We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed ... not the Disney we know and love”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #74 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2011

In September we spent 14 nights at Disney’s Old Key West resort in a studio room, which is like an ordinary hotel room but with a small kitchenette. We have stayed at several of the other Disney resorts but this was our first time at Old Key West, and it was not as we expected. From everything we read we were expecting a quiet, laid-back atmosphere but we didn’t find that to be the case.

We were aware that the buildings near Bonnet Creek Parkway could have traffic noise but, despite looking at maps of the resort, we hadn’t realised just how much traffic noise there could be throughout the resort. Unlike other Disney hotels where the road either leads up to the hotel and stops, or it goes around the perimeter, the roads at Old Key West weave their way through the resort giving direct access to all buildings. These roads are routes for the Disney bus service to the various theme parks and are not used just by guests driving to their rooms. Because the resort is so spread out, the roads are also in constant use by housekeeping and maintenance vehicles at all times of day and night, including the service vehicles towing laundry dollies.

The studio rooms are a ‘lock-off’, ie an extra bedroom to convert a one-bedroom villa into a 2-bedroom villa. On most of the buildings they are right at the end, as ours was, and having looked at other buildings we believe this makes them more susceptible to road noise than the larger villas in the middle of the buildings. When we checked in we were pleased to be given a room in one of the buildings (45) that had been recommended as quiet. It was in a lovely position, next to the canal – which our balcony looked out onto. However, the window on the opposite side of the room looked onto a road junction with a stop sign, so not only did we hear all the passing traffic, it all had to stop and start again which made it even noisier, especially the regular Disney buses.

The following morning we asked if we could be moved to a quieter room but were told nothing was available. Given that we were there for 14 nights, we asked if something would become available in the next couple of days. But we were told that we would have to go to the front desk every morning to check if anything was going to be available the next day – they either couldn’t, or wouldn’t, look ahead for us or let us know if anything came up. We didn’t want to start each morning of our vacation this way so decided we would just have to put up with the road noise. (Which, by the way, for a few days of our stay was increased when they resurfaced the roads!)

The resort certainly didn’t give the impression of being full and for the whole of our stay there seemed to be very few people staying in our building or the one next door. This was somewhat irritating as we had said that we’d be happy just at the other end of the same building or the one next door as those studio rooms were away from the road junction. It was obviously too much trouble for the staff, which is not our usual experience of Disney. So, we put up with the road noise and tried to make a joke of it, but it ruined all pretence of the resort being quiet and laid-back, and left us feeling somewhat short-changed by Disney.

The room itself was pleasant but odd. The OKW studios are apparently the largest of any of the Disney Vacation Club resorts but it didn’t seem that way. The studio is a very odd shape, sort of a wedge, with the wider, squared-off bit containing the beds then it narrows into a corridor that has the kitchenette one side and the wardrobe the other, leading into the bathroom at the narrow end of the wedge. The bathroom was huge and must be what makes up the additional space when compared to other DVC studios. To us, it was wasted space. The bedroom had the window then a narrow space – queen bed, bedside table, queen bed – then the balcony. Looking from the beds, the entrance door was over to the right and the connecting door (to the one-bedroom villa) to the left. By the connecting door was a small table and 2 chairs. Directly opposite the bed was a set of drawers on top of which was the flatscreen TV. These drawers were narrower than in the studio we had at Villas at Wilderness Lodge because they have to fit in the space between the wall from the entrance door and the kitchenette corridor.

The balcony was a nice space, larger than those we’ve had at other Disney resorts. It looked out over the canal, with the boats to Downtown Disney passing by. Looking the other way, some nights we could see the Epcot fireworks. Opening the blinds on the balcony doors was a challenge, which we had read about. Whoever designed those blinds and whoever decided to fit them on those balcony doors should be made to come to your room each day and open/close the dratted things! They may look pretty but they’re completely impractical and a menace to your fingers. Vertical blinds would be much more useful in the Florida sunshine and far easier to open and close.

The kitchenette was narrower than the one we had at VWL, just the width of a single cupboard and the fridge (no drawers in between like at VWL). Above the fridge was just a mirror – not much practical use in a kitchenette! The only storage space was the cupboard below the sink (pretty much taken up with the bin and kitchen towel holder) and a small cupboard high up above the microwave. (At VWL there is a shelf and another cupboard above the sink.) It is very poorly designed, especially given that there isn’t much storage anywhere else in the room – except the bathroom, and we didn’t particularly want to keep food there. The fridge had a tiny freezer compartment that is as good as useless, only about 2 inches high so won’t hold a pint of ice cream. And when we decanted ice cream into a container that would fit in the freezer, it didn’t keep it frozen.

The wardrobe opposite the kitchenette was also smaller than at VWL. The floor space in the wardrobe was taken up with the iron and ironing board, the vacuum cleaner and the fold-up crib thing (a ‘pack and play’?) so there was nowhere to even store shoes, let alone suitcases. The hanging space was adequate for 2 of us for 14 nights although, unlike VWL, there was nowhere to hang coats up except in the wardrobe. Again because of the odd shape of the room, in the morning the sunlight came in through the peephole in the door directly onto the bed so we had to cover it up.

We definitely got the impression that the studios are the poor relation to the larger villas, really designed as the extra bedroom rather than a room in their own right. The room seemed much smaller than our studio at VWL, even though we know it was bigger, and it certainly wasn’t as practical and comfortable. At VWL we felt that we had a good sized hotel room with the useful addition of the kitchenette. At OKW it was like staying in someone’s spare room that wasn’t quite designed for the purpose.

To add to the poor relation feel, there are no ice machines in the OKW buildings – but this only matters to those staying in a studio as the larger villas all have full kitchens with fridges with ice makers. The ice machines are located at the bus stops; our nearest was a 10-minute walk (round trip) which may not sound far but in the heat of the Florida sun it’s quite a distance just to get some ice. We got into the habit of carrying a ziplock bag in the car and calling for ice as we returned to our room each day. Again, not quite the usual Disney experience.

Another strange experience was that several times during our stay, the people in the one-bedroom villa next door tried to get into our room through the connecting door! We’re pretty sure that it wasn’t the same people, more likely that it was each time the occupants changed. They didn’t just open the door their side, they then jiggled the handle on our side and tried to open our door. One time this was after we’d gone to bed, which was a bit disturbing. Despite staying many times in hotel rooms with connecting doors, this was something we’d never experienced before – occasionally we’ve heard people open their side but never then try to get through the second door.

The restaurant facilities at OKW are limited, with one table service restaurant (Olivia’s) and a fast food kiosk (Goods to Go). We had breakfast at Olivia’s and were not impressed – it’s the first place I’ve ever ordered a waffle (just a waffle, not with anything else) and not been offered anything to go with it, not even butter or syrup! The server seemed surprised when I flagged him down and asked for syrup so presumably he thought I planned to eat it completely dry. The ordinary egg and sausage breakfast wasn’t much to write home about either, especially the potatoes which appeared to be like warm potato salad. The food at Goods to Go was fine, the usual Disney fast food offerings. But it is a kiosk, outside on the boardwalk, so open to the weather (which in September was, as expected, occasionally very wet), and it gets very busy so it can be a long wait for your order. And this was at a time when the resort seemed far from at capacity.

OKW is undoubtedly a very attractive resort, set around the golf course and the canal, with plenty of trees and other greenery, and the boat ride to Downtown Disney is very pleasant. But we found that the reality isn’t always the quiet, laid-back experience the advertising portrays. It is handy to be able to drive right up to your building, close to your room, but the pay-off to that is the road noise. We’ve seen people complain that the Disney bus service is lacking but, trust us, if your room is near a stop sign then you’ll know that the buses do, in fact, provide a very frequent service and quite late into the night/early morning! The larger villas are, by all accounts, extremely nice accommodations but the studios leave much to be desired. Despite DVC resorts being classed as Deluxe, we thought OKW compared more closely to one of the Value resorts than even the Moderates we’ve stayed at – it was only the size of the room which was comparable to a Deluxe, nothing else.

From everything we’d read, we thought OKW had the promise of becoming our new favourite Disney resort, it sounded as if it would suit us down to the ground. But we were disappointed, and we won’t be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tigger137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,056 - 2,062 of 2,631 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

We love this resort.

It is a lovely peaceful resort in the middle of hectic Walt Disney World. Set amongst the lake buena vista golf course this resort has a laid back feel with lakes, fountains, plenty of greenery and is a great place to relax after a hectic day at the parks.

All accommodations have recently been fully refurbished, and as of October 2011 all rooms come with free high speed WiFi. The studios are the biggest of their type at WDW with two king size beds, bathroom, small kitchenette, TV and a small table. If you opt for the 1 or 2 bedroom villas you're in for a treat. They are huge! With a full kitchen including dishwasher, and a full size washing machine & tumble dryer. The master bed in the one/two bedroom is enormous, and the bathroom features a whirlpool spa bath big enough for two!! As well as a full size shower cubicle.

There is a main pool with a feature slide & poolside entertainment (including Disney films every night on a big screen -weather permitting) and also there are 3 more smaller pools dotted around the resort. Pool towels are provided.

Disney transport is plentiful with transport to each theme park & Downtown Disney at least every 20 minutes, alternatively there is a water taxi to Downtown Disney if you prefer. All Disney transport is of course free too!

This is a DVC (Disney Vacation Club) timeshare resort, but you do not have to attend any presentations, and you are not pestered in any way by timeshare salesmen! in fact you won't even know its a timeshare resort! If you do want to know more, there is someone to ask, and if you want to have a look around the show apartments from other resorts, you can without any pressure to buy at all - they even give you free theme park fast passes to make up the time you spend looking round.

In summary - you will not be disappointed by Old Key West!

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the main pool / restaurant, request a room near ' hospitality house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonty007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Old Key West is one of my favorite Hotels to stay at when we visit the Walt Disney Resort. I love the layout of the room. We are a family of 4 and most hotels with 2 full beds and bathroom is a little crowed but not Old Key West. The rooms are bigger than most regular rooms and the way the room is angled there is a nice area for the microwave and refidge and table to eat. ITs very roomy and comfortable. THe bathroom is huge and really nice. THis resort is alwys very well kept on the inside and outside. It has a golf course so my guys can play golf. The pool is terrific, it has a water slide in the shape of a Sand castle and its really fun for the whole famliy. Once while we stayed there we received an upgrade and stayed in a one bedroom and it had a full kitchen, living room with pull out sofa and then a king size bedroom. It was the greatest room ever.. We had a washer and dryer also and the balcony overlooking the golf course was beatiful. Old Key West is my favorite Disney Hotel to date..

Room Tip: I try to ask for room closest to the pool and on bottom floor and clsoe to a bus stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Been DVC members since 1996, this is home.

There are golf course or Water views with no DVC point penalty - ask at check in.

Happy to discover the 2BR we secured had been totally redone with wood floors in the common area and new tones. Gone were the old pastel woods and new shades of cool blue were introduced to the dark and light woods.

All was well and exceptionally clean for us, including kissing swan towel sculptures in the master BR.

Gone are the calls from the Gift store to announce a package has arrived, but the packages sent from the parks DID in fact arrive.

For DVC members there is FREE Internet service. It is WOEFULLY slow and to my dismay we were supposed to rely on the web to tell us when the Very Scary Halloween Party was held, as no printed material was available at the concierge.

Imagine Disney NOT looking for a chance to sell me a $50. ticket (to a park I could see in daylight) for a special party.

There were disconnects that boggled my mind:
1) a call on the 3rd night of our 7 night visit that told me my checkout tomorrow morning was handled by my credit card on file.... Imagine thinking we were getting the boot! Seems their computer system does that frequently and counts on us to call the front desk to confirm they have the dates right.

2) I used to have a message from our Salesman inviting us to an open house. Of course I knew it was a sales pitch, but at least I felt loved by someone.... this time no call. So, I guess I spend my next $15,000 somewhere else, huh?

3) our welcome pack did not list the dates of the Very Scary Halloween party OR the price of said event or the available sessions at the EPCOT food and wine festival OR that we got discounts on the events because we were members. I knew that because O had purchased my tickets PRIOR to our arrival.

This is my husband's favorite resort, not mine. The pool is unimaginative and the walk-up food is right up there with 7-11 but the place is quiet and the boat ride to Downtown Disney is now serviced by a boat that goes directly there (No more stops at Saratoga Springs)

They are the largest Disney Vacation Club resort rooms, served by buses to all the parks.

I am looking forward to next year's March visit to The Beach Club Villas, just a skip from EPCOT's back door. We also have secured two night at the new Bay Lake DVC property which is hopelessly sterile in appearance due to it's "Contemporary" location.

Room Tip: cannot ask for special locations at reservation, just checkin. Only a few buildings served by eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BadermanTowson_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We have stayed at Old Key West three times...'00, '05 & '10 and loved every minute of it. I would endorse this resort wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Try to get near the neighborhood swimming pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Great value for DVC members (Disney's Timeshare), otherwise is fantastic but very pricey! Homey feeling, the rooms are the largest compared to other Disney resorts. Recently renovated rooms. If you don't have a car, it can be inconvenient to get to the main hospitality, do food shopping, etc. But if you DO have a car, you have easy access to your room when you are carrying your groceries. Keep in mind that not all units have elevator access. Service is excellent, all employees treated us with friendliness and humor. This resort is close to Downtown Disney and you can either ride the bus or take a boat. Closer to shopping (outlets, supermarkets and other dining options) than other resorts, with the exception of Saratoga which is more expensive.

Room Tip: If you don't have a car, ask to be close to the main hospitality house. If you have trouble goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LadyKJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

My family and I have stayed at Old Key West since before I could even talk. We are DVC members and Old Key West is our home base. I am currently in Disney staying at Saratoga Springs (excellent as well!) and have been reading the reviews of OKW and other resorts out of curiosity. I have to say that out of all the places I have stayed Old Key West is my favorite! One of the other reviews said that this resort is geared towards older folks... that is not true at all. It has several pools, a ping pong table, foosball table, tennis courts, et cetera a nice boardwalk with free DVD and game rentals plus the game center has places to sign up for kids and teenagers to do all kinds of arts and crafts and daytime activities. When I was younger I would hang out there all the time. Now that I am older I will grab a drink at the bar and swim in the pool. I have read other reviews that said a lot of the villas are located far away and are not convenient for them because of the long walk. As far as that goes: there is an internal bus the runs several times an hour and hotel staff who ride around on golf carts who will take you wherever you need to go - all you have to do is ask. Basically, this is an awesome resort for all ages, has large rooms, and the staff is ready and willing to help - all you have to do is talk to them. As far as park buses go specifically, I wouldn't really expect them to stop from their route. They are on a schedule to service all guests.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
3.7 mi away
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
1.4 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Villas
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#103 of 341 in Orlando
825 reviews
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Resort
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
0.4 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £273 - £846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort
Disney's Old Key West Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing