We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Property, Room Could be cleaner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #73 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property, Room Could be cleaner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Old Key West Resort is a gorgeous resort, with a wonderful property. There are lots of amenities, including a boat ride to Downtown Disney, an activity hall, crafts, pool table, playground, marshmallow roasts, movies by the pool, and more.

The pool has a wonderful slide which is appeal to kids. However, if you have multiple kids, it may be difficult to entertain all ages at this pool at one time. This is not a zero entry pool, and does not have a splash and play area for toddlers. The baby pool is in fact behind the waterside (which is a sandcastle theme). So, when you take the toddler to the baby pool, you can no longer see the main pool to keep an eye on the other kids.

The bus service had us waiting quite some time for buses to and from the parks. Our max wait was an hour and five minutes (and 3-4 buses for other resorts went by).

Our room was spacious but filthy dirty. My children's socks turned brown after a half hour of running across the carpet, the shower valve was broken and would not stay up so the shower was not at full capacity, there were cobwebs in every corner, the dust was thick on all surfaces, the door plate was broken, and the drains were clogged and filling the sinks up before slowly emptying them.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,313
    748
    271
    92
    56
See reviews for
1,686
308
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
upstate ny
Level Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed on this Disney property for two nights before continuing on to our cruise. Old Key West is a lovely resort. Our one bedroom villa was comfortable and beautifully furnished. It has a full kitchen including a dishwasher. The bathroom was spacious and there was an out of the bathroom vanity, sink and mirror where one could finish up while someone else showered. A half bath would have been nice here since there were four adult women and a child but it worked out fine. Was told that the mattress on the pull out couch could have been more comfortable. All in all, a very nice place to stay and close to downtown Disney.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachloverUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
266 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My family has had a Disney timeshare based at Disney's Old Key West Resort since I was a little girl. It really has become a home away from home for me. I get overcome with excited when we pull up and the security guard says "Welcome Home" It's those special touches that really do make it feel like you are home.

As with most Disney resorts, the grounds are amazing! There is so much to do and everything is well maintained. There are several pools, an activities area, tennis and basketball courts, a small shop and 2 restaurants (both are wonderful!). There is a free boat shuttle that will take you over to Downtown Disney and buses that run you to all the parks.

The rooms are large! In fact, they are the largest accommodations out of all the Disney timeshare hotels. We have stayed in everything from a studio to a grand villa and always enjoyed our experience. The studios have a fridge and microwave. All the other rooms have full kitchens. We enjoy cooking breakfast and making lunch to take with us so that we aren't spending as much money.

The bathrooms are large and have separate sink areas, which is wonderful if there are multiple people trying to get ready at the same time.

There is also a washer and dryer if you would like to do laundry while you are there.

Our favorite place to reserve a room is around Turtle Pond. It is a nice, quiet little area that doesn't have buses driving through the parking lot. There is a nice little pool with a hot tub. So you don't have to go to the big pool if you don't want to.

Can't wait to "return home"!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aboyer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our family of four just returned from a week at Disney's Old Key West Resort. This is simply a beautiful, well-groomed and staffed resort that offers all the activity or peace and quiet that you could ask for in a vacation. We read all the reviews and even though we were not near the Hospitality House like everyone said to try for...we had an amazing vacation in a 2 bedroom, 2nd floor corner unit in building 35. It was ideal for us and served us well. We could easily walk to a pool and the bus stop and loved that we could park so close to our building! We had no elevator but had no problem getting our baggage to the villa. There was a full sized washer and dryer in our unit so we were glad we packed light since we could wash as needed, The resort has a wonderful exercise room that overlooks the pool area and it was well attended and used during our vacation week. We enjoyed lunch by the main pool and Turtle Pond pool twice. As a mom, I appreciated the fact that Disney offers some healthy kids meal options for children at a reasonable price! There was a campfire in the evenings, family outdoor movies and many other activities that change on a weekly basis. We used the magic band system for the first time which works for the room key, park admission, fast pass entry,etc. It worked perfectly for our family of 4 and was a time-saver! We loved taking the Disney provided boat service to downtown Disney for dinner and riding back in the late evening...it was so pleasant after the sun went down.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Texasmom2boys2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my family went out here late July this year for 2 weeks and yet again Disney did not fail to impress us. We took the magical express from Orlando airport which was alot easier than the taxi we got last time. When we arrived at Old key west the check in and bell service was fast and hassel free which was needed after 20 hours of travelling. We were delighted with the beautifull and calm surroundings and our 2 bedroom lock off villa. It was clean and we could not fault the room or the lakeside view we had.
Me and my family came back in 2012 and stayed in saratoga springs and for us we fealt that although old key west was lovely Saratoga springs still won it for us due to the larger range of food they had to offer on the dining plan as we found ourselves driving to saratoga for breakfast some mornings.
All of the staff were super friendly as always and the pools were all very hygeinic with great poolside entertainment that we always get dragged into.
Our family did not do the disney parks this year as we wanted to do the larger ones suchas universal, busch gardens, islands of adventure, sea world, aquatica and wet n wild, these parks were much better for us as we are all 15+ and fealt disneys theme parks were for the younger audiences so if you are after more thrills the flexi ticket will tick the box. However you cannot beat the disney water parks.

No matter what disney holiday you go on you will not be let down the majority of people you meet at these places have been before and continue to come back, we were so satisfied our first time we sined up to me DVC members and do not regret it at all!
We've had the best holidays of our lives here and made so many memorys, there is always something to do and its always easy to get to because of the transport.
There is a cheap shopping outlet about 20 minutes away where we always pick up bargains.
If you are travelling from england i will reccomend flying with Delta, great entertainment system, free drinks and good food (for an airoplane) made our journey alot less stressfull.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank elsie1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The pools are wonderful, the water slide at the main pool was the best. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the poolside activities kept little kids busy all day.

The rooms and buildings look brand new, and the bus service (a necessary evil) was convenient and quick.

Housekeeping was a little below expectation (they only showed up once in 8 days) but they responded whenever we requested something.

All in all a very nice and relaxing place - we need to try the golf next time, the course wraps right around the resort!

Room Tip: Keep an eye on the bus stop locations - Miller Rd is close to the main stops and you won't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainSteveG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire, england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We have visited orlando many times but never stayed on site at disney many due to the cost , but an offer of free disney dining and celebrating our daughters 18 the birthday we decided to book old key west and can't believe what we have been missing all these years !
The resort it's self is beautifully maintained and our one bed villa was huge .
We are not disney vacation club members so received mouse keeping ever day and "Ann" our mouse keeper made sure we always had dishwasher powder , laundry powder etc and surprised us most days with towel animals
We stayed in building 15 which had a lovely view of the golf course and waterway and was just a few minutes walk from hospitality house house and the main pool ( request a second floor room as I think the view is better and the balcony is more private , we had breakfast most mornings on ours) slight down side to be by the golf course was the mowers and maintanance woke us at 7 am most mornings !! But never mind more time to enjoy the holiday :-)
We enjoyed a few hours most days chilling around the main pool which had a great slide and was maned by 3 life guards , entertainment was also provided in the afternoon by disney in the form of pool quizzes , bingo , children's games etc with inflatable prizes , it had a real relaxed feel about it and made our holiday not just a disney holiday
Having not stayed at any other disney resort I can't compare the food options but reading other reviews they say it is limited on old key west but I guess that's because a lot of the vacation club people cater for them selves in the full kitchens in the villas , however we found "food to go" on site ample for lunch , it had burgers , pizza , sandwiches , wraps , salads , and daily specials etc so something for everyone and being on the dining plan we ate somewhere nice for dinner
Ok, tips , extra magic hours , if you are getting up to go to magic kingdom don't go to hospitality house to catch the bus transfer as it is the last pick up before it leaves the resort and is always full so misses you out , we ended up waiting 50 mins for a bus , so missed most of the extra magic hour ( very annoying) however magic kingdom was open until 1 am one of our evenings and we weren't planning to stay after the fireworks but ended up staying because the park was empty in comparison and we literally walked on ever ride with no wait , awesome ! Plus it was so much cooler ,so we'll worth it if you can stay up .
We would definitely recommend old key west and would stay here again , although not one of the newest resorts or highly disney themed and the villas not the most modern we found it a relaxing escape away from the parks and enjoyed our time spent there as much as the parks

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank flowersontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.7 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#54 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
0.4 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
0.8 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Property: Disney's Old Key West Resort
Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort
Disney's Old Key West Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing