We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but disappointing if going to parts” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Ranked #23 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but disappointing if going to parts”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

On the plus side, the hotel itself was nice. Nice rooms, big pool. On the downside their were things I found misleading on their site and if you are thinking of going to the theme parks you have to be careful about transportation (and I would not stay here again if going to the parks).

Things I found misleading:
1. They claim 2 waterslides. There are 2, but one is about 15 feet long and not appropriate for anyone over 4 or 5; so there is really only one. And it's Ok but there are many individual water slides that are better.

2. They claim transportation to the parks but:
* they only run two shuttles over in the morning; and neither get you there when the parks open (the earliest is 8:50 and when we left today at 9am by cab it had not yet showed)
* there are no transports during the core of the day
* there are 3 that return to the hotel, but none before 6pm
Therefore, if you want any movement you have to take cabs or have a car.

On the cab side, they offer flat rate cabs from the hotel. This cab charged $27 to take us to the transportation center. I got a cab back and the meter rate was $21; or 30% less. We were also quoted $61 to go to the airport. I called a meter cab company and got there for $45.

My other problem is when I wanted someone to talk to about the transportation I went to the concierge, and found they were expedia employees who told me they could not help me.

Bottom line for me: I've had my Hyatt Gold Card for 20 years and in the past have relied on Hyatt but I feel they dropped the ball this time. I felt that despite it being a nice hotel (nice pool, lake, etc) they were not really concerned about someone trying to get to/from the parks at a reasonable price and with any degree of comfort.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank mike52277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort hotel. We cater to young and young at heart so we offer a small slide so the younger set does not feel left out. The small slide is in the heated pool. Our larger and faster slide is approximately 45 feet high and 115 feet long. It is a thrill and our guests love it. As for our transportation, we are a private resort not affiliated with any theme park. We offer limited service to the parks. Our resort is a destination unto itself. As for cab service, there are a couple options. Flat rate and metered. If it is a busier time of year with lots of traffic, then a flat rate would be better. Less traffic, a metered cab. We hope you understand that we provide options for our guests and let them decide the transportation of their choice. We appreciate your visit with us and hope you will consider staying with us again.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,138
    1,171
    352
    163
    114
See reviews for
2,121
1,005
86
1,096
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (939)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay. Close to all attractions. Nice meeting rooms.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Matotanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
While here on business, you thought the Hyatt was a great place to stay and we appreciate your comments. Our meeting space is beautiful and was recently renovated with a nice contemporary look and feel. We hope you will return to our resort for a pleasure trip to truly relax and unwind.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Wow! What a fantastic hotel, the gardens and grounds are immaculate. The pool area is fantastic, with a quiet area for adults to relax. Hotel staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are light and spacious. We would recommend this hotel without reservation and hope to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caznkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your review and letting the Trip Advisor readers know that anywhere you went on our 1500 acre resort that the grounds were immaculate. Thank you for your unbiased recommendation and that you thought our staff was friendly and helpful. That is what we do day in and day out. We look forward to your next visit and hope that it will be sooner than later !

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed in the hotel for 6 nights in 2010. Beautiful hotel, a little bit out of the way but the hotel has its own shuttle buses to the theme parks.
The foyer area is really pretty and the rooms are quite and very clean.
We also had a mad dash to use as many of the facilities as we would, although we were short on time. We used the kayaks and the bicycles and the gym – all in tip top order and would particularly recommend having a go a kayaking – it is a big, big lake and it was hard going, but was a great laugh.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bella1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for returning to our resort and once again having an excellent stay. Glad to read that you enjoyed our amenities. We hope you will visit us again and please recommend us to your family and friends.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here from June 3rd to the 9th. If you are not going to utilize the resort, it's not worth the money. It's a nice hotel that looks like any other inside the room. Two beds and a flat screen and you have to pay for a frig. The rooms only come with coolers. Our room had a mildew odor, but it was clean. My daughter loved the paddleboats, canoes, rock climbing, and cady bikes. We spent maybe 2 days at the resort. This hotel also nickel & dime you for everything. For $11 a day you get to park your car a million miles away from your room. A special thank you to Hector Rodriguez he assisted me & my family without hesitation. Most of the staff was very pleasant...others a little stuffy(behind the counter at check in).

Room Tip: If your not going to use the resort would not advise this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol - UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here at the end of May. We wanted to stay in the Ritz Carlton Grande Lakes,(where we stayed last year), however the difference in price between between the two hotels made the Hyatt the very reasonable option. To be honest we did not expect much, but were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms are all modern and clean, having recently been refurbished. The food in the hotel's bistro was really good, both price wise and quality wise. However, where this hotel excels is it's staff. Wow!! They could really not do enough for us. Especially the waiters/waitresses. We had a very fussy vegetarian in our party and they always came up with a food solution. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennyBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed here for a weekend getaway to Animal Kingdom and La Nouba. The resort itself is huge and during our stay they were having one of those toddler and tiara type pageants. We got a good deal on Priceline otherwise I don't think I would of paid the price of what these rooms were at the time. Our room was nice with a balcony, I couldn't complain. The bed was very comfortable and the cascading shower head was fantastic!! The pool area was beautiful, I only wish we had more time to spend by it. There was a lot of things to do at this resort but we didn't get to do or see half of it unfortunately. Due to the high resort fee that is tacked on I probably would only stay here again if I was able to find the right price, especially with so many other nice or even nicer hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herburlness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.8 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 335 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
2.4 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#29 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#26 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,104 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
5.2 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Property: Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Address: One Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836-6799
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#5 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#6 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#6 Business Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
#19 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Destinology so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing