We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property, Lousy service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Orlando - Disney Springs Area
Ranked #108 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Bexley, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Property, Lousy service”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel was very convenient and was a nice property, however, it does not seem well managed. We arrived after 6:00 to check in, but our room was not ready. We decided to go to the store to get some supplies for the week, with the front desk telling us they would call when our room was ready in about 20 minutes. An hour later, no call, but when we asked if the room was ready, we were told it was. That was the biggest complaint, however there were some other annoyances- we had to call and ask for something everyday that the cleaning staff forgot to replenish something- soap, coffee, wash cloths...something, every day. Not a big deal, but annoying. Additionally, there was a pile of crumbs in the hallway outside our door that was never cleaned in a weeks time and the service at the buffet breakfast, outside of two servers was atrocious. All of that said, it was a Disney trip and very little time was spent in the hotel. The staff was kind and courteous, with one exception, and the price was very good for a nice property so conveniently located. We would probably stay again, but the service was far below what I generally expect from the Doubletree.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mwolf50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    513
    192
    93
    43
See reviews for
1,078
222
24
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Other than the staff bring friendly I have nothing good to say about this hotel. Checked to what was suppose to be a pool view room and when we got in the room open the curtains to a giant rubber tree plant blocking the entire window which was not overlooking the pool. Called the front desk and they forgot to tell us that there was a flood in our room and it was unavailable. They moved us to another room on the other side of the building that wasn't so dark.

The hotel was supposedly remodeled, more like a band aid was place over the old furniture, chipped cabinets. Toilet must have been original to the hotel...

Bus was full when it got to the hotel in the am so you got to stand and hold on for dear life going to the parks. Coffee in the lobby down stairs $3.00 more, Most hotels offer for free..

Downtown Disney was close also a plus for this hotel, other than that not worth the money. with all the added fees we ended up paying 184.00 per night and for that we could have done better....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lolalucente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-Parkinson, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Orlando - Disney Springs Area, responded to this review, 23 December 2014
We truly appreciate your honest feedback about your recent stay with us. Your input lets us know we have some improvements to make and we're sharing every detail with our staff. We hope that we can invite you back to some of our changes and we welcome any additional comments or suggestions that will help make us your number one hotel choice in Orlando

John L. Parkinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My kids and I stayed here for 3 nights . The room was nice and the staff was excellent. Pool was small. The room smelled of mold or mildew...I believe it came from the old air conditioning system they had. Since we spent 90% of our time out of the room we decided to stay all 3 days. I would not recommend staying there unless you get a non smelly room.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank unxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I brought our two children (boy 9 and girl 2) to this hotel for their first DisneyWorld trip. We stayed July 14-19 2014.

Pros: front desk staff was very friendly, cookies at check in were delicious, and they gave my 2 children Disney stickers. Bed was comfortable and cleaning staff left daily card with cute Disney quote on the pillow. Pool was nice, but you do have to cross the lobby to get back to elevators since door locks with no key card entry. The staff didn't charge us for checking out 10 minutes late. There is a small Disney shop inside and the shirts were cheaper than in the parks. Also, the bus drivers were very nice.

Cons: other than dialing the phone none of the buttons worked so we had to call the front desk for messages. The room had no DVD player and the TV was locked so you couldn't hook up your own (TIP: if you unplug the phone cable from the TV you can hook up a DVD player) TV system is crummy. You must scan through options of buying shows and movies just to get to live TV. Unless you pay the bellhops you cannot use a cart to carry luggage in and the only place to park near elevators is where the buses park. We had to carry our luggage up 3 flights of stairs to our room. We had to pay $80 for parking 5 days, but the parking lot is not secure (pole was up the entire time we were there) Wifi is $10 per day in room, but the website stated free wifi. There were several loose tiles around the pool and the kids water spray area was out of service. The shower didn't work correctly. If you turned knob to cut shower on it cut it back off (had to turn partway to keep it on) and the shower dripped for several hours after use. Kids check-in was closed the entire time we were there. Buses stop at 3 hotels before this one so several times the buses were full and we had to wait for another bus...one time we were on the bus 45 minutes before it left for the parks. Also, the ice machine was leaking causing my husband to slip. After that a towel was on the floor in front of it. The cleaning staff was very good and we were going to leave a very nice note and a good tip, but while looking around to make sure we got everything I found a breadstick under the bed...we didn't eat any breadsticks.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MAWMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-Parkinson, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Orlando - Disney Springs Area, responded to this review, 23 December 2014
We apologize for the unfortunate experience you had when staying with us in July. It's our goal to provide a comfortable and relaxing stay for our guests. While the service and facilities missteps are not typical, we will make every effort to ensure they do not continue. Please feel free to contact us directly if you have any additional comments.

John L. Parkinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floral city, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The service and rooms are excellent! Food is a little over priced. There is no bar opened by the pool, but someone walks around outside asking if we need anything to et or drink at the pool side. Over all besides the minor flaws me and my family will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Tina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-Parkinson, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Orlando - Disney Springs Area, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi Tina O, thank you for your review. I'm glad you would consider us again when in the area. I'm sure you and your family will continue to enjoy your stay with us! Have a great end of the summer! Best regards, John Parkinson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel is perfectly located near Downtown Disney which I walked to several times a day. The hotel had shuttle service to Downtown Disney but only after 6:00 PM. Would be nice to have available all day. Room was fine unfortunately it was next to an elevator which got noisy at times but I could deal with it. Furnishings in room were ok but showing some age, nothing too outlandish. Pool was ok, not so big but adequate. Overall pleasant hotel, very nice staff and a place I would consider using again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank fmjc811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Spring, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were only in town for one night before leaving for Miami to go on a cruise. We arrived around 12:30 in the afternoon and attempted to check-in. Our room was not ready, which was a little disappointing especially since I am a HiltonHHonors Diamond Status member. The staff at the front desk said they would get someone working on it right away and took my cell phone number so they could call me when it was finished. My family took this opportunity to grab some lunch down the street. We returned to the hotel after lunch at 2:00 to see if the room was ready yet. It still was not ready. We decided to go out to the pool to swim while we waited. I went back to the front desk at 3:45 to check again and it still was not ready. At this point I asked to see a manager to let him know that I was extremely disappointed the room was not ready after waiting almost 3.5 hours. He apologized and went down the hall to help housekeeping finish the room. He came back a little after 4:00 and handed me the room keys. He also added free breakfast for the whole family which helped calm my aggravation.

The room quality was excellent. The two queen bedroom with queen sleeper sofa room was extremely clean and was located on the first floor with easy access to the pool. The AC worked well, which is very necessary on a hot Orlando day in late July.

The pool was a pretty good size and seemed very clean. The hot tub was also decent in size and was clean. The only complaint I have about the pool is from the noise that comes from traffic associated with being so close to Downtown Disney, but I guess that is too be expected. It would be nice if they could somehow shield the pool with better landscape design to hide the noise. Also, the barmaid at the pool was a little gruff. It started to thunder in the distance and instead of asking the children to get out of the hot tub, she kind of got nasty with them.

The free transportation to Downtown Disney was nice, but be warned it can take an hour to get their if traffic is bad (and it was for us). You can probably walk it in 5 or 10 minutes tops.

Overall the hotel is in a great location for Downtown Disney access and was a great value for the quality you receive.

Room Tip: I stayed in a ground floor room to get access to the pool. This provides less security, but you sac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianMarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
B Resort & Spa
B Resort & Spa
#126 of 339 in Orlando
2,963 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Best Western Lake Buena Vista - Disney Springs Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Orlando - Disney Springs Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Orlando - Disney Springs Area

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Orlando - Disney Springs Area
Address: 2305 Hotel Plaza Boulevard, located in the Disney Springs Resort Area, Orlando, FL 32830-8439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#46 Business Hotel in Orlando
#59 Family Hotel in Orlando
#83 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Orlando - Disney Springs Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary All-Suite Disney Springs Resort Area Hotel located in Walt Disney World Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Orlando - Disney Springs Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton In The Walt Disney World Hotel Orlando
Walt Disney Orlando
Doubletree Hotel In World
DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Orlando - Disney Springs Area Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing