We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #35 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Liked it, didn't love it. It was nice, but not nice enough to return. Especially for what you pay! The rooms are too small, & the set up with the bathroom (toilet right by the door) was absolutely ridiculous!! The AC never stopped running....ever!! The air blew right on our faces while sleeping. I woke up every day with a bad throat! I just expected more from Disney!

Room Tip: Ask for Savannah view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joannanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,006 - 3,012 of 7,067 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is by far the best hotel in Disneyworld. We stay on the savannah side and the children of the family we went with absolutely loved filling their paper in with the animals they saw everyday. A giraffe family "greeted" us everyday. The pool and restaurants and atmosphere are just awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueRobG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel on the start of a two week holiday in Florida, but only for 3 nights. On arrival the hotel was everything you could want for Disney. Swift check in, amazing lobby, very African themed from the decor to the staff in the restaurant singing and dancing their way around. The rooms were small which isn't a problem as you're not in Florida to spend time in there, the bathrooms were a little too small for us but on the upside I had giraffes outside my bedroom window. This was amazing. One major downside to the hotel was the restaurant, for the price of the stay I feel breakfast should have been included. There wasn't a massive range of food and the prices were high. I think you pay for the fact it is a Disney hotel and compared to other hotels in Orlando I really don't think it was worth the money. I'm glad to say that I have stayed in Walt Disney World but I wouldn't do it again. One positive however was the free buses to every Disney park, saves a lot on parking but then you spend the money anyway on food. Overall a great hotel but you could probably see more animals by visiting the Animal Kingdom Lodge where guy can go on a safari. That would be money better spent!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I visited for a late honeymoon which also coincided with my birthday in January. We were not disappointed at all. We were greeted at the front door and given special badges as well as magic bands upon check in. We had a savannah view room which was very spacious for just the 2 of us. The next morning, we were overjoyed to see giraffes and other animals outside of our balcony - we could have stayed there all day!! Our housekeeper Marie was very attentive, we left a note asking for some more shower gel and when we came back, there were loads more bottles waiting for us. We also had the bride and groom mouse ears which she arranged into a little display with a towel swan - these little touches made the holiday even more special. All of the staff were lovely and nothing was too much for them, the lady we met outside in the viewing area was very knowledgeable about the animals.

We had no trouble at all with the transport, the longest we waited for a bus to the parks was about 10 minutes.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and can't imagine staying anywhere else now!

Room Tip: It's worth paying that little bit extra to have a savannah view - we were certainly not disappoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlestephm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I have no complaints about the hotel except for the rooms . We payed close to 450 dollars and the rooms were bad . They were old and the bathroom was not upgraded
The rooms were small and difficult to navigate with an infant . Hopefully Disney will upgrade the rooms for a better experience

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank jaxdoc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

While we were not at room much, this resort was top notch. You can't beat waking up in the morning with the animals right below your balcony. Resort staff was very friendly and helpful throughout the resort. Ordered room service, received great food and super friendly service.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenjyCapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

It is like stepping into an African Safari! The sounds, smells (due to the nearby restaurants), and the outstanding African décor is out of this world. We were greeted by a very friendly door man who was from Africa, deep accent, and very helpful. I had put in a special request for a room near the lobby, so we could be close to everything, including the Buses to the Parks. We did get a Pool View Room also, which was amazing (Rm 3012). I loved the tropical jungle feel of the trees and views of the pool from our balcony. There are numerous locations throughout the Resort to view the Savannas so I felt like the extra expense was not worth a Savanna room. Don’t be afraid to wander around when you first arrive to find out all this lodge has to offer.
We did the online check-in which was very smooth. Magic Bands are used for room key, which is very convenient. We used the Disney Luggage Tags, which was beyond convenient because when we came back to our room later that evening our bags were waiting on us.
There are three Savannas you can view - Sunset, Arusha and Uzima. You can view the Sunset Savanna just past the Check-In counters on your left, right before the Concierge. There is a library with a balcony just off the back with rockers and an area for good viewing. The Arusha Savanna from the lobby is straight back and down the stairs. There is a fire pit, where they roast s’mores on some evenings. This is a great little area to walk around and get several different views. There are also experts back here to answer any questions, and to give you all kinds of information. You can also get great views of this Savanna from the two large circular staircase areas. These are set up with rockers and great viewing areas. The last one is the Uzima Savanna. This one is located through the pool area, which is located on the first level. You can take the elevators down, that are on the right of the Lobby. Go through the double doors and around the pool. It’s an out of the way Savanna but we spotted a lot of wildlife from here too. Don’t forget the Night Viewing that is available. The front desk can give you times and locations for this.
For dining we used The Mara, the quick service restaurant and in room dining. We didn’t use any of the other dining facilities, because we were mainly at the parks. The Mara is located to the left of the pool. If you are soda, tea, coffee drinker, purchase the refillable cup on your first day. You can refill it as many times as you like for the duration of your stay. It was roughly $ 17.00 but when you consider drinks on average is $2.50 each, it is well worth it. We loved the in-room dining, where we received very large portions and was worth every penny. The in-room dining service was amazing and I would definitely say over the top. A Hint – purchase pint bottles of water in the gift shop definitely cost effective.
We did take advantage of the pool and the arcade. The pool is very clean with lifeguards on duty while the pool is open. Towels are waiting! The arcade is fun with all the updated games. Just know if you have money left on your game cards you do not get a refund.
Just a couple notes - The rooms in this lodge are the size of a typical hotel room, which is still nice, but the bathrooms are tiny. The sinks are located in a separate alcove; however the separate room for the facilities is way too small. This might not be ideal with larger families. Also regarding the buses, give yourself plenty of extra time. It does take a good 20 minutes between buses because of this Resort being so far out. When leaving the parks to come back to the Resort, you will always make a stop at the Kidani Village first, which is past Jambo House. Late at night this is not fun. One night we stayed till Magic closed and waited for a bus for over 40 minutes, with a large line still in front of us to catch the bus, we decided to take a cab. Definitely worth the $20!
Overall this lodge is truly amazing! The service is exceptional and true to the Disney experience. If you have dreamt of doing an African Safari Expedition, this would be a cheaper smaller version.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TexanWhoLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#11 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £259 - £567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing