We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immerse yourself in Disney's Animal Kingdom by staying at the Lodge!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #35 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Immerse yourself in Disney's Animal Kingdom by staying at the Lodge!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Wowza, this place is soooooo beautiful!!!
The lobby is breathtaking!
Pool is nice. Food is fantastic! Animals outside your room, make you feel like you are in Africa. Book a standard view room and ask for a Savannah view room. We asked and got it!! However, it is a risk you take for booking a standard room that you might not get it. The restaurants on this property are some of the best at Disney World. Enjoy! The only complaint I had was that the beautiful bar closed each night well before we got back to the hotel from the parks. No all not eatery open onsite like at the Polynesian. Make sure you do not arrive late to the hotel hungry or thirsty!

Room Tip: Book a standard room.....you will be assigned a room either facing the Savannah (at the very end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeanieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,154
    1,729
    598
    250
    126
See reviews for
4,307
1,195
53
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,826)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We chose the AKL over the other Disney resorts because of its uniqueness in comparison to the other options. There's a good chance I never travel to Africa or go on a real safari, and let's face it, When it comes to creating unforgettable atmosphere, Disney can't be topped. Arusha and Savannah views offer animal views. The areas are small enough that you'll pretty much see wildlife any time day or night. You'll have a balcony with a couple of chairs and can have a beverage or coffee while sitting 100 feet from a giraffe. Too cool.
The rooms have a small refrigerator and I recommend gardengrocer.com as a resource if you're staying either with small kids who will want snacks or staying for more than a few days. Shop online for milk, snacks, diapers, alcoholic beverages, etc. and they will deliver to the hotel on the day of your arrival. If you're not there yet, AKL will store your items, even cold items for you. A huge money saver and, if you're flying, space saver. The gift shop also sells toiletries and has a pretty decent selection of food- even a freezer section. We needed PB and J and some bread to feed kids and save some money at the parks and they had it there.
The hotel has a fantastic pool with a small water slide. The pool does not exceed five feet in depth and is great for adults and small kids. Because you can walk right into the pool, it's ideal for small kids and toddlers who want to wade in. You can bring floaties, etc but they also provide small life jackets. There are two hot tubs as well. There is a bar/ snack bar at the pool that is great as well!
The hotel lobby is beautiful and offers several interactive activities per day for kids. Kids learn about animals and the cultures of African nations from staff members who are from a variety of African nations, again adding to a truly unique experience. The hotel also offers night vision goggles for animal viewing, movies every night at the pool, has three restaurants ( a casual cafeteria style, a great family restaurant and a very upscale, expensive option).
As far as proximity to the parks, AL is the furthest from the Magic Kingdom. The buses run every 20 minutes or so and your ride to the park is about 20-25 minutes. If you plan to go back and forth to your hotel and parks several times per day, choose a closer option. If you plan to go back and forth once or twice, it's no big deal and you won't feel like you've wasted too much time traveling. Other parks are a shorter drive obviously. You can stay closer, but it won't be as magical. ;) enjoy!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank genabeana79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had spl;urged and stayed at this property a couple of years back for one night. This time we booked 4 nights in the Jambo House. The property was just as we remembered it and the lobby is breath taking. Our room was a 1 bedroom villa with a savannah view. There were several giraffes and other animals outside of our window each night when we came home from the parks.

The pool is great and very kid friendly. Our 4 year old enjoyed the waterslide and our 7 month old enjoyed the zero entry pool.

If you can afford this property it is a can't miss. Make sure you get the savannah view room.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with a savannah view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greggfi626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

As Disney Vacation Club members,we love all things disney. One of the best qualities of this property when compared to other DVC properties is the close proximity to the snack/gift shop. We were able to run down to get wine, cheese, pizza with almost no effort just like a regular hotel, but with all the comforts of being in a DVC villa.

We stayed in the cheaper side of the hotel, overlooking the parking lot, not the animals, but we still saw plenty of the animals from the lobby and guest lounge to satisfy us.

Our only complaint would be the location in proximity to the parks, but other wise nothing negative to say. Very spacious, clean and comfortable. Loved the hidden characters in the lace panels on the windows.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scary1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights starting June 7. While the actual hotel itself ( property) was nice and of course the views of the wildlife were superb everything else was from a so/so to not good at all.
The food in all three restaurants was bad, and I mean BAD, but don't complain ... just don't , trust me on this one. We went to the arcade one afternoon 6 of the 16 games took the money off of our card but were out of order , but don't say a word , just don't . We were missing a few necessities out of our $400.00 / night room such as glasses, coffee, washcloths , but don't even think of picking up that phone , just don't. Everything but the bar closes at 9pm, funny I didn't notice that . so watch your park time if you plan on coming back hoping to get a bite of less than sub par food , but don't ask where you should go or what you should do .
I could go on but I wont .. all I can say is if you stay at this resort you will love the structure and grounds but get ready to hear this statement " Go see the concierge " if you are in need of ANYTHING. Then be prepared to wait in yet another line to speak to a concierge.

Room Tip: High level floors and corner suites are the best for the wildlife views. Keep in mind that the hallw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monica2622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Let me get this off my chest first: on the third night of our five night stay we returned to find a HUGE (2 inch) roach in our bathtub. We have stayed in many Disney hotels and have never seen a single bug previously. The front desk was very apologetic and offered to move us to another room, which I declined in favor of an exterminator treatment. Every public building has bugs - it is a matter of how the staff deal with it and treat you that matters - and Disney was first class.

The hotel itself is beautiful inside and out. Despite the fact that I opted on this trip to only get a "standard" view room (aka parking lot) there were large windows in the hallways from which we could easily see the roaming animals (giraffes, zebras, etc). If you want to pay an additional $30 or so per night you can get a room with a balcony overlooking the savannah and see the animals from your own room. There are also multiple spots where you can wander outside and view the animals.

Our room was very nice and good sized. The housekeeping staff made sure we had all new shampoos and soaps each day even if we did not need them yet. Despite the fact that the hotel was practically full during our stay, it did not seem crowded at all and we heard virtually no noise.
The Disney transportation to the theme parks is very convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the savannah offer the best chance for viewing animals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at Animal Kingdom lodge for 1 night on June 7. I had previously stayed here 2 prior times. Once for a week and last year for 2 days. This was our 3rd stay at the hotel and we have noticed a slight decline. It was missing some of the little things. We stayed in a bunk bed room and noticed writing on the bottom of the top bunk. The gift shop workers were not very helpful when I attempted to return an item that was purchased from one of the Disney parks that had been charged to our room. You can not use a luggage cart unless its attended by a bell hop. Then if you don't tip them after they load it and take it to the car or room you get a disgusted look. Really I just want a cart for my families luggage. We were celebrating our sons 8th birthday and the year before when we stayed for my daughters birthday we were given a small set of toy animals in the room and animal shaped chocolates. After check in I asked one of the check in workers about this I was told that they don't do that. Unfortunate because my son was excited about getting these little toys. Despite all that what makes this place special is the workers like Chris the online check-in lady that first helped us when we arrived. We had two rooms and requested that they be close. Chris worked to find us rooms that were close and had a good view of the animals. Chris also was quick to obtain a birthday pin for our son and anniversary pins for my wife and I as well as 2 roses. Chris also helped us purchase an item that we wanted from Hollywood studios as we were not going to be returning to Hollywood studios for the remainder of our trip. After we returned from a day at a park we returned to find it on the bed. Also the Boma breakfast buffet is awesome. Servers are friendly and food is delicious. If the hotel could work on a few of these little things our stay would have been incredible instead of ok.

Room Tip: Arusha or Sunset views we found to be the best to see the most amount of animals. Arusha is the bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing