We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel for a family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Ranked #27 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Lovely hotel for a family holiday”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for five nights in August. The hotel is set in beautifully maintained grounds and is conveniently located for Disney. They offer a free shuttle service to Seaworld and Universal studios and also to the local "outlet" shopping centre which is a nice touch and significant extra. The staff are helpful and courteous. We had a problem with our AC and they sent an engineer to replace faulty components immediately. The pool is fantastic with caves and waterfalls. Only downside was the lack of reasonably priced food on the premises. We ate in the Cascade restaurant once - it was expensive and not that great. However we soon discovered that there are a number of better value for money restaurants nearby which are easily accessible even if you aren't driving as the hotel has a shuttle to the front gate which makes it possible to walk to these places even when it's really hot outside.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the lake. The king sized bed and sofa bed option works better than twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,342
    1,259
    385
    172
    123
See reviews for
2,278
1,052
92
1,208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I went away for a weekend to celebrate our 20th anniversary. The staff at the hotel were fabulous from the minute we pulled up to check in. The room was beautiful! We even enjoyed watching 3 firework shows from our balcony. It had so much to offer on site that we didn't leave the hotel all weekend. We had such a great time that we are looking forward to coming back with our children. I give it a super 2 thumbs up!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to have the pool view because then you can view the firework shows from Magic Kingdom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Happy 20th anniversary and thank you for choosing to celebrate it at our resort. We appreciate your kind words and will welcome you back when you bring the children. Since you are only an hour away, you can come back for birthdays as well ! Please recommend us to family and friends.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the 4th of July weekend because my husband was attending a golf tournament. The hotel is big and very beautiful. It has 2 beautiful pools with cascades and plenty of kids activities.
The gym is very good. It has new equipment and everything works perfect.
The rooms have a good size and they are very modern.
The bathrooms are modern, but there are a few things that I didn't like: the door is not solid, but it has a frosted glass. Therefore, when my husband woke up very early to leave for his tournament, the light through the door woke me up. The sink has a shape that makes you to get wet almost every time that I tried to wash my face of brush my teeth.
For parking, you have 2 options: valet for $25 a night and self parking for $18 a night. They charge this to your room. I think $18 for self parking is too much and worse since you have to walk a lot from the self parking lot. So, we chose the valet option because the difference wasn't that much.
In general, the hotel is very good. I will give them 5 stars if they do something about the parking. I think self parking should be free in a hotel like this one.

Room Tip: Better to get a room in a lower floor if you don't want to spend too much time waiting for the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This truly is a beautiful hotel, from the spacious modern and comfortable rooms to the many swimming pools, gymnasium and cocktail bars! A trip out on the lake in a kayak or paddle boat is most definitely worth a go!
The food on site at the hotel is quite expensive, beers and coffee's etc, but the buffet breakfast has so much to offer! Plus dunkin' donuts is only a short stroll down the road.
There are also plenty of shuffle buses to take guests to the many theme parks in Florida!
The only thing i will say - the balcony in the rooms are very very small and narrow - other than that , I would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Perhaps see if there are rooms with a bigger balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at our resort. We appreciate you noting many aspects of your stay that stood out such as your clean spacious room, the pools and the gym. We know there are many choices out there and we are glad you chose our property. Your five point rating will hopefully mean you will return to stay with us again.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Another great experience at the Hyatt Grand Cypress. Always beautiful, the best pool, lots of activities, great service! The property is so well-maintained - everywhere you look there are beautiful flowers, landscaping and great places to just hang out and relax.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us again and noting our great service along with our amazing pool and plethora of activities. We work very hard to make sure our guests have exceptional service and can truly enjoy their surroundings. Your five point rating is appreciated and lets other readers know that you had a truly great visit with us.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This is a brilliant hotel that has superb room and a stunning pool complex. The service from all staff was excellent. Only grumbles would be the shuttle service to theme parks is limited and in flexible so you will end up paying for taxis to get to and from places at the time that you want to. Also, food choice in the evening is a bit limited so we ended up going out most nights.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank snubberisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel once before and really enjoyed it, so we were excited to stay again for a 3 day weekend. While the hotel is beautiful and has many amenities, the parking issues we had were totally unacceptable to the point where we left early. We are paying guests at this hotel and charged for parking however there was a “Little Princess” event or something to that effect, at the hotel and the people coming to the event were given free parking in the guest parking lot. Cars were everywhere, parking on the grass, in the street, blocking other cars, it was a MESS!!! On our first day we drove around for 20 minutes trying to find a parking spot and by some miracle we happen to come across someone pulling out and we were able to park and go check in. The next day however, we had gone over to Downtown Disney and came back around 3:00 and the parking was even worse, cars were blocking other cars, parking in no parking areas as well as the street, sidewalks, grass and anywhere these people could put their cars. We drove around and around for a frustrating 30 minutes and could not find a spot, so we went back to the guard at the checkpoint and they had no solutions, they did not even apologize and just said they were having a big event. They offered Valet parking for a higher fee, which consisted of them parking your car on the street on the main entrance road because the valet slots were full….Ummm I don’t think so….

So we ended up driving back up to the lobby and parked in the loading area, went up to our room to gather our stuff, which by the way the room still had not been cleaned and it was 3:30 in the afternoon. We went to the front desk, told them we had enough and we were checking out early. The checkout girl had no solution to offer either, asked if there was anything she could do to make us stay and we asked her if she could find us a parking space, she did not have an answer. We feel that since we were being charged for parking we should be guaranteed a parking spot. We are paying guests at the hotel and yet they let non paying people just coming for a day event to take up all the parking from a paying guest to where the guests are so inconvenienced they felt it better to cut their stay short and go home rather than deal with this unacceptable situation.

Management should have assessed the situation and come up with a plan, maybe they need to build another parking lot for “events”. We were very disappointed on how things were handled or should we say the lack of handling this situation.

Another issue we noticed was the bellhops were taking the guest elevators with the racks of luggage and making the guests who had been standing there wait for the next one and these elevators are very slow.

Needless to say , we will not be staying here again…

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pixelsaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.8 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 337 in Orlando
1,405 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 337 in Orlando
4,197 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#29 of 337 in Orlando
5,456 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
5.1 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Property: Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Address: One Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836-6799
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Business Hotel in Orlando
#7 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#8 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
#19 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing