We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DK - Jambo House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #33 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just back from a four night stay at Jambo House. We had a room with a "pool view", 1 king bed and 1 bunk bed for the kids. The room felt a bit small with the oversized furnishings, but was comfy. The pool view was a joke as there was a jungle between us and the pool. Be careful with the toilet, there is little room between the door and the edge of the toilet when opening the door...also its very dark in the bathroom, so keep the shower curtain open. Also, double check the AC and fridge. Our AC was up high and our fridge was off when we arrived. The staff is helpful and there are some modestly priced food options. The animals are of course the feature and the convenience of parking at the parks for free as a resort guest was a perk.

Room Tip: I wouldnt bother with a room that overlooks the savannah, the animals arent too active in the day an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,167 - 3,173 of 7,211 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here only one night (June 9th) as a treat to start off summer break. We only live an hour away. This was our 1st time. The resort is extremely beautiful and classy. We were upgraded to a club-level room because a queen/bunk bed room we reserved wasn't available. Which was a treat with complimentary mimosas for adults, beverages, snacks, coffee, cappuccino, wine, h'orderves, continental breakfast & great snack items for the kids. We were personally escorted from the front door by a gentleman and my husband checked in at a small desk while the kids and I enjoyed the treats. We really love the magic bands system Disney has. Its so convenient. The hotel was also able to link our annual park passes to our bands. The pool was nice, but they don't have a fun area with water play just for kids like other resorts have. We did enjoy ourselves though and the pool is not deep at all so I didn't have worry about our 10 year-old much. We had a Savannah view room which was amazing. The animals stay out all day. I sat on the balcony at 2am observing the zebras. It's really awesome. The bus situation was the only negative. The buses don't come often so when they do, its extremely overcrowded. Overall we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Daytonamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just returning from our 12th Disney visit June 3-9. We did a split stay between here and Wilderness Lodge. There is no other resort quite like the AKL. This was our second stay here as we have 2 animal loving daughters. Our check in was flawless-we were overjoyed as we were upgraded to a savannah sunset kudu trail view room. We were able to see zebra, giraffe, ostrich, ankole cattle, and many other animals.
Our issues were minor and of the housekeeping type. Our coffee cups were taken after day 1 and never replaced, our toilet paper was never replaced, and one day our room wasn't cleaned until after 4. These are minor; however, we're paying Deluxe prices and expect no minor issues.
Also, after years of praising Disney's bus system, we've decided that when we return, we'll either drive our own car (All the way from Michigan) or rent a car. We spent far too much time waiting for busses and riding busses. For example, a simple trip to Downtown Disney took 45 minutes 1 day. That's far too much time to waste in our opinion.
Our final gripe-the Mara food court was not up to standards. We stayed here 2 years ago and I remember the food being much better. This time, the food was bland-nothing special and the choices very limited.
Although we all think this resort is unique and beautiful, we probably won't return a third time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Week long stay in Jambo house. Rooms were nice...double sinks, small fridge, tiny room safe, full shower including tub. Beds seemed very hard, but we were so exhausted that we slept fine anyway. Loved the savannah view balcony...went out every morning to wake up to animal sounds! We would have liked a bit more space to move around in the room between the beds and the tv cabinet, but that's the only real change we would make. Never used the pool area, but it looked lovely. Restaurants were very good with lots of interesting choices.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I love how unique this resort it. We had a great view from our room were we could sit on our balcony watching different animals. We saw at least 10 different African animals that you'd only see at a zoo or in Africa. They also have an area with a walkway that takes you farther into the animals areas with a fire pit and chairs that's really great to take a drink from the bar out to and sit in the fire (on cool nights). They have a restaurant 3 restaurants that I can think of and that we did try. Sanaa Restaurant was our favorite. Get the painted Lemur drink and the Indian style bread service and you will leave the restaurant a happy person. Jiko the more fancy restaurant was also good but not as memorable. Then they have Boma which we did the breakfast buffet and well its just that a breakfast buffet. Nothing over the top. The lobby is neat but not a place you want to hang out in like you do at the Wilderness lodge lobby. We spent a lot of time at the parks so spending $400 a night for a room we were only in briefly.... is it worth it..... it is worth at least a night or two. Then go check into one of their budget hotels likes Pop Century which we also had lots of fun at and great photo ops. I will say we've stayed at a lot of the Disney resorts and this is one of my favorites.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just returned from a 5 day stay at the Animal Kingdom Lodge with my family of 5. I would not call this a deluxe hotel. The overall experience was average. The rooms were basic and housekeeping was not reliable. No extras that's for sure! Most of the staff were not very friendly and did not make you feel very welcome. The food lacked enough choices for families with small children. The Boma breakfast was good but we found the food at the Mara very plain. The animals were not as easily accessible as advertised it took us 3 days to find them all. We did enjoy the pool and used it ever day. The lobby was beautiful and smelled incredible (campfire smell)! One of the most HORRIBLE experiences were the buses to and from the parks. The wait times were 45+ mins long. There was rhyme or reason to the buses that came and went and no organization of them. Another problem for us was the placement of the smoking area. It was located right next to the playground. We have 2 small children ages 3 & 1, so we were often up early and at the playground. Imagine our surprise when we could smell cigarette smoke as our young ones played. It was disgusting! It was our first and last stay at this resort. We have stayed at other Disney resorts that have a lesser rating that we found more "Deluxe" than Animal Kingdom Lodge!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor near the pool were ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kkdaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We used our Disney Vacation Club points to stay in a standard view studio at the Kidani Village side of the resort. The African safari theme starts when you pull up to the guard shack and you are welcomed with a bright "Jambo!" from the staff. Be sure to spend time on the room balconies and public areas to observe the animals. Something we found very fun was going out to the bonfire at night and talking with the African wildlife guides. They handed us night vision goggles and answered out questions about the animals and about their homeland. Truly a fantastic, one of a kind resort!

Room Tip: It is worth the Savannah View Go out at night and watch the animals with night vision goggles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clint C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#11 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £242 - £533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing