We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Decor if Really, Really, UGLY--not Disney quality.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Old Key West Resort
Ranked #70 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2010

This resort, has large rooms and is great for large groups and families. However, they recently refurbished the rooms and they are really ugly, tacky and totally in bad taste. Someone had the idea to add dark woods to a bright, key west theme--and it now looks like a garage sale of furniture! The fake wood floor in the living area also makes it feel industrial--like a retirement hotel. What were they thinking!? And who is in charge? If the imagineers did this--then Disney is in trouble!

Too bad.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRVLtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,588)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Old Key West Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,187 - 2,193 of 2,588 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2010

This was our first trip to Disney and Florida. We booked a Disney resort as we felt it would be more convenient with younger children and we chose Old key West as we were able to book a one-bedroomed apartment which meant we didn't have to sleep in the same room as the children, a big plus! On arrival from Ireland we found Orlando airport a bit of a maze and the last thing you want after a very long flight is to have to drag your luggage from one side of the airport to the other. However, once you get on the complimentary bus to the resorts you can truly relax. Our apartment was really big and the bed in the main bedroom was heaven, really big and comfortable. The sofabed for the children was also very large and both boys slept really well. We liked the resort and used the pool etc a lot, we managed to use all forms of free transport within Disneyworld and thoroughly recommend doing the boat trip from old Key West to Downtown Disney. We took it back one evening when it was dark and it just made the evening even more special. We were really lucky and had booked for a stay during a free Dining option period. It was such a treat to try lots of different restaurants, it's not every day you get to have breakfast with Donald or tea with Mickey! We didn't try Olivia's restaurant at Old Key West but it looked nice and the take-away option beside the main pool was fine.
In the second week of our holiday we hired a villa in Kissimmee and a car, although we had more space and our own pool we missed the convenience of Old Key West and if we went again we would save up the extra money required to stay in a Disney resort property.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeGIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Stayed in 1BR villa overlooking main lagoon. Recently renovated w/ granite counters, new flooring + furnishings. Great views of water and boats ferrying passengers to Downtown Disney. Relaxed, quiet atmosphere. Cons: Housekeeping was not so good- counters were not clean when we entered unit, brand new pull out sofa bed was broken with many wood pieces scattered on floor. A/C unit worked intermittently and maintenance was unable to fix problem. We lived with it. This is not the norm for Disney properties, but worth mentioning. Overall, great resort w/pools, restaurants, walking trails, golf course, boat service and rec programs. Recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Qwikblip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed here a week on vacation the last week of July. The place was really nice, the kitchen and eating area was plenty big for all of us. The staff was very friendly and our room was cleaned and beds made every day.

Some of the details, things that you might not normally see, were overlooked. The most memorable was on the pull out sofa bed in the living room. When the cushions/mattress were removed, there was cheerios and stuff just left in the cushions. Seeing how I was the one staying on the couch, it was significant to me. Also, the first night we were there we had TERRIBLE noise from the people above. Security was called and the situation, was handled, kind of slowly, and temporarily. The noise was never as bad, but didn't completely stop. It doesn't change me recommending this place, I think that it was a case of being unlucky. It was a great place to stay, pools and everything were really nice. Disney does it right.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GumpusMaximus0925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We have stayed at Old Key West Resort since 2002. We bought it as our home away from home sight unseen. We love the resort of all the others. However, the last 2 years have been somewhat less than previous years as far as units being as clean as we would expect from Disney. Condiments were not in the unit. And when we requested a certain location, it seems our request goes unheeded.
I hope the communication improves as we LOVE Old Key West and would not like to stay anywhere else.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KeysofSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I absolutely love Old Key West. We are DVC members and have stayed at the Boardwalk, Saratoga Springs, Vero Springs, and the Grand Floridian. They are all great in their own way but to me OKW has a great family atmosphere. This was the first DVC resort and I feel the rooms are better and bigger here than other DVC facilities, especially the one and two bedroom homes. The rooms and facilities are maintained really well and the staff are friendly as you would expect from Disney. I'm off again Dec '10 for a 22 day stay!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Just returned from a wonderful stay at OKW. We were fortunate to get a renovated 2 bedroom. It was huge with plenty of space for everyone. The villa was clean and perfectly stocked. The buses came frequently and were easy to use. We loved having a full kitchen and laundry which saves tons of money. The beds were very comfortable. I would definitely return. My only wish is that Disney offered free wireless.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skimama74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.7 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#67 of 340 in Orlando
1,716 reviews
3.3 mi away
Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
0.4 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
0.9 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Old Key West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Old Key West Resort

Address: 1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8421
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £246 - £776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Old Key West Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the Florida Keys at this tranquil community of Conch Flats-a sprawling island hamlet with shimmering waterways, swaying palm trees and manicured golf-course fairways. Delight in sun-soaked pools, casual dining and such amenities as fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. A peaceful tropical paradise, Disney's Old Key West Resort is also just a boat ride away from the excitement of the Downtown Disney area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Old Key West Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Old Key West Hotel Orlando
Old Key West Resort
Disneys Old Key West Hotel
Disney Old Key West Resort
Key West Disney
Disneys Old Key West Resort
Disney's Old Key West Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing