We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
Ranked #29 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed at BLT for the Christmas Holiday - just amazing. Had a studio villa that was handicapped accessible (not requested), but other than not having a tub, everything was pretty standard in the room - just a little wider. There were three of us, so the bed and pull out couch was sufficient. We had requested a Lake View Room and got extremely lucky with our room assignment. We did get a view of Bay Lake, but we were on the Magic Kingdom end of the building and had a wonderful view of BOTH Magic Kingdom and Bay lake. Amazing new perspective of the MK fireworks and MK life after dark! The room was clean, as DVC members we had access to the Top o the world lounge and had no trouble getting in the night we selected. We had free use of the laundry facilities and while internet access is wired - a quick hookup of a wireless router and we had wireless access in our room. It was a little chilly during our stay, but DD still used the pool and loved it - sparkling clean as we'd expect from Disney. Quickservice and full service dining is available next door. Top of the World did accept our Table in Wonderland discount, but didn't accept the dining plan at that time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank disneygoof1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,733)
There are newer reviews for Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,513 - 1,519 of 1,734 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

We loved this resort! It's the closest you can get to Disney's Magical Kingdom Resort. You can actually walk to the front gates (10 min.) Monorail goes through the Contemporary Resort which is a quick walk across a breezeway from Bay Lake Tower. You get a great view of the fireworks from the top floor with music piped into the bar/restaurant also. There is an electrical parade that floats past the resort in the evenings which is kinda nice also. The staff are friendly for the most part. We weren't particularly fond of the older guy who worked at the member's desk down stairs. He wasn't so friendly and seemed to have a bit of a chip on his shoulder, but other than that everyone else was very pleasant. The pool was fantastic - kids loved it! We stayed in a studio this time and it was very nice and comfortable for all 4 of us. It had a small 1/2 kitchen with a microwave, fridge, sink and some utensils. In the Contemporary (next door): Chef Mickey's was a very fun. It's a character breakfast. Book your reservations early as it's hard to get in. They also have a quick service area and a grocery store. When you stay at this resort you really don't need a car as everything is accessible with the monorail, buses or a quick walk. What we liked most about this resort is the fact that you had quick access to the Magical Kingdom which was one of my kids favorite resorts. They also have extended hours which sometime goes until 3:00 AM!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kapev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is the latest offering from the WDW Resort DVC Portfolio... Me and my partner bought into the vacation club in 2009, and had our first stay at BLT in September 2010. We were already sold by the mock-up of the hotel at the DVC Centre, but we were overwhelmed when the Magical Express pulled up outside the Contemporary and we were whisked to the first of two rooms we stayed in for those two weeks.

Using our 160 vacation points to their full potential, (and seeing as there were only the two of us to make the whole thing more feasible), we had a ground floor, standard view studio for the first week and switched to a 1 bedroom lake view for the second week.

Well, what a treat! The studio was fantastic, a high class hotel room with lovely furnishings and great decor. Admittedly, the furniture was slightly battered in places. But I am fully aware that Disney are addressing this, (somewhat of an oversight of dark furnishings vs. heavy suitcases!), certainly not something worthy of spoiling the stay!

The 1 bedroom was out of this world. We were lucky enough to be on the 14th floor, with exceptional views across the lake, the pools and beyond! The suite was just beautiful! Extremely contemporary and classic in design, yet modern, fresh and homely. We had the bedroom and some family joined us for a couple of days and comfortably slept on the pull out sofa-bed in the living area. It certainly felt there was enough space for us all and the 2 bathrooms certainly helped with the morning, pre-park trauma of showering early to get to the parks before opening!!

In terms of location, the Bay Lake Tower could not be better. Not only is it within walking distance of Magic Kingdom, (10 mins leisurely walk), but the hotel is linked to Contemporary Resort, so the monorail and bus services are so frequent!

I absolutely beseech you, that if you have chance to stay at this wonderful hotel, then don't think twice about it! Book those tickets, pack your bags and get ready to make the magic brighter!

We're returning to BLT later this year and can safely say, we are proud to be owners in this wonderful resort. It really has made the investment feel even more valuable and worthwhile - thank you Disney!

PS, don't forget to go and see Mike at the Top of the World! (good guy!)

Room Tip: Speak to guest services when checking in!
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ianrob84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This was a perfect hotel for our family. We were in the one bedroom suite and was perfect sized. Could easily walk to the magic kingdom or take the monorail. Could see all the fireworks from magic kingdom easily. we took advantage of the grocery service and had our food deleveried when we got there with no issues. Pool is great but a bit small and gets crowded though easy walk over to the contemporary's bigger pool. Room decor was great and very modern.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drrob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in a one bedroom to meet up with a few friends. The room was clean and spacious. I loved being able to walk to the Magic Kingdom and not having to ride the monorail all the way around to the park. The pool was nice but I was only in there for an hour. Every time I walked by the pool in the afternoon it was packed with families. I was able to secure a great rate saving around 30%, thank you to Travel with the Magic for that. I would love to stay here again with my family I think they would love it. I am not a DVC member so I didnt go to the top of the building to watch the fireworks so I cant help with that. The food court over at the Contemporary was pretty good, I liked several of the sandwiches. I did have dinner one night at the California Grille and it was very good. Only negative is that Disney really needs to have wifi in the rooms and it should be free.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alicnwondrln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed at BLT the week of May 23, 2011.
We were traveling with my mom and dad, they stayed in a one bedroom unit. My family which includes myself, my husband and two children ages 5 and 2 also stayed in a one bedroom unit.
We had a lake view - Everything was immaculate and just gorgeous. There is also a light show on the water each night that is fun to watch too. You can also see the nightly fireworks from the breezeway/patio that connects the bay lake tower to the contemporary. No need to fight the crowds! The bedroom is huge and the master bathroom is amazing, so large - tons of space and an enourmous bathtub and seperate shower- the kids loved it for their baths. Having the second bathroom was great too- as is the washer/dryer. We also had a decent sized balcony. Our bed was comfortable and I was pleasantly suprised by the 'sleeper chair' - I pictured something like what you see in a hospital room that really is not suitable for sleeping - this truly was like a twin bed once folded out, my daughter loved it. Despite the resort being at capacity we rarely waited for an elevator (9th floor). The pool was great, the water slide was so fun and they also have a smaller slide that my son loved - the pool was also never super crowded. The units are stocked with everything you need supply wise- we did opt to do the dining plan, so we made breakfast in our room each day before heading out. There is a little store in the lobby of the contemporary that has all the essentials (milk, eggs, peanut butter, bread etc). We are not disney vacation club owners, and we did have maid service daily - the quick service restaurant in the contemporary was great too-
The location is amazing - it's a quick walk over to the magic kingdom - also very convenient to take the monorail over to the 'transportation center' when heading to epcot or going elsewhere... especially with young kids, you just cannot beat it - when they are done and ready to go they are done, it's nice to just take the quick walk back or take the monorail if you want a ride...would definitely stay here again. They also had tons of activities each day/night but we were never around to do any of them (evening movie under the stars, pottery painting, tye dye etc etc)
We opted to do the 'magical express' to and from the airport and that was great too- on the way there you get luggage tags for your bags and you don't see them from the time you leave your home airport until you get to your room, AMAZING - also, on the return flight you can check in for your flight, tag your bags, receive your boarding passes etc from the lobby of the hotel. It is just so easy when staying on the property - we will never stay offsite!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank km1636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

This was my third lifetime trip to Disney, but the 1st time I stayed at a Disney Resort. I booked the whole package through Disney (except our air) hotel, transportation from the airport, the Disney food plan etc. I am VERY glad we let Disney handle it all. It was the perfect package! In particular, I loved the meal plan. You can eat at almost any restaurant, 3 meals a day, from appetizer to desert. There are fancy sit down dinners, buffets, and quick meals. You choose as you go! What a wonderful option! This particular hotel is next to the Magic Kingdom (truly the best for our two three year old travelers). The monorail can take you to the park or you can simplify take a ten minute walk. The resort has a nice pool, a fountain area for small kids to run through, and a couple of water slides (towels are at poolside and food too). It's hard traveling with small kids, but Disney manages to simply the process...which removes some of the stress involved. Bay Lake Tower is basically a new hotel...it's part of Disney Vacation Clubs and is an annex to the very popular Contemporary resort. The only issue is that the tower is only rooms....no stores, restaurants etc. If you like quiet, this is your home away from home! If you like crowded, touristy stuff...stay at the main building...I like to personally recommend booking through Disney itself...it's worth every dime...THANKS!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinscamaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort

Address: 4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8413
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Orlando
#61 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £413 - £816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm luxury meets modern elegance at this lakeside Resort hotel just walking distance to Magic Kingdom park. Delight in Studios and multi-bedroom Villas, kitchens or kitchenettes and dramatic views that may include old-growth cypress trees, the shimmering Bay Lake, the lush courtyard or Cinderella Castle. Enjoy white-sand beaches, enchanting pools and award-winning dining-plus the extensive offerings of Disney's Contemporary Resort, connected by the convenient Sky Way Bridge, with access to transportation including the Resort Monorail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lake Tower At Disney`s Contemporary Hotel Orlando
Bay Lake Tower At Disney's Contemporary Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing