We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our Animal Kingdom experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Ranked #36 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2009

My husband and I along with our grown children stayed at the Animal Kingdom Lodge for 5 nights in October. My husband had completed on-line check-in several days before we arrived but they were unable to locate it. It was disappointing, however, they honored our request to be in rooms next to each other and upgraded us to a pool view. We were on the third floor not too far off the lobby with a view of the hot tub and a partial savannah view. It was a great location, just steps from the pool and restaurants. We found the rooms to be very clean and the beds comfortable. We also enjoyed the somewhat remote and quiet location. However, without a car I imagine transportation to the parks could become tiresome. It was a bit of an ordeal the couple times we used Disney transportation. As a party of adults we enjoyed the somewhat more adult theme to this resort. We had breakfast at Boma and loved it, wished we had planned another meal there! All in all we had a great stay and are making plans to return!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suebee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,968)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,379 - 5,385 of 6,970 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2009

Whatever Disney does they never disappoint. Stayed in January 09. Had booked thru Travelocity for king sized bed but they gave us 2 queens with Savannah View instead. After speaking with front desk they changed us to king room with Savannah View on second night no problem no extra charge. Really nice room very impressed. The details in this resort are phenomenal. From the “Welcome Home” you hear when you get off the bus back to the resort to the wallpaper in the bathroom it is all themed perfectly. The lobby is a sight with fire pits and beautiful furniture. It is a little far from MGK and buses are the only way back so add about 10 min extra time to travel everywhere. That is only negative I can think of. But you trade off the extra time on the bus for a more peaceful high quality hotel. If time is an issue rent a car or pick another hotel. Buses always came we had no issues.



Went with my boyfriend for 5 days. We have no children so this hotel was a good choice because it has a more secluded and romantic feel to it than other Disney Hotels. It was pretty quiet prob out of respect for animals and adults. There were children but not an overabundance of them here. And there were plenty of activities for them to do at the hotel. The bar was a nice place to have a drink with a dark atmosphere. There were 2 sit down restaurants and a fast food spot. The African buffet @ BOMA smelt amazing and ppl rave about it however we could not get a reservation for any of the nights. I should have known better and booked wayyy in advance. Even though it was January this place was full to the max. We ordered the Tastes of Africa from room service and it was delicious. Really missed out on the Boma Buffet so book that like 2 months before your trip or ridiculously ahead of time. Cannot say enough good things about this property; it was tranquil escape after hectic days in the park, the rooms were comfy, the view of savannah from balcony was so awesome (see a GIRAFFE when I wake up!!!! Surely), that in itself made the trip. We really should have stayed an extra day just to enjoy the hotel. There were hot tubs and lots of outdoor views of the savannah. We did do the night vision were they let you use night vision goggles to see the animals. Def do that!



Highly recommend the Mickey Express and let them take your luggage too. We had no problems with that they delivered our bags to our room. That is one less thing to worry about. January weather is fine time to go to Orlando. You are not melting from the sun but it is warm enough. Do not know much about the AK villas they were not finished building it when we were there but am sure they are even nicer than AKL if that is possible. GREAT PLACE !!!



TIPS:

-Book reservation @ BOMA wayyy in advance

-Make time for enjoying the hotel

-Have pineapple dole whip (soft serve ice cream) in Adventure Land best ice cream you will ever have

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Stayed at this resort for 2 nights At the end of August supposed to be 7 nights. The lobby was really unique and beautiful with the window facing the Savannah. Ate a both restaurants as we were on deluxe dinning plan, both were excellent Boma was amazing. Had a room that was lobby level and a long walk to get there, although it was close to the pool and quick service dinning. We paid for a Savannah view and got an excellent spot. Found out that looking at the animals for a bit got boring.

Things that made us move to Polynesian. The room was small not just small for the price but small. Our room was infested in ants and when we complained at first they made us feel like we were lying. Some one was sent up to change our sheets and bedding. Then the phone rang at 1:00 AM saying that pest control was there and wanted to send them up.
All I could say was no thanks, you got to be kidding 1:00AM. The next morning I called and asked if we could change resorts and Disney came through and moved us to the Polynesian no extra charge.

All in all ok place just not for us even with out the ants. Not sure if I would recommend paying for Savannah view as there are lots of look out points. Location to everything other than Animal Kingdom not great lots of travel. We had a car so it was not to bad could not imagine taking the bus.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linnytoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

I stayed at the Animal Kingdom lodge with my boyfriend, his sister and my mum last month and absolutely loved it! Upon arrival all the staff are very helpful, they came over to greet us and helped with all of our bags. The reception area, although quite dark, is really fantastic. The restaurants are all quite close to each other - we never actually ate in Jiko's but we did dine in Boma (which I did actually prefer for breakfast than dinner) and Mara which is the quick counter service restaurant. Boma is very nice for dinner if you are quite adventurous as most of the food has a sort of African flare to it (although there are things like chips, chicken nuggets, pasta etc for kids or adults unwilling to try). Unfortunately my mum stuggled to find something she would enjoy, but the staff really did go out there way to assist her, they even offered to make a pizza for her.
The pool area is very nice, with flamingos around the bottom area (which are quite smelly when you get close up but they look nice!). The hot tub is extremley hot! I don't think I've ever experienced one like it. Great to relax in after a long day walking round the parks.
Rooms are very comfortable and spacious, nice bathroom with two sinks which is always nice. The first room we had unfortunately over-looked the bus stop, but we did ask if we could move to another room and they very kindly moved us to a savannah view room! Really beautiful surroundings, you can't fault them at all.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alliballib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

I would stay on the 3rd floor for best view of the park. Rooms too small but all in all, a great hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiannaKeyLargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

See few attached photos. Yes animals are right below your balcony. The hotel & room has dark rich colors. This is not a character place. It is a dark, rich colored Savana location. The lobby is grand, smells like the open hearth fire where the restaurant cook. That is a good smell. Great receptionist. Great magical express to and from airport/resort. You even check in the airport, get tickets at the Lodge. Good fast service food. Extremely easy use of dining cards at every park & food kiosk. Going back to Disney but want something different this time due to the price. One stays in parks all day so up to you to spend lots on lodging. It is a place to sleep. Recommended to stay there one time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank usaf29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

My husband, 3 years old son and I loved our 10 day stay here. We stayed in a double room, there was plently of closet space for our 3 large suitcases and all our clothes etc, it was clean and their was a handy fridge and a coffe maker - nice i guess if you drink coffee. We had a room that looked out onto the savanna, although we had only booked for a standard room, i do not think it is worth paying too much extra for a savannah view as their are plenty of opportunities to view the animals from around the hotel, plus we only spent a small amount of our awake time in our room. The pool was good, with a large area around it with plenty of sun loungers. There were also fun activities on for children,and some cultural insights which helped to make the whole feel of the AKL more authentic. The shop had a good selection of merchandise and groceries. The hotel lacks in two areas for me, the distance it is from all the other parks - we just seemed to be waiting ages for buses to take us to where we wanted to go, and then the same going back to the lodge. The second let down was the quick counte service restaurant. The food was pretty poor even for quick counter standards and the cleanliness was non existent. We enjoyed Boma and ate there a few times, but it was packed and would have had no chance of getting in without our ADRs. So the eating options were limited as we were far away from other options. However staying at the AKL is a unique experience which is the main pull factor, and they do create a sence of being on (a santised) Safari. I have stayd at many deluxe hotels around the world and would stay here again as it ticks all the basic requirements- room size, service etc, but its uniqueness gives it a magical quality that money can buy.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bull48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge

Address: 2901 Osceola Parkway, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8410
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#12 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#17 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £258 - £503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 972
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the heart of Africa at this magnificent Resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design provides spectacular views of 4 lush savannas that over 200 hoofed animals and birds call home. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and one of the largest collections of African art in the United States as you experience your own African safari adventure with a touch of Disney magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Animal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Florida
Disneys Animal Kingdom Lodge
Disney Animal Kingdom Resort
Disney Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Lodge Disney
Animal Kingdom Lodge Orlando
Animal Kingdom Hotel Disney
Disneys Animal Kingdom Hotel
Animal Kingdom Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing