We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it used to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #39 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at Animal Kingdom lodge for 1 night on June 7. I had previously stayed here 2 prior times. Once for a week and last year for 2 days. This was our 3rd stay at the hotel and we have noticed a slight decline. It was missing some of the little things. We stayed in a bunk bed room and noticed writing on the bottom of the top bunk. The gift shop workers were not very helpful when I attempted to return an item that was purchased from one of the Disney parks that had been charged to our room. You can not use a luggage cart unless its attended by a bell hop. Then if you don't tip them after they load it and take it to the car or room you get a disgusted look. Really I just want a cart for my families luggage. We were celebrating our sons 8th birthday and the year before when we stayed for my daughters birthday we were given a small set of toy animals in the room and animal shaped chocolates. After check in I asked one of the check in workers about this I was told that they don't do that. Unfortunate because my son was excited about getting these little toys. Despite all that what makes this place special is the workers like Chris the online check-in lady that first helped us when we arrived. We had two rooms and requested that they be close. Chris worked to find us rooms that were close and had a good view of the animals. Chris also was quick to obtain a birthday pin for our son and anniversary pins for my wife and I as well as 2 roses. Chris also helped us purchase an item that we wanted from Hollywood studios as we were not going to be returning to Hollywood studios for the remainder of our trip. After we returned from a day at a park we returned to find it on the bed. Also the Boma breakfast buffet is awesome. Servers are friendly and food is delicious. If the hotel could work on a few of these little things our stay would have been incredible instead of ok.

Room Tip: Arusha or Sunset views we found to be the best to see the most amount of animals. Arusha is the bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,997 - 3,003 of 7,027 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed five nights at Kadani House in February. Many people have complained about the long hallways but it wasn't bad and you find shortcuts. We were in a one bedroom with a living room and full kitchen. This helped with breakfast and snacks. The best part was the view out the windows. Suddenly, there was a giraffe family eating from the trees. We saw many types of animals all throughout the day. Disney does a great job of hiding the wires and fences so it looks like the animals are right there. We had a Savanah view so not everyone will see the animals out their windows but there are several observation decks to sit on and enjoy. The pool is also great and not very crowded. My only complaint is that the lighting in the rooms was dark. There were not enough overhead lights and lamps. Small detail... Also, it was easy to catch the buses to the parks.

Room Tip: Ask for a Savanah room not at the end of the hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs._Shnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I went on this holiday for our honeymoon at Christmas and we was amazed as soon as we pulled up .
We was given a room upgrade and a very warm welcome from all members of staff.
The pool area was lovely and the rooms are lovely and clean. The staff made us feel really special and wanted to help as much as they could during our stay booking us taxis and organising things to make our trip perfect!
I really have nothing bad to say about this hotel and the people who have complained about it obviously have nothing else better to do as this hotel is by far worth every penny we paid and it gave us some amazing memories for us to cherish!

The buses to the parks where great we didn't have to wait long at all even if as we got the bus stop we just missed one there was soon a next one arriving.

The animals in the hotel where great to watch we sat up on the balcony in the large rocking chair and watched the giraffes feed it was a exsperiance that we will both never forget.
We are currently planning our next big trip to Disney land with a stay at this hotel! I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else! Perfect is the only word I can use to describe this hotel! amazing job at capturing the true magic of Disney !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nichola k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is an amazing hotel. We had a 2 bedroom rental with a living room and full kitchen. We ordered groceries ahead of time and they were delivered to our room. The location was great and watching the animals from our balconies was beautiful. It was pricey but worth it. We did not stay that much in the room though. I mean you are there to see the parks. Friendly and helpful staff. Only complaint is that it always took too long to get from the hotel to the parks because of the trolley system.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irenelizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just back from a four night stay at Jambo House. We had a room with a "pool view", 1 king bed and 1 bunk bed for the kids. The room felt a bit small with the oversized furnishings, but was comfy. The pool view was a joke as there was a jungle between us and the pool. Be careful with the toilet, there is little room between the door and the edge of the toilet when opening the door...also its very dark in the bathroom, so keep the shower curtain open. Also, double check the AC and fridge. Our AC was up high and our fridge was off when we arrived. The staff is helpful and there are some modestly priced food options. The animals are of course the feature and the convenience of parking at the parks for free as a resort guest was a perk.

Room Tip: I wouldnt bother with a room that overlooks the savannah, the animals arent too active in the day an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is our second stay within three months. We wanted to come back in the summer as the weather was a little chilly in the spring for swimming. It's the same beautiful hotel, same wonderful service and hospitality. However, all the animals have gone into hiding. The weather is 70's by early morning and 90's by day with lots of rain. I don't know if they went into hiding because of all the rain or the heat? The review right before mine said there were tons of animals. So I have no clue where they went. It's a little disappointing. The hotel is as nice as ever though so it's definitely still recommend. Also it's much more "buggy" than the spring. So the question becomes not if we should go to the hotel, but when? I would say the spring was better!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank touchedbynangl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here only one night (June 9th) as a treat to start off summer break. We only live an hour away. This was our 1st time. The resort is extremely beautiful and classy. We were upgraded to a club-level room because a queen/bunk bed room we reserved wasn't available. Which was a treat with complimentary mimosas for adults, beverages, snacks, coffee, cappuccino, wine, h'orderves, continental breakfast & great snack items for the kids. We were personally escorted from the front door by a gentleman and my husband checked in at a small desk while the kids and I enjoyed the treats. We really love the magic bands system Disney has. Its so convenient. The hotel was also able to link our annual park passes to our bands. The pool was nice, but they don't have a fun area with water play just for kids like other resorts have. We did enjoy ourselves though and the pool is not deep at all so I didn't have worry about our 10 year-old much. We had a Savannah view room which was amazing. The animals stay out all day. I sat on the balcony at 2am observing the zebras. It's really awesome. The bus situation was the only negative. The buses don't come often so when they do, its extremely overcrowded. Overall we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Daytonamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#13 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £260 - £526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing