We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was great!”

Adventures in Florida
Book In Advance
More Info
US$85.60*
and up
Econlockhatchee River Kayak Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Adventures in Florida is known for its amazing kayak and canoe tours down scenic rivers, crystal clear springs, and their Full Moon paddles. Visitors have excellent opportunities to view and photograph alligators, manatee, dolphin, and countless wading birds in their natural wild areas.For the more adventurous, Adventures in Florida offers week long paddling expeditions to the Everglades, Florida Keys, Okefenokee Swamp, Suwannee River, Exuma Islands and many international locations.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“It was great!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Really fun. It was my second time kayaking and they definitely taught me some new techniques. The instructors were very helpful and friendly. :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MNIPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    9
    3
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Teen Kayaking 101 Class : Ages 11-16”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Greg, Dave, and Jacob handled our large group with ease. They were so patient and helpful with some of our brand new teen kayakers. They went over all of the basics: entering and exiting the kayak, steering, paddling, stopping, and most important, safety. I think their favorite part was rolling out of their kayaks, to practice climbing in from deep water. You now have 18 very excited teens and all of their parents, looking forward to many more adventures with you.

Thank You,
Kim

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim32750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome for my teen!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Greg is a patient and funny leader who provided us with a great kayak experience in Winter Park. Definitely will book again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Pounddog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“First time kayaking”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

My teen daughter and a bunch of her friends took her first kayaking lesson with these guys at the Dinky Dock in Winter Park, FL. They spent about 30 minutes teaching them how to use the paddle, how to move properly so they don't flip, etc. They continued the lesson in the water, and then went for a short paddle along one of the canals. Everyone had a great time and learned a lot.

Helpful?
3 Thank kitdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Panhandle Paradise - Adventures in Florida”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I recently spent a week with Greg Pflug and Adventures in Florida paddling rivers in the Pensacola area. The trip was one of Adventures in Florida's lodge trips which included airport pick up, accommodations, kayaks, professional guide and meals.

The accommodations were great. We stayed at Adventures Unlimited which has a mix of camping and cabins. The cabins and campground was very spread out and had trails for walking and a couple of beaches. Greg had the group set up in an old school house made in to very nice rooms. I had a screened in porch with a rocking chair and and a bench swing. The room was very spacious with a microwave, coffemaker and refrig, not that I needed any of those as Greg cooked all the meals which were fantastic.

The pace was great, we had time each morning for coffee, breakfast, and a short walk down to the river. Each day we did a different paddle, sometimes an all day paddle or a couple of half day paddles.

The area had some bad weather the week before and the rivers were high, but Greg worked the schedule so we paddled the rivers based on how safe they were. By the end of the week we were able to paddle all the rivers we planned on. On the day long paddles, we had lunch on the river beaches which Greg provided along with chocolate for dessert. During the paddles we looked at wildlife along the way and stopped to swim at the beaches. The paddles in the area were interesting as they winded along through cedar and pine with sandy banks and some cliffs.

We also spent an afternoon at a Gulf Beach and body surfed the waves or just relaxed. On the last day, we did a zip line on the property which was a hoot.

I have been on many Adventures in Florida vacations over the years and they are always great fun. We always do a lot of paddles, but also get to experience some local culture, history and whatever else the area has to offer. There is also plenty of time for just chilling and relaxing. Greg's 'camp' cooking needs to be experienced, as words can't describe the meals we get on his trips. Being a professional guide, Greg is a wealth of knowledge of the flora, and fauna and Florida history.

I highly recommend Adventures and Florida trips. I have already booked my next one!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JanxK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adventures in Florida also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Adventures in Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing