We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't Spend Enough Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Ranked #27 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Fajardo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Didn't Spend Enough Time”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This hotel is huge. Everyone is wonderful. A true tourists oriented establishment. Restaurants are a bit over priced. So many better choices out there anyway. Wish we had spent a bit more time at the hotel and enjoy the facility....too busy visiting other attractions. All rooms have great views. I like the pool better.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,354
    1,262
    385
    172
    123
See reviews for
2,285
1,053
92
1,212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (968)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Hard to read some of the negative reviews about this great resort? Our experience was nothing but outstanding. We make our reservations directly with Hyatt and were told about the construction going on and one of the pools being closed so they were not keeping this a secret by any means. The construction is major but we were not bothered by any of it. We valet parked which was $23.00 a day (expensive) and maybe next time I would self park, check was less than 10 minutes. The staff is very professional and polite they address you by name always and it is clear they are happy working there. The front lobby was beautiful with a large Christmas tree and fully decorated for the holidays. The Resorts ground and gardens are out of this world just beautiful. Our room was very nice, great closet space, large desk for working, and a small but beautiful bath. Best of all we could not hear a sound outside our room, we were overlooking the pool with all the construction going on. From our room we could watch the fire works from both Epcot and the Magic Kingdom at night. We only ate at the Cascades restaurant but the service was excellent and the food very good. Prices were what you would expect for a resort. The resort does offer a shuttle to all the area attractions a couple of times a day but because of its location most are only a $20.00 cap fare away. You will have a hard time if not impossible time finding a resort with better more friendly employee's. Go and enjoy we will stay here again in the future

Room Tip: get a pool side rooms to view the fire works from Disney
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClubEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
We appreciate you noting that our staff was friendly, professional and polite. It is nice to know that you were able to enjoy our restaurant and property and did not feel that our facilities upgrading bothered you in the least. We hope you will return during the spring or summer 2013 to enjoy all the fun and exciting features we are currently adding. Thank you for staying with us and please recommend us to your family and friends.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

Great hotel for a romantic getaway. The property is like a mini resort. The downside is there were lots of kids running around but I guess that is to be expected with all properties near Disney. The pools were very nice and we were able to find a quiet area in the adults only side.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
So nice to know you enjoyed a nice romantic getaway here at the Hyatt. Our property is a 1500+ acre resort and not "mini" by any stretch! Your visit in the summer is always a busy time as many families enjoy our pool area, whether it be by taking a break from the theme parks or just coming here as their only vacation destination. We hope you will return next summer and see the transformation that is now (Dec 2012) under way.This includes new bar and grill, new water slide and new rock wall. We will also have pop up water heads in the pool deck as well. We are excited and looking forward to a successful 2013 season.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
265 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Based on some of the reviews, I was a bit apprehensive about my stay but it turned out to be a good experience with a few negatives due to construction. This is a large hotel that caters to the conference crowd as well as family tourists . Self parking is $12 a day and a bit of a hike to the hotel but not too bad if you cut through the conference area. While there appears to be ample parking, those conventions can fill the lot up pretty quickly but I always managed to find a spot. Reception was helpful and friendly and I'd asked for a quiet, high floor room which I received. Ended up in a lovely corner room that had been renovated, was sleek and comfortable with 2 balconies . I think they hadn't done a good job on the air/heat system as the bathroom vent was very noisy. At night I needed to shut the bathroom door to block out the sound . I informed the front desk and they said maintenance would check it out. Was ok for several hours and then the noise started again. Luckily, I could still sleep undisturbed and was out most of the day - otherwise it would have driven me nuts! I enjoyed the fridge in the room so i could stock up on cold drinks. Pool area is under some heavy construction - jack hammers, dirt movers and it really wasn't too peaceful or relaxing . Saying that, it didn't spoil my one day by the pool as the noise was intermittent. Paddle boats are available on the lake and there are lots of very nice biking/jogging trails. $22 a day resort fee plus the $12 a day parking adds to the checkout bill. I did not eat at any of the restaurants so can't comment on the food or service .
Basically, apart from the pool construction , the hotel is lovely. The renovated rooms are great. Just make sure you ask for a quiet, renovated room on check-in. - perhaps all rooms have been redone by now but worth asking to make sure. I recall some concerns about the tv channels but there was a good selection of the usual cable channels during my stay. Hotel is in an excellent location too, just a short drive from the Disney village ,close to the Crossroads shopping center and a few mins from I4 with easy access to the parks and airport. I'd definitely stay here again but if you are coming with the kids for some pool time - you may want to check out some other options until the renovations are completed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
214 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

This resort is on multiple acres with a golf course. It has beautiful landscaping and many restaurants to choose from, shopping, pools, spa, etc. The rooms were nice the staff very pleasant. Welcome champagne on arrival. Parking is valet or self parking. As usual expect a bit of a walk for self parking. The reason I didn't rate this excellent is that they were doing extensive renovations, we booked through price line and weren't aware of this. We couldn't use the balcony from our room or the huge resort style pool. If I had paid full price I would have been very unhappy. We were only there for one night. We could see the fireworks, both Magic Kingdom and Epcot, from the hallway . There are only a couple of shuttles a day to take you to Disney and they are in the morning, so if you are going to Disney, plan alternate transportation.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lgatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

"The Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress is excited to announce the completion of our $45 million dollar renovation."

The above quote is exactly what was quoted on my reservation...How exciting!...unfortunately this was not the case...


My lengthy hotel search landed on this one because of the promise of 2 waterslides, a childrens pool and 4 spas. I have a 3, 7 and 10 year old and this was our first visit to Orlando. When we checked in, the staff informed us that they had only one pool open. No waterslides, no children's pool. The only pool they had open was their "heated" pool which was in fact not heated. Half of this pool was closed down due to waterslides being (very noisily) constructed. There were construction vehicles driving on the sidewalks which made it very dirty and muddy.
The resort fee was still $24/day regardless of the construction.
Will never stay here again and will question staying at any hyatt's in the future due to the misinformation I was fed upon reserving my room.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

This is an old, dated hotel. The front desk service was good. The restaurants are overpriced but serve passable food. Pool is nice but very cold and mostly under construction. Like most of Orlando there is no personal touch or feel here. Bathrooms are old and dated, no baths in single bed rooms, only in double bed rooms (same for the hilton we stayed at in Orlando).

Overall the stay was passable, but nothing about this compares to other Hyatts in similar price ranges.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerHRGC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay. we are just wrapping up the lagoon pool renovation and our new water recreational area will ready to go by late February. i was surprised that you stated that the bathrooms were old and dated. all guestrooms were totally redesigned and brand new in 2010. New rain shower enclosures were added to all King rooms while new European-styled tubs and wing doors were placed in the double/double rooms. Hopefully, you will return again after March to experience us again.

Regards,
Larry McCloskey
Hotel Manager
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.8 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 337 in Orlando
1,409 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#24 of 337 in Orlando
4,208 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#29 of 337 in Orlando
5,464 reviews
5.1 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Property: Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Address: One Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836-6799
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Business Hotel in Orlando
#7 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#8 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
#19 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing