We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at a great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #73 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great stay at a great hotel.”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

My family and I (husband and two teenage daughters) stayed for eight days at Disney's Old Key West resort. The check in process was very fast and easy. It took us less than 10 minutes to get our rooms keys and have our dining plan put on the cards. After that we went to the guest services counter to buy our annual passes. Again, this was very fast and easy.

The resort itself is very large. Our room was in the Turtle creek area of the resort and while this is close enough to the hospitality house to walk, it always seemed like we were the last stop on the bus route. The bus stop is less than a five minute walk from any of the rooms making it very convenient to use.

We used our DVC points to rent a one bedroom and a studio room. The front desk put these two rooms next to each other so we were able to open the connecting doors and have a very large apartment for the week. The rooms are very large. There is a large living area with a sofa, love seat and chair. There is also a dining area with 4 chairs. The kitchen is large enough for two people to easily work together without being under foot. All of this is contained in one large room making it very family friendly. The balcony overlooked a small lake. The master bedroom has a king bed, large t.v. and storage trunk. It opens onto it's own private bathroom with spa tub. There is also a shower, toilet and sink in the other part of the bathroom. The laundry room is right off the master bedroom. The smaller bedroom has two queen beds, a dining table with two chairs, a kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave and sink and a small bathroom. It was just enough room for my two teens.

The only downside of the building we stayed in is that it is not handicapped accessible. There is no elevator and being on the second floor made it impossible for my parents to come to our room. This was not a huge deal but the next time I will be sure to ask for an accessible room, just in case.

Overall, our trip to Walt Disney World was wonderful and having such a large apartment to come back to at night really made the difference.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,337
    756
    275
    93
    56
See reviews for
1,710
315
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
On The Road
Level Contributor
151 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Old Key West really isn't for the first time Disney World visitor - the resort is very large, the convenience factors aren't there for the first time visitor. Everything is far apart, food service options aren't close, the feature pool (Water slide, kids area etc)- for the size of the resort - isn't that large (but there are several pools at the resort!)

The buses can REALLY take a long time as EVERY bus runs the circuit of 5 stops within the resort, unless you take the internal bus to the Hospitality House every time you leave the resort and wait for the bus there. Otherwise if you are at the 3rd bus stop there will always be three stops before you, and three stops after your.

One major benefit of this resort is that if you plan to drive to the parks every day you can park right outside of your unit. This resort isn't a 'hotel' it is more like a condo community, because it is part of the Disney Vacation Club - it's a timeshare resort. The way the resort is built, you don't have interior corridors, an ice or vending machines down the hall, or elevators at every building - there are only a few buildings that have elevators, so you have to request a building with an elevator or a first floor room. Otherwise you will carry your luggage up the steps when you arrive and down the steps when you leave.

The resort is built to be a home away from home - there are four room types Studio, 1BR, 2BR, and 3BR Grand Villa. The 3BR units are EXTREMELY expensive, (Think $1,200 per night in the off season) BUT they are the least expensive 3BR units on property (as compared to Bay Lake Tower or Animal Kingdom - Kidani Village).
Every unit 1BR and above has a washer and dryer in the room, and a master suite with Jacuzzi tub large enough for two larger than average adults - they are HUGE!

This resort has a totally different feeling in that you are removed from the parks, you can't really walk to anything, it REALLY feels like you were transported to Key West. The Gurgling Suitcase Bar is very popular, as is Olivia's - the table service restaurant on site... the Key Lime Pie is AMAZING!

You can rent watercraft, bikes, and other stuff for outdoor activities. On our most recent trip I rented a Sea Raycer which was a lot of fun - I felt like a ping pong ball in the ocean HAHA It was an hour route to go from Old Key West to Downtown Disney to Port Orleans Resort, and then back to Old Key West. For a first time boater, it was a lot of fun!

The resort is decorated in pastel colors - inside and out. If you don't like the Floridian style of the later 80's early 90's - then you won't feel this resort is up to par. Having just completed an extensive, the resort has been refreshed and updated - but it is still in the style of the Golden Girls.

The rooms at OKW are HUGE - the 1 BR has floor space to spare in every area. The open kitchen, living room, dining room area is massive. The dining table seats four, there is an outdoor table on a huge deck that is huge as well, along with an outdoor ceiling fan HUGE is a theme - you really do get a lot of space - like a separate laundry room.

In the 1BR There is a sleeper chair (twin) a sleeper sofa (queen size) both in the living area and a king bed in the master bedroom - along with a Pack N Play.

If you are a frequent Disney visitor and you think you're ready for a slow, relaxed, and laid back Disney vacation - then Old Key West is just what the Doctor ordered!

We have stayed at Old Key West two times now, and have LOVED both trips! Once was for a 4 day weekend, the other was for 8 nights - both trips were in a 1BR unit.

Room Tip: Not all units have elevators, so if you have mobility issues, make sure you either request a buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank admit_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

As a new DVC member I can say that I cant wait to return to OKW as a owner
We stayed here 2 years ago and loved it so much we chose to buy in and make it Home for years to come
With a family of 4+ we can stay here with room to spare in the 1 BR villa
Everything we need
Do as much park hopping as you wish Or just relax and enjoy the quiet

New review to com Feb.

Room Tip: ship Breakfast suplies ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usa194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Front desk staff is very helpful, and the rooms are spacious and clean. The bus transport is good if yo don't want to drive to Disney. Nice grounds and an overall very good experience!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I've praised Disney for for over three decades, but can't really give a high recommendation to Old Key West. The facility is nice, but not great, the Disney Cast Members are gracious, but don't give the typically expected exceptional service, and you'll likely pay a lot of your hard earned money for a place to sleep that you can buy for considerably less on a online discount service. All in all, a pretty disappointing experience. Here's what you need to know:

1. The walls are very thin. Try and get a room without an adjoining door. I hate hearing my neighbors conversations.
2. You don't get daily maid service. That works if you are in a larger unit with a washer and dryer, but not if you are in a single. We requested clean towels and they refused.
3. Make sure you have a car because you'll likely be a long way from everything (including the Hospitality House) and you have to depend on Disney bus service which is regular, but slow. You get free parking at the resort and in the parks (that's a bonus).
4. Be prepared to be a long walk from the pool. (healthy, no problem - if you have a walker or need assistance, you'll likely be angry)
5. Be prepared to be a long walk from an ice machine. (same as #4)
6. Be prepared to be a long walk from a bus stop. (same as #4)

But then........you're on vacation, so take a deep breath and have a good time!

Room Tip: Pick a resort closer to the things you plan to do. This may not be it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sink-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Just got back from 4 days at Disney. We stayed here in 2005 and now in 2011. Not as good, as it needs some TLC. However, the staff and the food we had were very good. We were in a studio and you could here the people in the next room. Not much fun when your trying to get to sleep. We stayed in room 1326, to close the bus route, as you hear them all night until 1:00AM. The beds were comfortable and shower worked fine. I hate to write this as I love
Walt Disney.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celebration, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2011

The rooms were definitely in need to a refresh because they all were looking quite dated. Unfortunatley I feel the newer designs are nice and are pretty, they lack the whimsy and tropical feeling the old rooms had. Room feel bland and dark and cold with the new color palettes and I feel like I'm staying in Grandma's house rather than a family key west vacation. Do not get me wrong, the new designs are nice, but I feel that they need to include more variety of styled rooms or alter them some how. Light blue and yellow seem much more French than Key West and are very safe colors to use. I think most of the rooms at Disney are themed so well it is nice to escape from what is the norm and be in an environment that is different than a typical hotel room or even my neighbors home. I have no other complaints about this resort and It holds a place in my heart. But now I find myself feeling it has lost its original theme and doesn't have the life it once had.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j2thego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.7 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#64 of 337 in Orlando
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
0.4 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.0 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Property: Disney's Old Key West Resort
Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort
Disney's Old Key West Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing