We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best Disney experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Ranked #88 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our best Disney experience”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We have stayed at Disney many times, this has been our best experience. Somehow Disney manages to take you back to a previous time in the deep South. It was a relaxing experience to stay at Riverside. It is close to Epcot, the food court is outstanding, and the staff was extremely helpful. The pool was kind of small, but our kids liked it. The rooms were neat but they weren't anything special. For our family, Riverside was a true Disney experience. It made our trip more special. This resort was one of the most quiet hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wi_travelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,982
    3,051
    1,023
    372
    194
See reviews for
5,752
1,336
79
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lemont, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

It's a beautiful hotel. Tons of fun! I'd love to actually stay there sometime!

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JennaS30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We could not fault the room or the surroundings of this resort. There are trees water and plants everywhere. We really enjoyed watching the squirrels, lizards and various birds. We were in a lodge near to a swimming pool and family laundry area. There was an ice and vending machine close by. Shuttle busses ran to all the other parks on a regular basis. We could only go to Downtown Disney on the river boat which was disappointing as I hoped that other areas were accessible by water.

After rave revues I was expecting the main pool area to have many slides and features. It did not and was in fact quite dull and boring.

Once we got to our resort in the evening there were no activities for teenagers. Our son is nearly 18 and was hoping to spend time with other young people. This is definitely an area in need of improvement.

I really think that Disney World is a wonderful for families with young children or families
with older teenagers who could go out together.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcatsDoha_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Super family friendly. Eatery or Sit-down dining. Ferry (BOAT RIDES) to Downtown Disney. The kids were happy enough to stay at the hotel. Not to mention Beautiful grounds.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyjoyriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Port Orleans Riverside is a wonderful destination for DisneyWorld. Yet my room 8720 was a filthy disaster, and after calling the manager and inviting them for a room tour, I received a 50% discount for the appauling conditions. They apologized for my being given such a terribly worn down and dirty room, and mentioned they would be putting the room up for refurbishing. I took pictures once I arrived to document what I walked into. Hope they stand by their word and restore the room. If so, then I would love to stay there again, and actually enjoy my trip there. The staff was excellant and kind. The atmosphere with river boating was fantastic. Overall, with exception of the room I had a good vacation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripnew01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Room for five! Being a family with three kids, we outgrew our favorite value (Pop Century) and came here. We had stayed Nov 2000 and I wasn't impressed. However, we have stayed three times this year (annual passholders) and I love it. The "trundle" is a regular sized twin bed that rolls out from under one of the doubles. The bathroom and the vanity area are separated which is nice plus there is a curtain between the sleeping area and this area. A nice touch if you are an early riser and want to read without waking the rest of the family. The grounds are gorgeous. They have horse & carriage rides and boat rentals. The restaurant, Boatwrights, has delicious prime rib. There is a waitress there (can't remember her name) that is the nicest person on all of Disney property. How she remembers us from trip to trip, I have no idea. But she's lovely. The walk to the parking lot is long - as we tend not to take buses - so for us it is best to get a parking lot view room! Crazy but true...as all rooms are the same on the inside. Nice lobby/check in area and very nice store, with again, amazingly polite staff. I always loved Pop Century and the staff but most of the other values do not have good/polite staff. This moderate is in line with any of the deluxe with the people who work here. Very nice. The rooms are larger than values - and the same size as Animal Kingdom/Wilderness Lodge (two deluxe properties). Our family of five fit nicely into the Alligator Bayou rooms. No real noise to think of and the food court is never as out of control as Pop Century (and keep in mind I love Pop). It is just so very pretty here. The pool and slide are great for the kids. Lifeguards are constantly on the patrol so I feel safe. If you are looking for the best moderate - stay here! I like it more than the Caribbean Beach Resort and 10 times more than Coronado Springs.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My husband & I stayed on the 'mansions' side in March 2010 & really enjoyed our stay. We had previously stayed on the 'alligator bayou' side a few years ago & found that we really liked this 'mansions' side MUCH better. Since it was just us this time around, we got a room w/a king sized bed, which was nice (most rooms on property have 2 double beds). Our room was nice, though a little 'worn/tired', but clean. It had a typical bathroom w/toilet & shower/bath combo & an outside dressing area w/2 pedastal sinks. There is an in-room safe in the dressing/sink area, an ironing board/iron & hair dryer. There was also an in-room fridge. The resort was nice & our building was not far from the bridge that took you over to the main building w/the restaurants & registration area. It was a bit chilly when we went (for FL standards) & we did not go swimming, but the 'fishing hole' pool area was very nice & there were many who did go swimming there & seemed to be having a great time. If possible, I highly recommend opting for the 'Disney Dining Plan'.......a MUCH better deal in my opinion than paying ala carte w/o the plan. While we were there, we visited EPCOT, the Studios & Animal Kingdom.....by far, my favorite park is still EPCOT, though I do love to go to the Magic Kingdom w/my kids :) We also took advantage of Disney's great transportation system & 'magic' hours as resort guests. All-in-all a nice mini getaway w/my hubby & a nice, middle of the road, Disney resort.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tampa_FL_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
1.1 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.6 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
4.6 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.4 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8514 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#49 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#72 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing