We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #35 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I always read the poor reviews first when deciding where to stay with the family. For anyone that cares out there the one common theme I found from those that were not satisfied with their stay was that the hotel was too dark and the rooms were too small (for a deluxe hotel). And yes, both statements are true. The hotel does not have a lot of artificial illumination to keep with the African lodge theme. The rooms are smaller than what one like given the rates, but my feeling is you don't go to Disney to stay in your room so I got past that pretty quickly.

Other than that the hotel is truly impressive. The mail lobby is breathtaking. Detail everywhere. Didn't see very many animals, but what we saw made the family happy. Everyone was extremely helpful and courteous and service is awesome. The pool is large and there are kids activities all afternoon. You can see the lifeguards practicing CPR every single morning for like an hour. Good to know they are well trained.

The restaurants are awesome. Please stay away from the burgers and all the other stuff you like to eat back at home. Be adventurous and try the specialty dishes. You won't be dissapointed.

Be aware that the hotel has quite a large footprint. There can be a bit of walking from your room to the lobby. Also the hotel itself is close to the animal park, but far from everything else. The bus shuttle to Magic Kingdom or Epcot is around 10 minutes or so, which can be a lot after being tired from walking all day at the park and having to ride standing up.

Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike49673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,127
    1,718
    594
    249
    126
See reviews for
4,276
1,187
53
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,816)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
merlynrobin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We have been to Walt Diney World about 50 times. We have stayed at all of their deluxe resorts as well as their villa resorts and our favorite is the Animal Kingdom Lodge, Jambo House. The lobby is gorgeous with beautiful authentic art everywhere you look. The rooms and villas are tastefully decorated with African inspired furniture and Art. The resort is quiet and serene, which ius a rarity at Walt Disney World and much welcomed after a day of sensory overload. The restaurants and wonderful. If this review has convinced you to stay there, make sure that you book a room with a savannah view. The last time we stayed there, a mother, father and baby giraffe slept outside of our balcony each night. Itr doesn't get better than that. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get a room with a savannah view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank merlynrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I love this hotel!!! excellent service and many activities to do. I love coming to this hotel and being able to look out the window in the morning and see all the cool animals. I also like the fabulous breakfast buffet by the lobby and the little diner by the pool!! The pool has got to be the est though!!! its not to hot or to cold...perfect for relaxing or wanting to have fun.

Room Tip: I suggest the jambo house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alyssa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed here in March on a work trip amazing hotel would defiantly recommend to families wanting a wonderful different experiance to other disney hotels. Opening your curtains as the sun rise's in a morning with Giraffes,zebra's antelope wilder beast and other animals right in front of you is the best way to start your day before heading into the park's. Fab pool area and the Lobby is amazing however the bathroom size did disappoint.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAATKINSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Fantastic from start to finish amazing hotel great staff and great rooms. Savannah view rooms worth every penny. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We had a room overlooking the savannah for three nights.and found that the animals weren't there in the morning when we most wanted to see them. It seemed as though they remove them to clean the area and fill the feed containers. By the time we returned to the room it was nightime and we couldn't see them. The room was average but the staff was outstanding. Considering the cost and the few good animal sightings we had, we wouldn't stay there again but would opt for a different Disney property.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lilymarlene808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
379 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Over the past 40 years, my family has made regular trips to Disneyworld. We have stayed in all of the budget hotels and many of the moderately priced hotels. However, this was the first time my wife and I stayed at one of Disney's deluxe properties. As soon as we entered the property I was in love with the Animal Kingdom Lodge. The lobby is as huge as an airplane hanger and yet so comfortable and friendly that you can spend the whole day there relaxing. The rooms are a good size and nicely furnished with all the ammenities including free Wi-Fi. We chose not to book a savannah view, and went with the pool view instead. This saved us much money and gave us a beautiful view. As for watching the animals on the savannah, there are so many places to do that. Our 2nd floor room in the Zebra wing was right next to a viewing balcony. The wife and I sat on wonderfully comfortable rocking chairs and watched the animals for hours. We even cut short our visit to the Disney parks to spend more time watching the savannah. The swimming pool is very large, with plenty of room for all. Breakfast and dinner at Boma was wonderful as was dinner at Sanaa at the neighboring Kidani Village. The focus on service was clearly noticeable. The concierge could not do enough for us. I only wish we had the grandkids with us on this trip. They would have loved everything about this resort.

Room Tip: Savannah rooms are great but pricey. Give the pool view a try to save money. The view is beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank exnorther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#11 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing