We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner Ruined by Paul, the Waiter”
Review of Norman's

Norman's
Reserve with OpenTable
Norman's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #91 of 3,849 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: US$40 - US$80
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: John Young Parkway
Description: NORMAN'S showcases the menu of legendary Chef, Norman Van Aken. Chef Norman is known internationally as "the founding father of New World Cuisine". His cuisine is a celebration of Latin, Caribbean, Asian, African and American flavors. Chef Norman is the only Floridian to be inducted into the prestigious "James Beard list of 'Who's Who". Located at The Ritz-Carlton, Orlando Grande Lakes, NORMAN'S offers picturesque views of the Greg Norman Signature Golf Course, lake and gardens. Enjoy dinner in our Main Dining Room, on our Terrace, or book your next get together in our Private Dining Room. The team at NORMAN'S is ready to create a memorable evening for you and your guests. Whether a small family gathering or a large corporate function we will take care of your every need.
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The title says it all. From the onset, our waiter Paul had an attitude. He was patronizing, did not get the orders correct, our host told him to put all the first order of drinks on his bill. Paul failed to do that. His attitude bordered on surly. Someone in our party made the comment " I think he hates us". Needless to say it turned out to be a stressful dinner that was very costly. The food however, was fabulous. We should have done take out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormansNewWorld, Public Relations Manager at Norman's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review. While we are very happy to hear you enjoyed the food, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy the service. We strive to make sure all of our guests have a wonderful experience, and when they do not, we are appreciative of the feedback so that we can take the appropriate steps to ensure your next experience represents the service we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
There are newer reviews for Norman's
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 380 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Norman's is a very good restaurant. The menu is interesting and the food very good. Service is outstanding. We had fried green tomatoes, a great conch chowder, Grouper and Snapper. A keylime cheesecake was terrific and there are some reasonably priced wines on the list.

That said, for some reason, unless I was staying in the hotel, I am not sure I would make a big effort to go back and not sure why. Portions were smallish and there really wa no buzz in the room. But very good nonetheless.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank thunderbird0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

On Saturday I invited 3 of my best friends to dinner at Norman's. Oh my! The best decision ever! The food... the service... the vibe. Just perfect! Will definitely visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dfontanez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Everything was superb. The room was lovely, the service outstanding and the food luscious. The lamb chops were outstanding and the heirloom tomato salad was hard to beat but the corn chowder(an odd choice for me but intriguing) simply delicious. Followed by a wonderful creme brulee made for a perfect meal. Our server, Paul, is a true professional and added to our experience. Kudos to Normans.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank r0adwarri0rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Wht a brilliant breakfast to wake up to! Everything you could possibly want, from pancakes, to omelettes to croissants. I look forward to eating the every morning during my stay. The staff are exceptionally friendly and treat you like you're royalty. Don't want to leave!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hollycr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Norman's also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Norman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing