We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have trouble walking not the best place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Ranked #91 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

It is a nice property but very spread out they tell you at the front desk "oh it's only a 5 min walk to the front " but after a long day of walking in parks or where ever you go it is much farther than 5 min! The Disney bus service to this resort was not very efficient many long waits especially to go to the Magic Kingdom! It is such a large property there are 4 bus stops & depending on where you are staying you can be on the bus for a long time!!! Just getting to the main pool seems to take forever! I would not recommend this property for the elderly or people with young children. Unless of course they put you in a room close to the bridge takes you to the front lobby or the pool but good luck with that!!!

Room Tip: ALS to be as close As you can to the front lobby or the main pool but good luck with that Disney is...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank wolfie1newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,692)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,543 - 3,549 of 8,694 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Booked in for a family vacation for 4. While a lot of reviews complain about the amount of walking required, we did not think so. The room was nicely furnished, clean and cleaned well each day. We were in Building 24 with a small pool located right outside the door. The main pool has a small water slide, it was a further walk of about 5 minutes with excellent lifeguards. They have a great kids program for the 10 and under group. It was close to the Muddy Bar which only serves drinks and chips. Food was excellent at the Boathouse, no réservations are required if you dine before 5:30. Standard fare at the food court. We did not use the Disney meal plan as it was more expensive for us than pay as you go. 9+ is considered an adult and at $60 a day that is ridiculous. We spent including gifts $1400 compare to $1800. We did not skimp on treats, drinks or food. Complained about the noise at the pool closest to us as one night the party went on until 1:30 p.m. When I did complain the next day thestaff although tried to tell me the pool was open 24 hours. However it was addressed and it never happened again. Ask for a first floor room as there are no elevators. A one minute walk to the West Depot stop which if you are doing the parks is important. They start at the South Depot and then come to the West Depot. So if it is busy you won't get on a bus for a long time at the other stops or even our stop some days was packed when it arrived. All buses with the exception of Epcot run about 20-30 minutes if you miss one. Epcot we missed two days in a row. The bus was pulling out both times and we waited 45 minutes. So to take the bus from Building 24 to any other park at Disney will take at least 45 minutes. Allow plenty of time. BTW, the bus drivers will tell you that Logistics are clueless and service is easy to improve. We used the Magical Express and coming in was great.Going out on Saturday they had us on a 6:00 a.m.bus for an 10:00 flight. It took more than 1.5 hours to get to the airport due to the numerous stops. We could hear dispatch calling other buses as passengers were getting left behind at other resorts as they had too many people to pick up. One family on our bus had been on from 5 a.m.and only got to the airport at 7:30 for an 8:30 flight.
Pros
Renovated April 2014, Close to a pool, Very close to the West Depot Bus stop
Cons
Service is hit and miss.Some guests luck out and some don't. As you have prepaid they don't care as most workers are seasonal. There is no accountability if something you paid for doesn't get delivered. It is a so sorry too bad and next atmosphere. Cashiers and servers at the food core are a disaster. Waiting in line for 10 minutes + because of slow servers then another 10 minutes + for checking out is really unacceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for Building 24 Alligator Bayou is you want to be close to the West Depot.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cynthiaabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Superb location beautiful grounds and the Sassagoula River running through makes it even more beautiful. The rooms are quiet and very comfortable and the service excellent although meal times can be a little hectic.
Don't miss "Bob" in the bar in the evenings - corny but very entertaining.

Highly recommended

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Just love the atmosphere and the friendly caring staff. Last year due to circstances we stayed in a different Disney resort. Not the same. This one is by far our preference, relaxed layedback atmosphere, beautifully laid out, with a good number of smaller swiming pools if you want to avoid the crowds. Relaxing walk along to French Quater, and eady boat ride to downtown

1  Thank DavidBK
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Central location and I love the decor! Love that I can take the ferry to Downtown Disney! The landscaping is awesome! Can't wait to return :). As usual the Disney experience could not have been better. Stayed at Christmas time and the decorations were out of this world. Would recommend for families or couples. The resort is big but seems quaint with how it's laid out.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Solo739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I have stayed at all of Disney's "moderate" resorts, and Port Orleans Riverside is by far my favorite. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, there are several pools located throughout the resort, and I thought that the food choices beat out the other moderate resorts by a landslide. In addition, there are plenty of entertainment options for the entire family.

I should start by saying that I paid additional money for a "preferred room", and it was well worth it in my opinion. We stayed in building 14, so we were close to the shuttle, Ol' Man Island, an additional "quiet pool", as well as the food court and restaurant. SO WORTH THE EXTRA $$!

The food at Riverside was much better than expected. I am a bit picky with my diet, and was pleasantly surprised to discover there were many healthy food options to choose from. I even asked for modifications a few times and the staff was happy to accommodate.

If you stay in the "preferred" area like we did, there is an arcade, a General Store, and a lounge nearby in addition to everything else mentioned above. "Yeeha Bob Jackson" plays the piano in the lounge every night of the week (at least he did while we were there), and he is truly AWESOME. Thoroughly entertaining, and he really gets the crowd up and moving! If you stay at Riverside, your vacation isn't complete until you see his show.

There are nightly movies also, we watched "Alice in Wonderland" under the stars and it was very nice and relaxing. Towels are provided, and it wasn't crowded.

One complaint - there are no lifeguards at the "quiet pool", and because of this, kids and adults alike were running wild. Cannon-balling in the pool, people jumping in and splashing, it was pretty obnoxious. I witnessed one poor lady trying to read a book only to see it get splashed with water by two teenagers pushing each other around right behind her. Because Ol' Man Island is such a kid-fest, the point of the "quiet pools" should be to offer a relaxing poolside experience for people that don't want to go down water slides or engage in the daily pool party. This was not the case, as the "quiet pool" was anything BUT quiet! I actually overheard one of the teenagers say that he goes to the "quiet pool" because he can't cannon-ball at the other pool because there are lifeguards around. Nice.

Despite that one complaint, overall we had a really great time on the grounds and would definitely stay at Port Orleans Riverside again!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JaninaWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We recently stayed two nights in the Magnolia area. The room was nice and everything was clean and well maintained. The grounds were beautiful and our son really loved the pool area with the slide. Our area of the resort seemed to be very quiet and peaceful, so we all slept well. Unless you stay in one of the premium rooms, there is not much of a Disney theme. I see that there are photos of towel Mickeys and animals in the review pics, but we did not have anything of the sort. I don't know if we just did not have a long enough stay or what, but there were no "special touches" left in our rooms. For those curious, yes, we did tip "mousekeeping." Overall, we were pleased with our stay, but we will probably choose a resort/room with more of a theme for our next trip as we vacation to Disney for our son (4 years old) and his enjoyment is the key factor. The pool was very large and had a fun "rustic" decor. Even late in the evening, the pool did seem to be crowded, but the lifeguards seemed to do an excellent job keeping an eye on everyone. The food court was fun, but could be extremely crowded at times. Unless everyone is ordering from the same station or willing to wait for everyone to receive their food before moving to the registers, do not expect to eat "together" at the same time. I was a little concerned that my food may actually get cold before I could get through the line at the registers. When I did sit down to eat, I had to go ahead and eat while it was hot and ended up being done with my meal before my husband was even able to sit down with his. One thing to note if you have a meal plan is that you can tell the cashier that you want to wait to get your dessert and they will stamp your receipt so you can go back and get it after you eat your meal. This is especially helpful if you want ice cream or a hot dessert.
-

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank tigerpaw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
1.1 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.4 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
2.4 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
4.6 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8514 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#72 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £164 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing