We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home(wood) Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Ranked #37 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Home(wood) Experience”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Although definitely not plush or luxurious, this hotel has much to commend.

It is located on International Drive, a few blocks from the convention centre and attractions.There are many restaurants within a short walking distance. It is very reasonably priced indeed. The staff at check-in are courteous, bright and helpful.Mr Pauli Periera the affable manager finds time to meet and greet most guests personally and takes a keen interest in their well being.

There is a lavish and lazy breakfast, albeit suffering from a lack of variety for a long stay resident, and I must say there were quite a few of those as well as returning travellers.

The evening reception and supper Monday to Thursday is functional and definitely another saving in an expensive city. Expect nothing fancy and you would not be disappointed with the fare.

The laundromats are cheap and useful, and the business centre adequate. The two TVs and a kitchenette in the rooms are quite adequate, the latter having a fridge, microwave, dishwasher and some utensils.

The downside is the decor in the rooms, which is old and jaded. The carpets are threadbare and need replacement. The bathrooms are in need of upgradation. I understand the property is to undergo extensive upgrading of decor later this year.

For its class, this is a great hotel and Mr Periera a very positive and friendly host.

Would I stay again? Yes.
.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeeBee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauli P, Assitant General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to exceed every guest’s expectations while they are with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,779
    734
    228
    82
    55
See reviews for
1,472
525
65
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Mr. Perera was extremely helpful to my colleague and myself as we checked in for the American College of Sports Medicine conference this past May. He was friendly, accommodating from the time we checked in to to the time we left. He informed us of all the local resources for touring the city, the transportation options that were available to us.
He made our stay really feel like home. We highly valued his expertise and friendliness. I will definitely come back to this hotel as he and his staff have displayed the utmost in hospitality, courtesy and friendliness

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauli P, Assistant General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to exceed every guest’s expectations while they are with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Let me say, first of all, that I love the HWS and stay in them often when traveling. I think the room set up is one of the best laid out in the industry at this price point. Allow me to add that the staff here was fine and they rate a 5. You also can't beat it when traveling with kids, no matter what the age, even big ones.

My quibble here is the design of the hotel. It's 6 stories and it encompasses a pool on all 4 sides making for a weird boxed in experience. The pool is fine, but when you're sitting there you hear a constant loud drone. What is it? It's all the room air conditioner systems facing the enclosed pool area, and it is loud. Not relaxing, but not the staff's fault.

There is also no place to sit in the hotel save for 2 chairs in reception, none anywhere outside when waiting for pick up, but there are dozens of tables and chairs in the great room for the obligatory "feeding frenzy" that occurs Tues - Thurs evenings and every morning. I know this is a "must do" in the industry at this level, and it's great if you're traveling with kids, but otherwise it's just loads of not so great food. Again, no reflection on the staff.

Other reviewers have noted that the rooms need some updating and mine was one. I was embarrassed for Hilton when I looked at the condition of the couch (hint, room 637). C'mon Hilton, you can do better than this.

There are chain restaurants, 2 minimarts, and a liquor store within a short walking distance. Alas, no decent coffee (i.e. Starbucks, etc.) close by.

If you have children and are on a budget, this HWS will work. The Orlando attractions are expensive. But if you're down for a meeting, require a few days at a stretch, need to relax with some more amenities, then upgrade a bit elsewhere. That said, I will still choose HWS when I need a nice overnight while traveling.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MhaPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauli P, Assitant General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Homewood Suites. We apologize that you were not happy with your accommodations. It is our goal to exceed our guests expectations at all times. We are making many new improvements to our hotel in the near future to provide an exceptional guest experience. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel has very good location in reference to the most attractions available in the área, both business and leisure. I consider that the breakfast system offered in similar hotels in Europe could be emulated without this being a significant cost increase for the hotel. Perhaps a shuttle service to the airport could be included.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Leopoldo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauli P, Assistant General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to exceed every guest’s expectations while they are with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in a 1BR suite. The place was clean, well set up and had full size fridge, dishwasher etc. From the gate the staff was fantastic. The breakfast buffet was very good and the attendants were very helpful and stayed busy. During the week from 5-7 they serve dinner FREE and it includes beer,wine and soft drinks free too. The staff was again excellent and the quality of food/ wine was better than expected. Pool and hot tub were nice, but closed promptly at 10pm so tough to do after a long Orlando day unfortunately. We did all the parks and all were only a short drive. Hotel is also very close to everything you need and several restaurants and entertainment options. Wonderworks and the comedy/ magic show was AWESOME and walking distance : )

Overall we were very surprised with how much we liked it here. Thank you HS!

Room Tip: 1BR suite had pull out that was OK and nice bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauli P, Assistant General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to exceed every guest’s expectations while they are with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Everything from the hotel staff, the room, even the pool/hot tub met our expectations. Breakfast was great every morning before venturing out to universal. I was great to have shuttle service to universal as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauli P, Assistant General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to exceed every guest’s expectations while they are with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I traveled for business and stayed at this hotel. The hotel has a great breakfast to get the day started. Behind this location, and within walking distance are many restaurants and shopping areas. There is also a free light dinner that is served Mon-Thursday before 7pm. The property is clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chriscF4609LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauli P, Assistant General Manager at Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to exceed every guest’s expectations while they are with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Orlando International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,548 reviews
Florida Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center

Property: Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Address: 8745 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819-9318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#16 Family Hotel in Orlando
#30 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Orlando/International Drive/ Hotel Orlando
Homewood Orlando
Orlando Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites International Drive
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing