We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #34 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
577 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Great place for a honeymoon!”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for our Honeymoon. The hotel is the greatest African themed hotel in North America. We stayed in a savannah view room and the extra expense for this type of room is defiantly worth it. There is a plethora of activities to do at the hotel and at Kidani Village about five minutes away. The best restaurant in Walt Disney World is Sanaa at the Kidani Village next door! The pool is huge and even if it is “busy” you can find a place all your own to relax after a long day in the parks. Fridge in our room made it easy to keep breakfast food handy and get us out into the parks swiftly. The best place to spend a week on honeymoon.

Room Tip: Savannah View is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JesseWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,125
    1,717
    594
    249
    126
See reviews for
4,275
1,187
53
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,815)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

This trip review is way overdue. We stayed here in 2007 but I wanted to add this review to all the others I've contributed.

Myself, my husband and our 2 kids stayed here in November of 2007. The whole intention of this trip was firstly to see Discovery Cove, then do DisneyWorld and SeaWorld. So I booked this hotel because we wanted to stay right in the DisneyWorld complex and it wasn't too far from Discovery Cove and SeaWorld.

We loved this hotel. Firstly part of our luggage didn't arrive with us even tho we used the Disney Luggage option. The folks at the hotel did everything to find it - and did - at about 3:00 in the morning ! Which was fine, finally we got all our luggage.

We ate at all the restaurants on side - we added on the dining option - and we enjoyed every meal we had on site - as well as the other choices we made at DisneyWorld.

We loved our room which looked right out onto the Savannah, we had a queen bed and bunkbeds for the kids. The room was very comfortable, the bed as well.

We would certainly stay at AKL again if we were to come back to do DisneyWorld.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gailieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The Animal Kingdom lodge was a pleasant stay. Our room was a little small and surprisingly a bit basic considering the price. However it was clean and very comfy. Housekeeping did a great job. The actual hotel lobby and bar area was outstanding. The architecture and design was wonderful – and being able to see the animals roam freely was amazing.
We totally fell in love with the AMAZING restaurant at the hotel called Jiko. Yes, it's pricey, but it's some of the best food we've had in a while, and we consider ourselves to be foodies. The Victoria Falls bar is friendly. The British lady who works there is super nice and we enjoyed chatting to her and the great service. It's wonderful to talk to all the people from different parts of Africa too. If you do stay there, make an effort to get chatting to the people who work there and find out where they're from – it's really worth it.
It was fascinating to chat to women from Botswana and Swaziland.
The whole Disney experience is really expensive, so you just have to grin and bear it and try not to think about how much everything is costing - otherwise you start feeling a bit miserable! There is a casual restaurant / cafeteria on the ground floor which was good for breakfast, snacks etc, but that was still quite pricey.
The shuttle service to the parks was pretty good – but bear in mind that the Animal Kingdom Lodge is quite far out, so it takes a little while to get to places such as the Magic Kingom quickly.
The massive pool and spa were great. The slide at the pool was a bit hit with our five year old. All in all a good stay. Our pockets are just more than a bit lighter now!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TeeEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We, like many east coasters, make our way to Orlando to visit Disney every so often. This last trip we stayed at the Animal Kingdom Lodge. Like many Disney Hotels it is a truly 'themed" hotel and experience. You feel as though you are actually in Africa. Animals pass by your room, which the kids loved, and the people were all friendly. We went as part of several families all headed down together. It was wonderful that there was so much to keep everyone entertained at the hotel. The Parks are wonderful as always but it was nice to have a hotel were we could just relax. They have activities that the kids can enjoy and not have to get to all of the parks. We took advantage of the pottery painting activity and the kids loved it. Several nights, my wife and I, sat on their patios and watched the animals walking around. Also for the big kid in you several of us went to the Arcade rooms which were loaded with top end games, so even in the rain we were entertained. We went to all of the dining facilities there and around disney, as part of the dining plan, but the quick service spot, the Mara, had everything we needed in the morning or afternoon and we found ourselves there often. What a great place to stay and it may be the only Disney Hotel I go back to, if I can get in, great for people who like animals and the theme. The only issue was I found myself humming and singing the music that we heard in the Mara and lobbies all day long, it's quite catchy.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

My family and I have been to Disney several times but this time we decided to do it up the "right" way. After much research, including Trip Advisor reviews, we booked the Animal Kingdom Lodge and I have to say, in spite of a couple of critical reviews, we were not disappointed in any way. The Lodge itself was grand and quite honestly, we could have had a wonderful vacation just within the Lodge walls had it not been for the wonders of Disney's parks awaiting us. We had animals within view all day and all night. The room was clean and beautiful and the entire staff was extremely outgoing and helpful. Also, the breakfast buffet at Boma was wonderful. Only cautions: (1) be careful when you are getting off the bus that you are at the Lodge and not at the Villas because the stops are not announced and it is a bit of a pain to get back to the Lodge once you get off (they stop at the Villas before the Lodge) and (2) in the evening it's a bit tough to find things one might need, i.e. medicine, so I suppose the best thing is to bring everything you might possibly need if you're not planning on renting a car and we were not, (3) the Tusker House character breakfast is in the AK Park not at the Lodge :(

Room Tip: Make sure you get an Arusha view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My family and I stayed here from March 3rd to March 9th this year. It was our second visit to this beautiful resort and we loved as much as the first time. We arrived at the hotel at 11 am and having done on line check in our room was ready with an upgrade to a Savannah View! It is a large hotel but no where near as bad as what some folks are writing here. Our room was at the end of Kudu Trail (room 4394) and it's nowhere near a half mile from the lobby. As a runner I am a pretty good judge of distance in quarter mile increments and it would be a stretch to say it was even that far. The rooms here are not huge but that's true of all Disney Resorts for the most part. They are comfortable and clean though. Mousekeeping does a great job, we left them a tip every morning.

The pool at AKL is great too with a small water slide and a good sized hot tub set back out of the way of the crowds. It was a bit chilly when we were there but the pools are heated so we did get to swim a little.

We ate at The Mara (counter service) a handful of times and enjoyed it. We didn't go to Boma this time but have been there twice in the past and as far as buffets go it's good. They have a dessert called Zebra Domes (which you can also get at the Mara) that are so delicious. The bar, Victoria Falls, is gorgeous and a great place to have a drink in the evening.

We had no problems with buses the week we were there. The resort does feel out of the way but the longest ride is to the Magic Kingdom and it takes 18 minutes (I timed it twice) so it's not as remote as it seems. And talk about convenient to Animal Kingdom! That's about a 3 minute ride! I wish they would build a walkway like the one between the Epcot resorts, Hollywood Studios and Epcot itself. Maybe one day.

The Animal Kingdom Lodge is a resort we will definitely visit again someday!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cara1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

This was our first visit to Walt Disney World and I wanted it to be special. The Animal Kingdom Lodge is beautiful and the service excellent. Before we booked, my husband was concerned that the place would smell like a zoo. It does not. We booked a standard room on the 3rd floor with a savanna view. It's not a large room, but the room isn't the reason we went to Disney, or chose the AKL.The lobby is breathtaking. We knew it was special as soon as we pulled in. The pool area is relaxing and beautiful. We toured around the other properties and none came close to setting the luxurious escape atmosphere of the Animal Kingdom Lodge. Some say it's too far away, but I don't think a 10 minute shuttle ride is too far to the parks. We want to go back and will stay here again.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor is great for viewing animals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajmuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#11 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing