We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to one of the resort properties”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Ranked #27 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great alternative to one of the resort properties”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

All my past Orlando trips have been for pleasure, and I always stay at one of the resort properties, so I had no idea about this amazing hotel. I stayed at this hotel for a conference, and it was a real treat. The location was amazing - right between Universal and Disney. The room was beautiful and had a tiny little balcony (only wide enough to stand), so based on which side of the hotel your room was located, you could view the fireworks from either Universal or Disney each night.

The room was spacious and comfortable with lots of drawers and closet space. There were tons of pillows on the bed (6 for a king-size), and I really appreciated the bedside shelf for storing electronics / books / glass of water, etc. The room was decorated in a very modern style - weird art and table lamps (it took me forever to figure out how to turn on the desk lamp). There was also a weird sliding door between the closet and bathroom, so that if you closed the door to the bathroom, the closet was wide open, and vice versa. I was not impressed by the water pressure in the waterfall style shower - not 100% sure I got all the conditioner out of my hair. The room service was amazing - they really have that figured out - whatever estimate they give you for delivery, they were spot on! The room service food options were pretty tasty as well.

The star of this hotel, however, is the sprawling pool, which was practically a water park. The pool was open 24 hours - after a long conference day, I loved being able to enjoy this amenity. This is definitely a family-oriented property, so there were always tons of kids around, and there is no adults-only private pool area, but I didn't mind. TIP: we left the pool area around midnight and they were starting to run out of towels, since there is no staff to refresh the supply overnight - so make sure to grab one earlier in the day if you're planning a late night dip.

On our last day, we took a quick trip over to Disney just for the morning before flying out. It's nice that the hotel runs a shuttle, but we discovered that Disney is so close, you don't really need it, especially if you want to move back and forth separate from the rigid shuttle schedule. We ended up taking a cab back, which was not very cost prohibitive.

The hotel had some solid dining options, although no shopping to speak of, but again Downtown Disney is right nearby. All of the staff were extremely courteous and helpful throughout our stay. I really enjoyed this hotel, except for the tons of mosquitoes. Not enough to keep me away from a resort property on a pleasure trip, but definitely a great choice while traveling on business. Also a solid choice for families.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank khp_infairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,354
    1,262
    385
    172
    123
See reviews for
2,285
1,053
92
1,212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (968)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

My 13 year old daughter and I stayed here for a family vacation to Disney and universal. It was a nice hotel although there is some evidence this hotel is older and needs a little refreshing, such as near the stairs above the restaurant. The swimming pool was amazing and we spent hours there. It has a slide that is monitored by staff, several waterfalls and an awesome cave. Our room was this spacious suite and the staff was wonderful. I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This was a very nice and clean hotel. I was there for a conference and took my husband and teenager. We ate at the hotel more than we would typically due to my schedule. The food was very, very good. Not close by to any restaurants without taking a taxi, which was frustrating - b/c of this reason I rated it as average. Pleasant staff, nice hotel bar - multiple restaurants on site. No airport shuttle or transport so you have to use taxi's a lot. Not worth paying extra for view of "Disney fireworks" as it's far away and hard to see - not very impressive.
Impressive swimming pool - bikes, small golf course, paddle boats.
Most of the concierge staff very helpful, especially the manager. One was grumpy and not helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soosun3916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, NH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Wow, a beautiful sprawling resort with lots and lots of extras. This hotel has been around a while but has been well maintained. In typical Hyatt fashion, rooms are modern looking and fairly good sized. The lobby is not a warm and inviting place to hang out. However, the real gem here is the outdoor spaces. The pool area is one of the best around, with very comfortable chaise loungers, waterfalls and slide. Plus the hotel has miles of nature trails and offers complimentary use of bikes, paddle boats and rock climbing wall.
This hotel is relatively close to Downtown Disney, and offers complimentary shuttle service to the Disney theme parks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustravel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
We are glad you had a great time here and chose to review us with a five point rating. It is nice to read you loved the pool and feel it is the best around. You mention our lobby .... our new lobby floor will be completed in the next few months so I hope you come back to check it out.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We live in Miami and we go often to Orlando to entertain relatives visiting from Europe. We like the Hyatt Grand Cypress because room are large, clean and renovated, the resort is large, staff is friendly. It is a very big hotel, but the rooms are well insulated, and the beds are comfortable. For the price, it is a bargain, I will go again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurosLoverUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress is a beautiful resort. The rooms are typical of any hyatt. Modern, nice decor. The bathroom layout is a bit odd, and no lock on the bathroom door could be improved. The restaurants have good food, and the staff is kind and attentive. The gem is the pool, its one of the best at any hotel I've stayed at (save maybe the Crane in Barbados). Like many hotels such as this the extra fees can be a little maddening. Internet costs extra, there is a daily "resort fee" of $25, plus $11 to self park, and $25 for valet. Personally I'd rather have a higher upfront cost per night and not all this nickel and diming me. Its just minutes front the Disney property and has some great activities for kids, even if the hotel is generally geared towards business travelers. (this is my second stay there in 4 years and I made sure to return)

Room Tip: If you get a pool view room you'll be able to see the fireworks over Epcot in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedCamOp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeeBee4, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for your review and offering five points even though you were a bit maddened. Most resorts do charge a resort fee but in our case, we offer a great value as there are so many choices in things to do. The internet is included with our fee. We never take our guest feedback for granted and appreciate you taking the time to do so in this forum. We hope you will return yet again in the future and that you also have another five point experience.

Steven M Ballot
Guest Relations
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Steven.Ballot@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This property has always been near and dear to my heart. Have stayed there numerous times and the experience was always the best! So sad that after their negligence they have still not rectified the situation. This is not the Hyatt that I know. It is also not the Hyatt spirit that has set them apart. Maybe on the next Orlando trip we will try the new Hilton Bonnet, they have a lazy river.... Note: Beds were very small and tough for two ppl. to sleep in.... Should have queens

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marelise22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.8 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 337 in Orlando
1,408 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#24 of 337 in Orlando
4,208 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#29 of 337 in Orlando
5,464 reviews
5.1 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress

Property: Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Address: One Grand Cypress Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32836-6799
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Business Hotel in Orlando
#7 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#8 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#19 Family Hotel in Orlando
#19 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of Orlando's most inviting escapes, Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. The outstanding array of resort amenities filling our resort creates an amazing retreat for families and business travelers, alike. Play golf and tennis, swim, sail, or treat yourself to a massage. Savor a meal prepared by our renowned chefs – cuisine ranges from authentic southwestern fare to fresh sushi and a sumptuous American buffet breakfast daily. Our family-friendly resort offers an ideal location adjacent to Disney World – kids of all ages will love exploring area attractions. When it comes time to relax, return to our resort, where you always find legendary Hyatt service and smiling staff waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Grand Cypress
Grand Hyatt Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Hotel Orlando
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing