We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, roomy & classy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #74 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing, roomy & classy”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed at Disney's Old Key West for two weeks from the 18th June 2012 with my wife & two Daughters, 10 & 12. From the start we knew that this was going to be a bit special, we entered the resort via the checkpoint and uniformed guard said 'Welcome home'.

An easy check-in, our theme park tickets issued and map of the resort in hand we found our accommodation on the second floor.

We had opted for a one bedroom villa and we couldn't believe the size of it. A large king sized bed for us and a sofa bed for my Daughters in the living room. Both extremely comfortable.

The bathroom was split into two rooms, one with the toilet, wash basins and large shower, the other with a wash basin and a spa bath large enough for two.

The living area was bigger than mine at home and came furnished with a modern kitchen and utensils. A washing machine and tumble dryer were situated in a separate room between the living area and bathroom.

We had a balcony with table and chairs overlooking the on-site golf course. This had an overhead fan which made sitting out in the evening very pleasant. Air condition was effecient and much needed with the outside temperature in the high 90's.

If anything the pictures and videos that I had seen before did not do this villa justice. I was under the impression that the decor was a little tired and dated, when in fact it's very classy with the exterior painted in pastel colours. You really could be in Key West!

Maid service was effecient and all of the staff were very friendly and approachable. Free bus to Disney parks seemed to be frequent and ran late. We had booked an SUV and only used a bus once. For some reason the driver had put the air conditioning up full and it was freezing, when somebody asked for it to be turned off he refused.

There are four pools on the resort. We tried the main pool and he one closest to our room both of which had a hot spa. Both pools were very clean and the perfect temperature. Towels are provided.

We booked restaurants at two other Disney resorts and had a quick look around both. We found them to be very busy and we were glad we chose the right resort for us. Very laid back, perfect peace and quite. Just what you needed after a hectic day at the theme parks.

Incidentally we found the Disney Parks and attractions to be far superior than Universal. If we return I'll just buy their tickets. Fast pass free in Disney $75.00 each at Universal! Also every member of staff at Disney really seemed to enjoy making people happy. They certainly did with us.

If we were to go back to Orlando I would book Old Key West in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you have a car any villa. If not, ask for one close to the Hospality centre where the shops, rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Zerovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,326
    751
    274
    93
    56
See reviews for
1,699
310
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

As a DVC member we wanted to save points, so we tried Old Key West (again). We booked there several years ago and the room was unacceptable, so we moved to The Boardwalk.
This time the stay was great. The rooms are larger than any of the DVC resorts for the required points.
The only negative (same as Sarasota) is transportation. You can ride a boat to Downtown, but all other areas are bus transportation. It takes a while to ride a bus because of all the bus stops in Old Key West. We chose to drive to the parks. Parking is free for resort guests.
We had a small quiet pool a few hundred feet from the room. The laundry room washers and dryers at the pool were free to use. We will go back again for sure!

Room Tip: We asked for a ground level room "off the beaten path." The cast member suggested building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This is a wonderful place for a family vacation. Poolside fun to be had by all. Condo was very well equippted. We had hit the grocery store before arriving, and cooked up some awesome breakfasts before catching a Disney bus to the park. Let someone else do the driving while on vacation.Excellent Disney transportation service within walking distance to the condo. With teenagers along, its nice to leave them at the parks and take the babies back to the room for naps them meet up for dinner later. The gift shop was small but good.We arrived at Old Key West at 10AM READY for vacation and spent the time chilling in the pools with the kids untill our room was ready at 4PM.All rooms were in excellent condition and the cleanest we have ever seen.. We will be back to visit again for sure. No one in our party complained about anything except that our visit was too short.

Room Tip: Third floor is no fun with no elevators and infants in strollers, luggage and tired feet at the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandyshells2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We loved this hotel and found even though it was sprawled out in between various golf holes we liked the low 3 story sea clapper siding and shudders. The main pool was nice and even had a couple games if you wanted to participate. Olivia's had a good selection on its menus.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picc_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Lovely resort, plenty of pools to use, Staff was Very friendly and helpful. Loved the fact you could get all over Disney property via buses. Though waiting for a bus is a little bit of a pain, but very convenient. We could actually walk to downtown Disney if we wanted. Room was fantastic, plenty of room, had an upper deck that looked out over the golf course. We spent a lot of our time there in the early mornings and late evenings (on the deck not golf course). Very peaceful. Resort had ferry boats to take you to downtown Disney also. Highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liftergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Mifflin, Pa.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is the third time I have stayed at Disney's Old Key West resort. This was the first Disney vacation club built and from what I hear the units are the largest. We had a two bedroom unit on the first floor near the Hospitality House, pool, store and restaurant which I requested. The rooms are spacious and very clean. I have nothing bad to say about this resort. I would request a room close to what I mentioned as it was certainly a plus. We were also close to a bus stop which is also a huge plus. The only bad thing about our 10-day vacation was Tropical Storm Debbie who chose to rain on us 7 out of the 10 days. Two of the days we couldn't even go outside with two kids under 3 years d. On the other days we just donned the rain ponchos like thousands of other people and made the best of it. This is just a 5-star resort that I would recommend to guests of all ages.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Joined the Disney Vacation Club in 1997, knowing that someday we would use it to bring grandchildren to Disney World. Finally happened this June, traveling with our son, daughter-in-law and two grandchildren ages 2 & 5. What a magical vacation!!

We have stayed here many times in the past, but since our last visit the rooms have been redone with new flooring, carpet, bedding and window coverings. But, the furniture is still the same, even though it does not seem "old". Very roomy accomodations, being as it is the "first" DVC resort. They seemed to make the rooms smaller with the subsequent DVC resorts.

Stayed in building 12 near the Hospitality House and pool. Was not thrilled when I first saw where the building was--right in the parking lot--but it turned out to be a really easy walk to the pool and the bus stop. With two small children it ended up being a great location. We had a wonderful view of the golf course out the back, so we really didn't even pay attention to the parking lot in the front.

But, the kids decided on our next trip they want to try one of the other, more "resort type" locations, maybe Saratoga Springs. But, when it's just me and my husband, Old Key West is and always will be our "Home". Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 822traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.7 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#63 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
0.4 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
0.8 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Property: Disney's Old Key West Resort
Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort
Disney's Old Key West Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing