We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay place”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bombay Cafe

Bombay Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Bombay Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #845 of 3,764 Restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Okay place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Nice little restaurant, really crowded. When you order, they don't write it down on a piece of paper, they remember it by memory, and because of this they forgot our samosa chaat. The bhel puri was very nice, the raghda was okay. Defiantly have had better samosa chaat in other places.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    31
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
262 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Bad food and bad ambience but good service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We went to this place more by accident than out of choice. We wanted to go to Woodlands which was closed. The food was not good but the service excellent. We had North Indian food and Chaat there so cannot comment onSouth indian. The vegetables came with rice so you might want to order the breads accordingly.
We definitely did not like the food and the place and we felt it was a waste of time and money. Will not repeat the place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babla75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Avoid early hour of opening, other than that the quality of food & service is excellent.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Me & my wife always love to eat at this restaurant. The food & atmosphere is excellent & better
than others around.Just disappointment twice going in early hours of opening & served leftover food which was not worth driving for lunch hour.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Qualityinn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Best Indian Restaurant in Orlando”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Do not get discouraged by the looks of the outside Shopping Plaza. Once you enter, there are a few Indian Businesses, keep walking all the way to the end of the hall and you will find Bombay Cafe. The restaurant is calm, clean and the service is good! Most customers at this place are Indians (which is always a good indication about the food quality and authenticity). The food was delicious and the service was attentive and friendly. The restaurant is clean and it has calm atmosphere. I would recommend this place and I will come back again to Bombay Cafe

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DecoWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“my new place for south indian fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

ever since i got back from spending a few weeks working in india, i have been on a quest to find high quality south indian food in the united states (namely in the dc area where i used to live and orlando, where i currently live). i cannot get enough of the dosas and idlis i've come to love but have been too intimated to try to make them at home. so imagine my excitement when i found bombay cafe online... certainly all the glowing reviews on yelp and tripadvisor couldn't be that wrong?

while out running errands with the husband, we stopped at bombay cafe one day for lunch. when he found out the food was 100% vegetarian he was a bit nervous. i mean the man loves indian food and does not need to have a piece of meat at every meal to feel satisfied, but all the indian dishes he's really enjoyed contain meat. i am sure this is a common fear among people who can't imagine their lunch or dinner without some meat, but trust me - you won't miss it.

bombay cafe is in the back of an indian strip mall on the orange blossom trail. some people may also be put off by the restaurant's location, but i personally love the obt - there are so many great food choices! anyway, back to bombay cafe. we arrived at about 2pm and the restaurant was nearly full with lots of indian families enjoying a saturday lunch. we were starving and had an order of the samosas, chili pakoda, and then i ordered the mysore masala dosa and the boy had the onion chili dosa with a side of masala (potato) filling. the food arrived quickly and the samosas were excellent - hot, crispy and a great filling. the chili pakoda was good if you like spicy food, but i would probably try something different next time as i wasn't the biggest fan of the coating. but the dosas, the dosas! so light, crispy and delicious. the sambar was tasty as were the chutneys. at the end of the meal, the husband was so impressed he already started talking about returning with friends. bombay cafe also has thalis, so if you want to get a ton of food for cheap these may be your best bet.

overall, you can't go wrong with a trip to the bombay cafe!

after you finish up your meal, stop at the indian grocer a few stores down to stock up on your favorite indian snacks or sweets.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amyh12382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bombay Cafe also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Bombay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing