We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced days inn disney animal kingdom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #34 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Over priced days inn disney animal kingdom”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Are most of the reviews below from disney employees ? Seams like it most are local reviews. I have stayed at many high end hotels and this hotel is not one of them.
Stayed in a savanna view room. Seeing the animals was nice but no flowers and the lawn was mostly patchy dirt and grass. The fake beams all over the place that aren't even wood, just plaster wood looking beams. Very very cheap looking decor in the rooms. Not much looked authentic Africa . The room was horrible . By far the worst bathroom the toilet was right smack against the tub that a normal person couldn't even fit in. The tub toilet sinks and bathroom fixtures where the worst bottom of the barrel Home Depot looking stuff I have ever scene in a 500'a night hotel and the tile in the shower was cheap mud room looking tile that looked dirty. I felt like I was in a holiday inn like they used the same design team it was almost worst. And the converted tv cabinet to fit a flat screen tv was the worst it looked like street side furniture. The ceiling was a cheap textured ceiling I really felt like I was in a builder grade apartment. The pillows where foam and mattress hard. Seriously all of the decor wasn't worth the price we paid over 500 a night. No one should ever rate this hotel with even two stars.
The chairs on the balcony where of poor quality something off of a 1980s patio.
The fan in the room was also Home Depot crap. Nothing in the room or hotel ware worth a high end price tag. Come on people if you can afford this price tag then remember what you got for this price else where I guarantee it was of much much higher quality. The sinks open to the room and the placement of the toilet was so trailer park hotel. At the hotel you feel like a number obviously every kid in a America wants to go be a kid at disney and the parents have to stay at the park but I caution staying at these cheaply designed hotels not worth a dime, well if the stay was 125 a night yes maybe.
And the selection of food I mean come on its 2014, nothing is organic it's all chemical food crap disney is just adding in Americas obesity and cancer problems with every drink product a chemical induced coca cola product. The lowest quality food, warmed chemical cookies and candy in the lounge. The uniforms on the employees looked extremely frumpy obviously Walmart quality clothing. As long as the CEO Bob Iger makes 29 million like he did last year we will be ok.
No disney character was scene in the hotel the entire time. The only cool thing was the new bands that hold your info and the lobby ceiling height was cool also the authentic African artifacts. The hallways in the hotel are very narrow I must have walked past 4 house keeping carts on my way to the room if I didn't walk into them because of the 5 ft wide feeling hallways And why weren't the balcony railings glass or something easier to see through or of better quality. Seriously people stop rating this hotel anything more then 2 stars. The price is high way robbery. Now I know what to expect from the animal kingdom. Why not a Abercrombie and Kent high end feel, grass cloth walls high end furniture and art luxury amenities instead I stayed at the disney days inn animal kingdom.

Room Tip: Don't stay here save your money please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,152
    1,728
    598
    250
    126
See reviews for
4,305
1,195
53
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,825)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bay area sf
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the resort June 2014. The main lodge is very nice and is similar to a lodge we stayed at in Victoria Falls!

We had a family room with a savanna view on the fourth floor. The room was nice however the bathroom was very small. For the price of the room, the bathroom was not what I expected. Linens were also a bit frayed. We were also bothered by flies at the pool. I could not figure out if it was from the animals in close proximity or all the food at the pool. The flies were annoying.

We ate at the Mara, Boma and Jiko. Jiko was our favorite and had great flavors. We did not have a meal plan. All meals in the area are high priced so be prepared. We also went to the City Walk and enjoyed the many eating places there. My one pet peeve was the bus system. I agree with others, if I were to go again I would stay at one of the hotels on the monorail system.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQ98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very nice hotel with lovely pool we went in December and the Christmas theme was very nice, never got a chance to eat in restaurant as it was really busy and couldn't get a suitable time, only thing i would do different would be to get a lodge to have more space, staff great and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a lodge at savana
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DazzleNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

On our first trip to Disney we splurged to get a savannah view room with bunk beds and it was the best money that I spent on the trip. My favorite part of the trip was waking up in the morning to a view of giraffes, wilderbeasts, zebras, gazelles, ostriches and guinea fowl. The decor is suptuous and there are lots of activities for the kids. My daughter loved the pool and water slide. We had a unique meal at Boma and were impressed with the quick serve meals at Mara. My only negative comments is that the campfire and storytelling at 5:30 conflicted with most of our dinner reservations so we were not able to take in that experience. I strongly recommend a savannah view room that includes the giraffes!

Room Tip: We had the best room in the house - Room 2295 - it was the second to last room on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Animal Kingdom Lodge while visiting Disney World in June, 2014. The resort was always immaculate. Great pool to rest and relax, good quick service cafeteria for quick dining needs (we had the basic Disney Dining Plan, so used the cafeteria several times). We used one sit down meal for Boma, which is an African-themed buffet, and absolutely out of this world (everyone in our family agreed it was the best meal on our trip). Our room was nice: a queen size bed for Mom and Dad and bunk bed for 2 boys, which worked out perfectly. Refrigerator, which was nice (especially when we used Garden Grocer…have to put a plug in for that great service…check it out if you need supplemental food for the room).

Great views of some animal preserves…too many animals to mention. Great gift shop that should serve your out-of-the-park needs…lots of souvenirs and goodies for the room, if needed.

We absolutely loved Animal Kingdom Lodge. It is really hard to find a negative. There is only one, but it was a big one for us. Otherwise, it would have gotten a five star rating. To go to any of the Disney parks, you have to take a bus, which on the surface may not sound bad, but at times it can be. If you are going to the Magic Kingdom, plan on being at the bus stop an hour before the park opens. About a 20 minute ride to the park, but there will be a considerable line. And I suppose all of this really isn't Animal Kingdom's fault, but rather Disney's. When we go again, we probably wouldn't stay at Animal Kingdom, but rather at a resort on the monorail line. After fireworks at Epcot, for example, there is a mad rush for the buses, really taking away from the enjoyment. And staying at Jambo House, every time we returned back to the resort, we passed Jambo House to drop off visitors at Kidani Village…is this perhaps because Disney Vacation Club members generally stay there? Frustrating at times. And while I am not trying to take away anything from special needs guests…be ready for a wait if there is someone riding an electric scooter waiting to get on or off. My personal favorite was waiting 10 minutes for them to maneuver off, only to light up a cigarette once they were on there way…but I totally digress. I think the bus/shuttle service can be greatly improved upon. Get those Imagineers to work!

Back to Animal Kingdom…awesome resort. Clean, great food, great rooms, gift shop, atmosphere, friendly staff…we loved staying there. Definitely a top tier resort. Nicely done, Disney!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nowork2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Beautiful resort. Pristine room. Extremely courteous staff. Restaurants just a bit overpriced, but food was very good. First time we stayed at a deluxe resort. It was definitely better than the moderate ones. Much more quiet. We were notified by our airline that our return flight was rescheduled to 3 hours later than original. The concierge tried to get us on a later Magical Express bus, but they were filled. She went to the manager and came back with a taxi voucher. She told us to relax and enjoy the resort until we had to go "no need to spend the end of your vacation bored at the airport!" Very nice touch.

Room Tip: We took a room without the savannah view. Glad we did. You can walk anywhere within the hotel and vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ragdollmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at Kidani Village for 4 nights. Kidani Village is a Disney Vacation Club property. We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa, with 2 baths and a fully-equipped kitchen. We had a Savanna view and enjoyed watching the animals. The villa seemed to be a little smaller than other DVC villas, but it was sufficient for 4 adults. The resort had many activities throughout the day, along with a great pool and child's water play area. We also had access to all the activities at Jambo House, the main hotel building at the resort. Kidani Village is great for families that like more space than a traditional hotel room. Buses to all the Disney theme parks leave throughout the day.

Room Tip: Get a savanna view, its worth the extra cost. Upper floors have excellent views of the savanna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisfromDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#11 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing