We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Ranked #90 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay at Port Orleans Riverside during our trip to Disney because of the price. At first I wasn't sure if it would be nice. I was wrong! The rooms were decorated nicely, although on the smaller side. The grounds were beautiful, and the kids loved walking around them at night. We spent some time in the pool and the water slide was a hit. Our room was close to the bus station, so catching a bus to the Disney attractions was no problem. Housekeeping was on top of everything. From towels to extra coffee, we did not have to wait very long for them to get to us. It is a nice hotel at a great price. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kristenkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,792
    2,920
    969
    352
    184
See reviews for
5,447
1,273
78
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, MA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at this resort hotel due to a Disney wedding we were attending, so the room rate came at the wedding group discount. Also because of the wedding, our room was in fairly close proximity to the main restaurant, pool and bus depot. I'm only giving this an average rating because I was expecting a bit more for the price, and well-- because of the Disney reputation. Our room was nice enough, with just a few problems. The mattresses were not great-- when sitting on the edge of the bed, you could feel every individual mattress spring, and then hear them as well. I found an old check-out bill from a previous guest in one of the drawers in the room. The ironing board had definitely seen better days-- it barely could stand up on its own, and we needed to use it for the clothes we were going to wear to the wedding. We had requested an upper floor corner room, but were given a ground floor room in-between others. I was expecting to hear a lot of exterior noise, but it was surprisingly quiet-- however this was August, and the air conditioning was running non-stop, so that definitely helped drown out the occasional passerby with loud children. The boats to Downtown Disney are a nice amenity, but frequent thundershowers made the buses the go-to means of travel. We did not have time to use the pools, however seeing how crowded the main pool was-- we would not have used it anyway. The smaller pool closer to our room seemed nicely uncrowded and quiet. The Boat-wright's dining hall had typical "park food" and was always very loud. I was really expecting more from Disney, but everywhere we ate, it was kind of all the same (including Italy in Epcot, and also the Grand Floridian resort). Didn't seem to matter what the price point was, everywhere the food looked like it should have tasted better than it did. If you have kids, you will probably love this place. If you don't have kids, my suggestion is to stay off-property.

Room Tip: Stay off-property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SnoSearchT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed here three times, very clean and tidy with very friendly helpful staff. For a mid range Disney hotel it's in a great location and in my opinion one of the best. Would recommend the boat to Downtown Disney, which we did most evenings if we didn't stay in one of the parks. Also make use of the Disney transport and visit other Disney hotels, as you can eat in any.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Good stuff: Stayed in Bldg 90 Oak Manor neighborhood. Best centrally located to dining hall, main pool, and guest services, lined with big oak trees that showed Disney movies on the big Oak lined lawn at night! This location is over a small foot bridge that separates the pool noise from the hotel. We don't have little kids but had a Royal Room (like sleeping in a princess version of a hotel room, nice but weird for just grown adults). Concierge was able to print boarding passes. Each neighborhood has its own pool (in total for this resort is 8 including main pool at Old Man's island.) The boat dock gives water-taxi transport to Downtown Disney and the French Quarter resort that the pool is more kid oriented with a big dragon slide. PS: water taxi ends at 11pm but you can take bus until 2am. Maid service awesome and don't leave envelopes begging for tips.
Not so good stuff: Dining area, although its more like a food court, did not have New Orleans style real food staples, such as Jambalaya, Ettouffe, redbeans or even classic Muffuelata sandwiches. They've taken the idea of a muffuelata sandwich and did a "flat bread" which was good, but the lady burned it, and used a tapenade spread instead of a green olive salad (classic). NO BEIGNETS IN THE MORNING? GOOD LORD! We visit NOLA often. Did not have enough NOLA fare in the eatery. Send your Chef to NOLA for some food schooling PLEASE? The food workers were so ho-hum, whatya want, kinda people. Not what you'd expect from a Disney Resort! NO ENTHUSIASM! Maybe they didn't like wearing the "Mamie" styled outfits? Something made them unhappy. The smoking area in the bar area is ridiculous. Its in a corner around the back side if the bar area? At least have a bar smoking area where your paying patrons can enjoy a drink without having to hide out and be in eye sight of their kids in the pool. There are more people that still smoke than you think. YES, they are bringing their kids to Disney. Its not only a nonsmokers paradise! Finally, Disney ought to take one of their super ugly resorts (such as Swan or Dolphin) and create an Adults only resort. Many Disney kids grow up and get married and don't have kids OR us who've passed the kids stuff and want to enjoy a Disney resort that excludes the little screaming ones. There are many of us that would enjoy a quiet resort! It doesn't have to be anything like Vegas, just some quiet time around the pool is very much appreciated for us childless traveling folk.

Room Tip: Building 90 facing the Oak lined courtyard, not the pool! Oak Manor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travlinhix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, near Downtown Disney and all the other parks. Pool is neat.... Fun for kids, but a little too crowded for us. Smaĺl room for families of 5.... 2 nights it s ok, but more would be difficult. Clean, food is ok... We just got breakfast there... But the coffee is awful.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rajica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Rooms are small,but clean with not enough drawer space.The grounds are very large, We had to walk quite a distance to the main pool and the food/drink station. making it not convienient especially after a long day of walking. The main pool was very busy at all hours and not relaxing. However, we did have a nice quiet pool closer to our room, Which was nice. Buses were mostly on time, however we had alot of problems with the epcot buses.with not enough freqency or room ,coming or going, We did lodge a complaint to the office concerning this.Their response was that this was not the first time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaysmom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

With this having been our first trip to the World of All Things Mouse, I am very happy with our choice to stay at Port Orleans Riverside.

The entire process of checking in, and getting acclimated was a bit overwhelming for me, BUT the staff at Port Orleans was very good at explaining the whole magic band/dining plan/where our room was etc. We stayed in a Royal Room with two queens, and given the amount of time we were in the room it was very enjoyable. Our room was clean and comfy. That being said, if you plan on spending every waking hour at the parks, I would recommend a value resort.

Port Orleans is a big property, so you definitely want to give yourself time to get your bearings, and figure out where things are located. Also... if you want to refill that resort mug with your favorite non alcoholic carbonated beverage be prepared to hike for it. I didn't mind it, especially in the morning, but this may be something for you to consider.

The Food on Resort:
We had dinner at the Boatwright, and it was fantastic! I had peppercorn steak, my wife had prime rib, and we were very happy with what we ordered.
The "Quick Service" Restaurant was forgettable, we had breakfast and it was ordinary at best.

The Staff:
Very helpful, Beth at the front desk got us checked in very quickly, and answered all of our questions.
The bell staff was also very helpful, they will take your luggage to your room for you for a small tip.
The wait staff helped us work out the final "kinks" in our brains with the dining plan.

We had a great time, and hope that you do too! I hope it's MAGICAL!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alwayastexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
1.1 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.5 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.3 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8514 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#72 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing