was 2 people serving but just one person cooking the food - the proportion of chefs to servers was wrong at times and made queues very long. Having said all this, the hotel does so well in all other areas that it wasn't really a major problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank viking39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,987
    3,054
    1,023
    372
    194
See reviews for
5,759
1,336
79
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

In the past we have stayed at the All Star Sports, All star Movies, and Carribean Beach resorts. We were more pleased with the All Star (value) resorts than the Carribean resort (disgusting). I am super picky when it comes to hotel rooms, however, Port Orleans Riverside was our favorite place to stay at Disney thus far and was as comfortable as any hotel room can be for me!

We were pleased with the service desk workers and we really liked the boat service to Downtown Disney! Nice option to the shuttle busses. We did seem to wait longer for shuttle busses to each of the parks each day, so maybe Disney could look into rerouting busses so guests are not waiting so long at the shuttle stations.

Our room was clean upon arrival. On the table was a letter from Princess Tiana herself welcoming the girls to their stay in her room! From what I understand it is fairly newly updated. The room was Princess Tiana theme and had many features that our girls appreciated, including the Aladdin lamp faucet, magic carpet, bench from Beauty and the Beast, and an LED mural above each of the beds. The maids also left a mouse and a bird made of towels. All of these things are little extras that we appreciated. I am pleased to see that comforters have been removed, because let's face it, they are not washed often and are nasty. I prefer the bedding that was on the beds which is all white with a decorative coverlet across the bottom.

We spent little time at the resort and all our time at the parks. We left by 10am and returned at 11 or midnight. We did not utilize the pool, restaurant, etc.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will return to this resort again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I could spend quite a bit of time on this review but the title sums it up best. The most concerning issue was Security. We came back to our room after being out of it for 7 hours, to find it open. The door closure you can use to hold it open for example when bringing bags in was left in the door holding it open. Housekeeping had been there at some point as the room was clean. We stayed in the room for another 30 minutes but no one came by as if they left it open by mistake. When reporting it to a manager at the front desk we were told to call the Claims dept which I was told is also the general Security number, They only accept calls until 4:30pm so being after that one can only imagine that you should not have a Security problem after that. I then talked to a Security officer in person and was told the same thing. Towels were not available for the pool so you needed to use your room towels and look for a cart to take them from in order to shower in the morning. Hotel staff for the most part average with one even nasty in the hotel store. We have stayed here 4-5 times as our children have grown up but not in the last 5 years. It is average maybe for the price you pay but really unacceptable quality or lack thereof for a Disney Resort Hotel. One cashier at the restaurant did go out of her way to assist with one issue which was refreshing to see at least someone remembered what Disney is supposed to be like.

Room Tip: Do not spend money to upgrade to a poolside or water view room. It really is not necessary as the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My family of 5 are return Disney vacationers and recently stayed for 3 nights at Port Orleans - Riverside. We have previously stayed in the All-Star Music family suites (Value resort), Kidani Village one bedroom suite (Deluxe Villas) and now at here (Moderate resort). We stayed in a pool side room in the Alligator Bayou section, which is the only area in Port Orleans that will sleep 5. Right from the start, we really loved it.

It was certainly different than a typical Disney resort, as there were Disney subtleties, rather than obvious Disney themes. We vacation often at Hilton Head Island, SC and it very much reminded me of that. It had a very "Old South" ambiance. The resort is very large, but because we had a rental car, it made it easy to get around. If you don't have a car, be prepared to do a little walking. Regardless of the size, it really is easy to get around the resort with the way it's laid out.

The resort is in the Downtown Disney area. The grounds are beautiful and the quiet pool by our room was a bonus. The pool areas also have free wifi, so I could catch up on emails on my laptop in the morning while the kids swam. Our kids (ages 15, 13, 10) actually used the pool by our room more than the main pool. In summary, we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DJC313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicksburg, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here many times before and have always stayed in the alligator bayou but this trip we stayed in the plantation section and it was as equally enjoyable. We had a royal suite which has hidden magic that I will let you discover. Disney as always pays attention to the small details. The sidewalks are relaxing and each bend will make you feel that you have been transported to an different time and place.
We really enjoy this resort and all of the amenities that is has to offer. There are several pools along with the main pool "Old Mans Island". The main pool is close to the food court and has a pool bar. The other pools are scattered among the rest of the resort for those that want to take a quick dip.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank FamTrav2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I went to disney a few years ago and we stayed here. The rooms are nice and cozy, but the highlight of the hotel is the water slide. When I was younger, I would go on it over and over. The boat around the lake is also very relaxing. A great hotel!

Room Tip: I like the pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacob338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside and the service that I received from Louis Aiello the Guest Service Manager was fantastic! He really went out of his way of ensuring that my wife and I received a room like we requested and helped me getting all setup with their new wristband program that Walt Disney World Resort guest are using. This band is now used as your room key, entrance into the parks, charging things to your room and fast passes. He followed up with me via email and phone calls to make sure everything went well and because of his efforts my wife and I had a great time there. The hotel is a moderate priced hotel (over $200 per night with tax) and is in a nice location in terms of getting to everything. It almost seems like it's right in the middle of the property so getting to Disney Studios, EPCOT, Magic Kingdom, Animal Kingdom and Downtown Disney. They have a nice bar by the pool and offer a large dining area for quick bites like burgers, sandwiches, hot dogs and etc. If this hotel fits into your price range I would definitely recommend it if you are going to stay on property at Walt Disney World.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MichaelLong1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
1.1 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.6 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
4.6 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.4 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8514 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#72 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing