We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice value resort on Disney Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Pop Century Resort
Ranked #143 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Cruz Bay, St. John
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice value resort on Disney Property”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Loved the theming at Pop Century. The lobby was amazing with all of the memorabilia to view. The rooms are basic Disney value rooms done up with great theming. Clean, great pool, great theming, good staff.

Room Tip: We chose the 50's building which was super close to the lobby, food court and busses
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trunkbaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,619
    4,300
    1,630
    456
    222
See reviews for
6,569
1,570
169
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,982)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I was very apprehensive when I read some of the reviews for this hotel after I had booked it.

But to my great surprise it was a wonderful vacation.

Great room, great food court, gift shop, and and especially people working there.

They were so nice and always there to help.

I thoroughtly recommend this hotel and will be going back there the next time I visit Disney World

As I was on a budget this was something I could greatly afford.

My only minimal complaint was the bus service to the parks. The service to and from the airport was great and prompt. Really appreciated having that.

Room Tip: I never had a problem with noise. I had a room facing the parking lot. When I arrived I reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda55443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The rooms are just ok. Housekeeping does do a good job keeping the rooms clean and the towels exchanged. The staff at the front desk is civil and minimally polite but NOT at all friendly. Not exactly what you expect when checking into a Disney resort. I have stayed at other Disney properties and have found the staff to be very friendly -- this is not the case at Pop Century. The rooms are very basic and very dark. I suppose Disney is trying to be energy efficient but the rooms have very little lighting and what is there is quite dim. You can not adjust the temperature of the room below 72 degrees. It allows you to push the button to 65 but it will never go below 72 degrees. We confirmed this with the Engineering Department. They informed us the air conditioning is very poor-- and they were correct. The food available in the food court is actually quite good. The lines however are long. The stench of dead mice coming from the area around the ice machine for several days in a row was gross. While I realize there will be rodents, it would be nice if they would remove the decaying bodies promptly. The pool is well staffed with lifeguards and cast members providing activities for children (one of the few positives).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillie21617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband and I drove to Orlando to meet our son who was there for a convention. We stayed at the Pop Century on property at Disney - son was at the pricy Swan. Overall, the Pop Century was a good value. Small room, tiny bathroom, but big enough for us. Nice soap and shampoo. Towels were on the thin, small size. We asked for a room near the parking lot - if you're using the buses, you should definitely ask for rooms near there - it's a large complex, as all the "value" resorts are. Be warned, though - king beds are only in the ADA rooms - otherwise, 2 doubles is what you get. It did have a refrigerator - great for parents with kids. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Food court was...terrible is probably too strong, but not good. Food was lukewarm, staff didn't seem to know what was going on - no idea about the food, busy talking among themselves - maybe they were all new for the holiday rush. Whatever, not up to Disney standards AT ALL. Good trip though - eat somewhere else!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misselaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Just returned from a stay at Pop Century and thought it was just ok. The room & buildings need some serious maintenance. There was a gap along the door enough to let in a breeze & bugs. Alot of chipped paint, worn displays, etc. The food was just average in the food court. There were only 2 plain sandwiches for a grab & go. Transportation was the worst. This resort has the farthest bus stop at all of the theme parks. 35 minutes for a bus to EPCOT? Check-in took quite some time and check out was just as long. There were 3 (supervisors I would guess) people standing there with clipboards, but not helping any guests. When you are that busy and the lines are really long, they need to step in and help, not just stand there and wait to watch a cast member. Then it was the invasion of the Pop Warner kids. Kids running around the pools, not listening to the life guards, screaming at each other, and either a few adults drinking beer and chatting with each other or no adults in site. One would stand in line at the bus stop and another 20 would show up and cut everyone to get on the bus with their friend. The Magic Band did not work on the room 1/2 the time. Compared to the All Stars, this resort is a disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WDWFan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

To save some $$$$, we stayed at Pop Century. Complex is very large and be prepared to walk a lot. Rooms are a bit tight, but you won't be spending a lot of time in the room. Food is mediocre and service leaves a lot to be desired. Staff is probably overwhelmed as this place is jumping with people. Parking is a bit of a hike. Having said all this, if I were to go back to Disney (which I probably won't) I'd stay there again. We had the meal plan and we should have probably eaten more often at other Disney venues. Front desk gave us upgraded room at no extra charge. Area facing the lake.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BILLB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was my first time staying at Pop Century. The room was a good size for two people, but I imagine a family of four would be tight. Room was also very clean as was the outside of the hotel, lobby and all other areas. The staff was wonderful and what you exactly what you expect from Disney. The cafe on site was great with wonderful food. I also enjoyed the ice cream bar. The pool was clean and very refreshing after a long day at park. We traveled in December, but it was still 89 degrees outside. The only disadvantage of the hotel is that it is a large hotel, so it was a long walk to the cafeteria, the bus and the lobby. Not an issue in the am, but after a long day of walking at Disney, it was a pain. But that is just my personal experience. If you stay in the 50's or 60's part of the hotel, the walk wouldn't be that bad.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Orlando – Disney Springs Area
2.1 mi away
Disney's All-Star Movies Resort
0.3 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Disney's All-Star Music Resort
2.0 mi away
Disney's All-Star Sports Resort
0.9 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Pop Century Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Pop Century Resort

Property: Disney's Pop Century Resort
Address: 1050 Century Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8433
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#106 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#108 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Disney's Pop Century Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2880
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the unforgettable fads of the 1950s through the 1990s all over again. From yo-yos and Play-Doh(R) to Rubik's Cube(R) and rollerblades, this Resort hotel salutes the timeless fashions, catch phrases, toys and dances that captivated the world through the decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Pop Century Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Pop Century Resort
Disney Pop Century Hotel
Pop Century Disney
Disneys Pop Century Resort
Disneys Pop Century Hotel
Century Pop
Disney's Pop Century Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing