We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exciting but didnt care for ride operators” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wizarding World of Harry Potter

The Wizarding World of Harry Potter
Book In Advance
More Info
US$213.99*
and up
Universal Orlando 2-Park Ticket
Ranked #1 of 419 things to do in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: There are many ways to enjoy your Orlando vacation, but there is only one place where vacation becomes adventure: Universal Orlando Resort. It is a unique destination featuring two theme parks, Universal Studios Florida and Universal's Islands of Adventure, three magnificently themed on-site hotels and a nighttime entertainment complex. It's the only Orlando destination where you are not just entertained - you become part of the most exhilarating entertainment ever created. You can soar above Hogwarts with Harry Potter, swing above the streets with Spider-Man, battle aliens alongside Agent J, and help Shrek save Princess Fiona in Shrek 4-D. Now open: the new, heart-warming and hilarious Despicable Me Minion Mayhem ride. And coming soon: Transformers The Ride-3D. Universal Orlando Resort is part of NBCUniversal, a Comcast company.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“exciting but didnt care for ride operators”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Loved the rides..dislike that I waited for over an hour in line with my family and they had my husband switch with a strange man and he sat by me..who wants a picture with some other man next to his wife and child?? waited again the next day and no problems

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Corrina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29,760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24,581
    3,752
    966
    285
    176
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“You don't have to ride to have a great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

My sister and I visited on a hot late April day. The first thing I will say is that this is excessively expensive. It should cost half of what it does. The new part of Harry potter is being built in the other side of the park, so to see both parts a ticket for both sides of the park will be needed- pretty shady!
Other than the cost, we thought it was great! The buildings look amazing, they got the snow on the roofs right.
We don't ride rides. We just don't like to, so we weren't sure if we would have very much fun, but we did. All that you have to do to see things without riding is walk up to the attendant at the beginning of the ride and ask if you can see things without riding, at the castle, it's called a castle tour. So, we saw all of the things inside the castle like dumbledore's office, moving paintings and a classroom at our own pace.

Helpful?
2 Thank Annr95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
204 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Hogsmeade and the Harry Potter ride, Ollivanders experience and frog chorus- fabulous!!!!

We rushed in so we could do the ride early but actually if there is a queue of 30 mins you will actually pay more attention inside Hogwarts! Walking round Hogsmeade and the experience in Ollivanders and the Harry Potter ride- was just magical and just like being in the film.
Goodness knows how much they spent on the area but it was worth every penny. The new Hogwarts Epress and Diagon Alley seem to be taking shape so I guess will open real soon!

Pros:
The Harry Potter ride has got to be the best ride ever
Ollivanders experience was magical (my son is only 7 so disappointed not to be chosen!)
The 3 Broomsticks for a proper English breakfast (though the amount of black pudding was minimal for us Brits!)
Walking round the shops was fun
Tasting the Butter beers (normal and slush- we much preferred the latter)
Frog Chorus was fun
Fruit cart- grapes were delicious, as were the (over priced) dried apple slices

Cons:
Busy area most of the day - will probably be better once new area opens
The price of the sweets/chocs in Honeydukes......
Flight of the hippogriff is over too quickly- be better if it went round twice

I cannot comment on the challenge coaster as none of us did that.

Tip:
Enjoy walking around Hogwarts whilst queuing for the ride. It is truly magical inside
If the ride stops - they inform you immediately and you get the chance to ride again (this happened on our 4th ride)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mc2010uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Harry Potter ride, the candy store and the roller coaster. The shows they put on every 30 minutes outside were very good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Leota C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The level of detail that has been applied in the creation of Harry Potter World is staggering! The castle is incredible and the Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey ride is the most jaw-dropping, brilliantly-designed ride I've ever been on.

The queues were no more than 40 minutes for the Forbidden Journey (and I think we went on three, if not four times over a number of visits). Dragon Challenge (previously Duelling Dragons) had a wait time of only 5 minutes (again, we went on the rollercoasters several times and never had to wait).

Honeydukes store was brilliant - an array of candy, all true to the books. The Butterbeer was pretty revolting, but if you have a super-sweet tooth you might enjoy it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Becket82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wizarding World of Harry Potter also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing