We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Disney's Pop Century Resort
Ranked #136 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed in february 2014 and enjoyed it much more than the all star resorts. Lots of people complain about the size of the resort which leads to more traveling, but this didn't bother us at all ( wasn't really that much walking). We stayed in the 50s building and our room was clean. We would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank kayteemcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,538)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Pop Century Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,135 - 3,141 of 10,538 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at Pop Century resort twice now in the last few years, here are my thoughts:

This resort has kid charm written all over it, HUGE Disney statues and fun pools and a good court and gift shop to boot.

As far as rooms go, they are very basic and nothing really special stands out. Every visit they have always been very clean. If you are looking for a fun theme place to stay then the value resorts are your best bet. If you are looking for super comfy beds and full ammenities then a deluxe resort may be your best bet.

It is definetely worth the extra money to book a preffered room here, we didn't last time and the walk took us about 5 minutes to the lobby. It was fun passing by all of the colorful Disney statues but kind of a pain if you need something fast. Overall, the value resorts are the way to go if you are tight on money and want the benefits of staying on a Disney resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mpalmer6609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Best hotel for buses. Least crowded and quick to destinations. I go to Disney frequently and must say buses can make or break a trip as its no fun waiting or being stuck on an over crowded bus.

The grounds are nice and even nicer that animation is finished as you can take a scenic walk around the well landscaped lake and over the bridge.

Yes the rooms are basic but they are still Disney. I love this hotel and cant wait to go back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank bigtime b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This was our second time to stay at the POP. For the second time we enjoyed it. The Disney transportation was good, the food court at the POP is extensive, fairly priced and decent food. The rooms are small but they are alright. The main pool was wonderful. There is a mini-fridge in every room which is cool, plus a hair dryer and an ironing board. The housekeeping was impressive. Don't expect greatness and you will be fine. We and three sleep comfortably in our room and four in our fiends room. There was plenty of space for the little time we spent there. We also had an adjourning room. POP centuries charm is it's décor, it is well themed for families. Don't expect to watch much television, not good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank drjlj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I had the best travel agent who helped me from a-z on this trip and she was amazing and so was the hotel ... Staff was great and helpful and friendly .. Clean. Convenience for food and fun all in one .. Store staff was super helpful and I would recommend friends and family to stay pricing was good .. Rooms were clean

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Daralaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Excellent accommodation for the budget.

Rooms - could do with a bit more space when occupied by 4 guests but it is bare able. Very clean and beds were comfortable. Beds are a little small for two to share.
Mouse keeping was excellent, they made the room up every day and made sure we had all the accessories. We did ask for extra on occasions and they were very prompt with service.
Fridge in the room to keep things cool, iron and an ironing board, large TV with good selection of channels for the kids but we didn't get much time in room to try everything.

Food - good selection, just bearable for some time or a short stay. Yes it is expensive compared to some places but reasonable compared to some other places ie vegetable pizza at Pizza Hut is about 15 pounds there it was roughly the same price so can't grumble.
We were not on a meal plan decided to see if it would work out better for us and it did. We had breakfast and then a late lunch with snack in the evening and we were OK.

Transport - Disney magic express was excellent and prompt from the airport. This is provided within the price when you stay at any of the Disney hotels.
Buses from the hotel to the park were also good, we did not wait long for the bus either at the hotel or at the theme park. Each theme park was about 20 mins on average from the hotel.

Tips - rooms close to the food court is an advantage.
Coming back during the mid day heat and relaxing at the pool side is good for those who can't bare the heat.
Iced water is available at the theme parks from any of the food outlets for free.
Water fountains around the parks to fill your bottles.
Eat after 2 and you will get quick service as well as the place to yourself.
If you have been on a favorite ride and liked it when you come off check the wait time, if it is only 10 to 20 minutes ( either side of your fast passes ) then go again before it gets busy, we did this on a couple of the rides and it was brilliant. My little one went on the expedition Mount Everest 3 times in the short space of time WOW.

When it gets busy and you are waiting for the next fast pass ask the cast staff to see where the closest show is, that way your not hanging around and the kids are entertained before the next ride.
Book the fast passes for early morning and as soon as you have used them book the next one and at the same time ask staff what you can do while you are waiting they will be happy to help and are excellent.
The staff were excellent and very courteous with the odd one a little grumpy, in a large organisation it is acceptable with the number of visitors at Disney.

Shopping - Theme parks and Downtown are expensive so we decided to try Premium Outlets as suggested on TripAdvisor. There were plenty of shops and the branded products did work out cheaper compared to home.
My advise is if you buy what you need rather than buy for the sake of it then it is worth it. So don't if you are not going to use it or you don't need it.

Again on a budget we caught the free bus from hotel to Downtown and then caught Taxi to the shopping outlet, it was much closer and cheaper.

We did go to the Wallmart on Vineland Road to see if we could pick up Disney merchandise bargains but not much other than key rings or fridge magnets.
There is a difference in the quality of products to the ones you can buy at Disney store, it is all down to personal preference and the budget.

Last but not least we did a DIY compared to the packages and reckoned we saved some money. I think shopping around and comparing is important as you may pick up bargains especially when traveling off peak.

Have a magical evening as they would say at Disney.

Room Tip: Close to the food court and transport for ease of access and saving time.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Wanderer415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We visit Walt Disney World often. This time we went for a Saturday afternoon through Sunday evening. We stayed at Pop Century because we’ve had such good experiences there. As usual, the room was clean, nice, and more than adequate for us. We tried a “preferred room” this time, in the 1960s section. Given the Florida summer heat, we really appreciated being close to the food court and transportation. We didn’t buy a dining plan this time, but did get breakfast and a few snacks at the food court. In my experience, Pop Century food is consistently better than at other value and moderate resorts. We love the pop culture theme and ambiance of Pop Century. One of the fun things about this resort is how everything seems to stimulate memories and conversations about the past. Even after trying other WDW value and moderate resorts, we feel that nothing beats Pop Century. We’ve stayed there several times, sometimes for several days, and never had a bad experience. Because the cast members there are so good, on the rare occasion when one is just average or a little above average, it seems worse because of what we’ve come to expect.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a preferred room, on an upper floor, and facing the lake if possible.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Mybigfatgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
2.1 mi away
Disney's All-Star Movies Resort
0.3 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
2.0 mi away
Disney's All-Star Music Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Disney's All-Star Sports Resort
1.2 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Pop Century Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Pop Century Resort

Address: 1050 Century Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8433
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#106 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#108 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £87 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Disney's Pop Century Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 2880
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the unforgettable fads of the 1950s through the 1990s all over again. From yo-yos and Play-Doh(R) to Rubik's Cube(R) and rollerblades, this Resort hotel salutes the timeless fashions, catch phrases, toys and dances that captivated the world through the decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Pop Century Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Pop Century Resort
Disney Pop Century Hotel
Pop Century Disney
Disneys Pop Century Resort
Disneys Pop Century Hotel
Century Pop
Disney's Pop Century Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing