We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, disappointing service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Ranked #29 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We live in Jacksonville Beach and usually go for weekend trips to Orlando and Miami. We like modern boutique hotels and it is difficult to find boutique hotels in Orlando. We decided to stay at the Waldorf Astoria, because it is one of the best hotels in the city with modern rooms, good location, dining and spa. We booked the hotel through our American express platinum.

Check in was great, the receptionist was very friendly, unfortunately they didn't have available upgrades or early check in that we usually get with American express but we had a luxury suite, so we didn't care.

The room was very spacious, the décor was a little bit outdated for our style, but it is similar to many hotels in Orlando. We didn't have Walt Disney view, however the views from our floor were very nice, especially at sunset.

We decided to go to the Bull & Bear restaurant for dinner, the restaurant was nice, we had a host reviewing the menu and the specials for dinner. He made several comments about how young we were, like if we didn't belong there, but we didn't give too much importance. We were not offered bread and we didn't have knives for the steaks, but after a few minutes we were able to get them. Once we finished our dinner, we had to wait about 10 minutes to get the dessert menu, which we requested, we didn't see our host all this time. We decided to have dessert at the lobby as they had a chocolate fountain, so the waitress brought us the check, we paid and we left. All this without seeing our host, we didn't see him for the last 15-20 minutes. When we were about to leave the restaurant we hear our host running to the entrance and calling us, at this time many people were entering the restaurant. He asked us if we were coming back, we said no because we were going to have dessert at the lobby and then he asked us for a form of payment.

We were absolutely mortified as there were many people around us. We just spent over $200 in dinner, if he saw us leaving the restaurant, he should have gone to the table first, see if we had paid or not and then run to find us, especially after being missing for 20 minutes. The overall experience of the hotel was good, but this gave us a very poor impression of the service at the restaurant and it bugged us the all stay.

When we checked out, the receptionist asked us how was dinner at the Bull & Bear and eventhough we don't usually complain and we didn't complain at the restaurant, we told him what happen and he just said "I am sorry about that, can I get your car now?". We were not expecting to get anything, however he could have said that he would talk to the restaurant manager, so it doesn't happen again.

Despite the incident at the restaurant, the hotel is one of the best in Orlando. I am staying next weekend at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago.

We had a haircut and manicure at the Spa, the décor is very modern and sophisticated and the locker room with sauna, jacuzzi and refreshments were very relaxing, highly recommended.

We had buffet breakfast and it was excellent, great food selections, great variety of juices, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josep G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We greatly appreciate your feedback as that is the only way we can constantly improve. Your review has been shared with our Management team and we will make sure this type of occurrence does not happen again. We hope you will give us another chance to truly satisfy your need for a truly distinctive vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,280 - 3,286 of 4,515 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2012

Pulling up to this hotel you begin to question your choice to stay at the "Waldorf" but after you enter, meet the staff, and get into your room you finally get/see what you expect of the "Waldorf"
Good location out of the hustle and bustle of Disney and only a short complimentary bus ride away from all the resorts.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room with a balcony overlooking the pool so you can see the fireworks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seychelle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing our property. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I booked myself the most standard basic room for a weekend birthday trip to disney, thinking I'd be at the park all day anyhow. Well, thank you Waldorf staff for being so generous in putting me the best hotel room I've ever had! Top floor balcony luxury suite upgrade!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MagicWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are thrilled that we were able to offer a complimentary upgrade for your birthday! Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

This is a gem. For someone that has always traveled to Disney World and stayed within the park I am converted. We actually had reservations and checked into a Disney Resort and paid a premium for our room. We thought it would be a great experience for our kids who are small 2 and 5 years old. The Disney room was dated, uncomfortable beds and not clean. We checked out 4 days early and moved to the Waldorf Astoria. The guest service, personal attention, focus on guest experience at this hotel was second to none. From the moment the car pulled up to the front desk staff just amazing. Personable, friendly and welcoming. Our guest room served up the same amazing expectations!!! Clean, comfortable and beds that amazed. Nespresso coffee makers in the room, large bathrooms and clean clean clean! Housekeeping staff that interacts with the kids and makes them smile. Room service was less than 20 mins and the staff delighted to serve. Asked my kids about Disney and when they came to remove the tray they remembered their names. Wirelss if your an Honors member is complimentary and the MY Way benefits allowed the kids the ability toi watch a movie. Gold member has its Honors priveleges. Never would I choose a Disney resort. My last two experiences at Disney were such that I was disappointed and paid more if not the same for delightful service at this hotel. Complimentary transportationt to the parks. Had I not rented a car I would have taken advantage. Thank you for an amazing vacation! had no time to enjoy the spa or the Waldy kids club but would have loved that

Room Tip: Ask for a room that views Epcots fireworks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kek98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are ecstatic that you and your family had such an incredible time with us! We would be honored to host you as our guest again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Disney Properties are the same as always. This new Waldorf is on Disney property but runs its own show. The hotel is in great shape and well layed out. Awesome pool with Reece Jones golf course just yards away. Hotel bus service to all Disney parks that leave every 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tochdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Thank you very much for reviewing our property. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our amenities during your stay! Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

The Waldorf Astoria Orlando level of service exceeded all of our expectations. No qualifications or even minor quibbles necessary. I'm still unsure if our 4yr old more preferred her time at the Magic Kingdom or at the Waldorf.

I can't imagine there is another Orlando hotel capable of the outstanding service we received. Likewise, the accommodations, while not opulent, are surely head and shoulders above 99% of the competition.

We opted for the Bull & Bear experience en suite. We wanted a nice meal without subjecting our child to a babysitter or subjecting the B&B to our child which lead us down that road. It turned out to be a wonderful experience from start to finish. In the interest of being hyper-critical, I could probably find some fault with some part of the dinner, but the reality is that they perfectly executed an 8 course meal with wine pairings. It's not inexpensive, but it is also not room service, it is something much much better.

From the moment we stepped out of the car to the moment we stepped back in to fly home, the Waldorf provided us with a completely seamless vacation that needed nothing. That's how it’s supposed to work.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammyjojackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your Bull & Bear Suite Life Dining Experience! We hope that we are able to host you as our guest again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

planned a special time with my husband , who was coming overseas. and it was simple amazing hotel . service and the room, which I had gotten upgraded to a suite. Beautiful and the staff was helpful , just had a great time and the bull and bear was amazing the food as well as the peacock alley waffle sandwich , very yummy.

Room Tip: get a upgrade if you can, but still great place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christykane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA_Orlando, Front Office Manager at Waldorf Astoria Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are so happy you enjoyed our on property amenities! Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 341 in Orlando
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Hilton Orlando
#54 of 341 in Orlando
5,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Orlando

Address: 14200 Bonnet Creek Resort Lane, Orlando, FL 32821-4024
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Orlando
#7 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#7 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#7 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#8 Business Hotel in Orlando
#26 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £204 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Orlando 5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary, luxury resort surrounded by the gates of Disney theme parks, Waldorf Astoria® Orlando is nestled in a peaceful 482-acre nature preserve near the Walt Disney World® Resort. The hotel’s elegant setting includes fine resort amenities like the award-winning Waldorf Astoria® Golf Club, the luxe Waldorf Astoria® Spa, a formal swimming pool with private cabanas, and access to more than a dozen dining and lounge experiences, including an outpost of New York City’s famed Bull & Bear. The hotel features 498 deluxe rooms and suites, and nearly 42,000 square feet of exclusive flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Orlando Hotel Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing