We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Stay at Animal Kingdom Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #35 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Stay at Animal Kingdom Lodge”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed at the Animal Kingdom Lodge for my recent honeymoon. This hotel is amazing! Disney has done it once again. The Animal Kingdom Lodge has two main hotels - Jambo House and Kidani Village. I stayed at Jambo House. As I said, it's an amazing hotel. Very picturesque. There's African art all over the hotel, the lobby is huge, but obviously the best part of the hotel is the roaming animals in the Savana. We had a Savana view room. If you or your kids love animals, spend the extra $$ and get a Savana view room. Nothing could be nicer than having a meal on the balcony and watching giraffes, zebras, and antelopes roaming around. It's like living at a zoo! Plus, from sundown to 9:30pm, you can go to an area behind the pool and watch the animal roam at night using some old-school military night vision goggles!! Definitely something you should do if you stay here. Now for the other parts of the hotel. First, food. Jambo House has 3 restaurants while Kidani Village only has 1. The Mara is a typical restaurant with that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. You can eat there or take the food poolside or to your room. The Mara is open until 11:30pm in case you get hungry late. I recommend the zebra and giraffe cupcakes. The other restaurant, BOMA, is a buffet-style restaurant. A waitress handles your drinks while you handle your plate(s) of food. The last restaurant is Jiko. This one is fancy. Complete with a dress code, reservations, and a hefty price tag. The food is unique because of the African style that it's cooked in. My wife and I were hesitant to eat here at first but we were glad we did. I recommend the filet mignon.
Second, the room. You've got a balcony to eat on with a table and two chairs. There's free WiFi (no password needed) with a pretty good connection. I don't know if you can stream Netflix on it though. Never had an opportunity. The beds, sheets, and pillows are amazing. You'll definitely get a good night's sleep on them. My wife and I wished we could take ours back home to NY.
Third, the staff is very helpful. Everyone really is friendly and goes the extra mile to make sure your stay is great and your needs are met. The Zawadi Marketplace in the lobby is great for buying souvenirs and food/snacks for your room. When you go to the Disney theme parks, take advantage of the souvenir delivery service. You won't have to lug bags of souvenirs around and they'll be delivered to the Zawadi marketplace the next day.
All in all, this is an amazing hotel. My wife and I will definitely be staying here from now on. As with all Disney resorts, you get the Magic Bands, the free shuttle buses to the theme parks, water parks, and Downtown Disney. Parking is free if you don't valet. Plus you can take advantage of the Extra Magic Hours.
My only gripe with Disney is that there's no late night food options offered by the resort. Some nights, the Magic Kingdom closes at 1am (Extra Magic Hours). By the time you get back to the hotel, you might have a case of the munchies. But The Mara closes at 11:30pm so your only potential options are Dominos or Pizza Hut but they can take an hour to get to you. If the Disney theme parks stay open late for Disney resort guests, then they should also have some late night food options too. But, despite that one gripe, this is one fantastic hotel for families or even couples to stay. I definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Soring for a Savana View room if you want to see the animals roam from your own room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JManTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,087
    1,700
    590
    245
    126
See reviews for
4,235
1,173
53
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,798)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

You are greeted with Disney's "Welcome Home" moto. And they do have a way of making it feel that way.
We had already been in a different Disney hotel a week before. Therefore we had the Magic Bands already set up. We had checked in online. So check in was so easy and took a matter of minutes.
We had a Sunset Savannah View room. This was a novelty, but in my opinion, not worth the money. Once you have seen the animals once, the novelty wears off. So in my opinion, take a standard room. Try and get near to the lobby. The hotel is massively spread out and be prepared for quite a bit of walking.
Great pool and also has access to Kidani Village pool which is brilliant if you have little ones with you.
Rooms are normal in size. A bit tight with 4 of us sharing, but we were happy enough.

We used the free bus service to and from the parks and found it all very easy.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is our 4th visit to Animal Kingdom Lodge, 3 previously at Jambo House and this visit to Kidani Village. Once again a fabulous family holiday, great rooms (disagree with a previous review that they were old!), very attentive and welcoming staff, excellent pool, and great selection in shops and restaurants (Mara and Sanaa).
It is worth paying extra for the Savannah view as the view from the balcony is fantastic- giraffes, zebra, wildebeast, akole cattle, ostriches.
On reflection we do prefer Jambo House but only because there is no Quick Service restaurant like Mara at Kidani Village.
The Disney Dining Plan is really good value for money but would suggest booking in advance, even before you arrive, to ensure the reservations you want. We would recommend Sanaa (Kidani Village), Wolfgang Pucks ( express and Grand Cafe), Ohara (for a character breakfast), Via Napoli and Tonys.
Having been to Orlando 5 times in the last 6 years, and stayed in International Drive as well as Animal Kingdom Lodge ANC the Baylake Tower, we would only recommend a Disney Hotel if spending a lot of time in the WDW parks.
We will be back next year but may try a 2 centre with Jambo House and Baylake Tower ( a Disney Vacation Club only hotel on Magic Kingdoms doorstep).
Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Definitely recommend a savannah review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The rooms are a little worn in but the resort makes up for it! The pool is great, the animals are so worth seeing and the artifacts in the lobby were so cool. The rooms don't have a microwave but they did have fridges. Make sure to ask for a special pin to wear on your shirt and check out the itinerary of daily activities and free transportation!

Room Tip: Choose a room where you can see the animals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank futuretraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Confession: I love Walt Disney World. Hard to explain why; maybe it's just the amazing professionalism and attention to detail that makes this fantasy world so appealing. And nowhere is this more in evidence than at Jambo House, Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge. From the warm, "welcome home" that greets you as you arrive, to the incredible, soaring lobby, to the authentic African art, to the savannahs with their protected animals, to the decorative touches in the halls and rooms. This is a fantasy waiting for your willing suspension of disbelief. Oh, and did I mention the amazing pool, the remarkable restaurants, and the many comfortable bars? Check out the many photos available on the web, read the glowing reviews, and then make a visit yourself. I have stayed at several resorts on property, but none compares with Jambo House. You may never want to leave.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for Savannah view. It's worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrumpetDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My family went to Disney for the first time ever..so we wanted to make it super special by staying in the Animal Kingdom Lodge. The lobby fabulous with the Africa themed design and this bridge that spanned from one side to the other. The check in attendants were super friendly and was eager to make our stay as magical my kids was hoping for. The room was so colorful and super clean. Then we stepped out on the balcony right into Africa. There were two giraffes standing in front of our window along with zebras and thomas gazelles. The pools are also amazing...almost like luke warm bath water with a cave style slide. I would stay here again and again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sweetbabyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Disney never does anything less than 200% when it comes to decorations to make a fantasy so real that it actually becomes real. Starting with African drummers greeting you are you walk in to the all wood lodge indoor finish and complete with African animals roaming around in the yard. The room we stayed at was absolutely outstanding with lots of room and beds so that up to 15 people could stay comfortably. The master bed room had a tv in the bathroom!!! The pool was the coolest part. There was a water play ground, big slide, little slide and a sweet hot tub. The only thing was the distance you had to walk from the room to the hotel (depending where you stay). We had to walk for about five minutes from the room to the lobby and bus stops. This vacation turn out to be a pretty memorable family bonding time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neoster626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#11 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing