We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
International Palms Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #259 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

do not listen to the bad reviews about this hotel, a lot of people need to get real and think about what they have booked, I don't need to do the good and the bad points as everything was perfect.

the hotel itself was spotless, I have read reviews that have said the there were no clean towels in the room we never had this at all we got clean ones every time we left the dirty ones on the floor (we were told to do this to get clean ones) the room had 2 large king size beds with table and 2 chairs, there was a microwave, fridge with small freezer in, flat screen tv, coffee/tea maker with supplies, clock radio with alarm, iron, ironing board and hairdryer, the room also had a free safe which is always a bonus.

the grounds of the hotel and the hotel were beautiful, there were lovely seating areas and the pool had a lovely waterfall where you could sit and chill out if you wanted.

the staff at the reception could not be any more helpful, I wanted a taxi to go to florida mall and the girl behind reception explained that if I got the number 42 Lynx bus it would be only 4 dollars instead of 40 in a taxi (try getting that help in the UK) the girl on reception came out in the mornings to make sure that everyone got on the correct shuttle busses you could not ask for more.

the shuttle busses were excellent they were mini buses and you booked them in the hotel and told the bus driver what time you wanted to come home, all of the drivers were very friendly and polite, if you don't want to sit and wait for 10 or 20 minutes for a shuttle bus, drive or get a taxi, most people like me pick hotels like this as they are not confident to drive in another country and getting taxis is out of the question because of the cost.

The desk in reception where you book the shuttle bus need to have a medal for the service that they give, I wanted to go to a show called Drip which is not one of the popular shows on Orlando as it is for adults and not kids, they still managed to get me tickets with only 1 phone call to their head office, the guys on the desk do a fab job but get very little praise.

there was things in the hotel that I didn't get to do due to being tired and there was so many other things to do, never seen the alligators , and didn't even have a drink in the bar but it did look lovely, the location is perfect and the trolley stops just outside.

finally I would just like the people who are writing bad reviews to stop and think before they do this and think, you are booking a hotel just to sleep in, not a hotel for 2 weeks where you spend time there, the hotel is not at the high end but it is in a perfect location, it is spotless with very friendly staff and it does not break the bank. I f you want the top of the range book a Disney hotel

the only small thing that I was not happy with was that the shop on site was shut every time that I went with a note on the window saying back in 5 minutes but there are shops straight across the road

book this hotel you will have a fab time and have a great holiday and do not worry about negative reviews xxx

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharonlovesdisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
International P... O, Manager at International Palms Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review in TripAdvisor. It is through such candid feedback that we continue to improve our product and services. I am most pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your kind and gracious comments regarding the resort facilities and the exceptional service and attention you received from our associates are greatly appreciated. Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Luis Gonzalez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    936
    719
    403
    562
See reviews for
1,432
826
100
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I was apprehensive after reading some of the reviews but im glad we went. The hotel looked great, especially the pool area, the rooms were very basic but clean, with a comfortable bed and the air conditioning worked great. The location was perfect for all the restaurants and attractions. We even walked to universal studios within 20mins from there.

Go for it you wont be disappointed and the hotel staff are friendly and willing to help you with anything you nee.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
International P... O, Manager at International Palms Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review in TripAdvisor. It is through such candid feedback that we continue to improve our product and services. I am most pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your kind and gracious comments regarding the resort facilities and the exceptional service and attention you received from our associates are greatly appreciated. Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Luis Gonzalez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

after reading bad reviews on this hotel i was so worried about staying here, after just returning home from a 2 week stay i cannot say enough good things about this hotel. we had 2 rooms and both were absolutely fine, we stayed in the tower block which looked a bit daunting at first but was fine. the rooms were cleaned daily and we had fresh towels and toiletries everyday. the staff were not helpful enough, although rooms are a bit dated they are still CLEAN which is the most important part as you are only there to sleep and shower as so much to do. the views from both rooms were amazing and the location is second to none. I am very fussy when it comes to hotels and i thoroughly enjoyed my stay, this hotel is not given enough credit for the hardwork they are putting in to improve the hotel. i would very much stay here again.
Thank you IPR

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
International P... O, Manager at International Palms Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It is through such candid feedback that we continue to improve upon our product and services. We are most pleased that you generally found the resort and staff met and exceeded your expectations. I have shared your comments with the entire team. Again, thank you for your kind and gracious comments regarding the facilities and the exceptional service and attention you received during your stay.

Sincerely,
Luis Gonzalez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

On arrival to hotel ,the hotel looked nice (looks can be deceiving ). Checking was fast and friendly,
ROOM1- on opening the door we were hit with the smell of smoke and dampness ,it was very dark ,the lights didn't work and one light was hanging off wall ,no way was I going to stay in that room. went back to check in desk told them about room they gave me another room on a once only view,they said that this room was recently modernised (couldn't find where they had even painted). After a long journey with delays we took the room.
ROOM 2- we had requested a pool view ,our view was of i4 ,the road that didn't stop . The air con in the room sounded like a jet engine so if we wanted it on we couldn't sleep ,if we left it off we cooked in the heat and couldn't sleep because of i4. There was a funny smell most of the time , the carpet was so dirty you had to wear shoes to keep your feet clean. In the bathroom you could have a shower and bath the same time as the drain did not drain the water very fast .
Security doors to complex did not work so anybody could have walked off the street at anytime and got to our rooms (no security at all ).
Pool was the best part about hotel .

Room Tip: Believe the bad reviews .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
International P... O, Manager at International Palms Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It is through such candid feedback that we continue to improve upon our product and services. We regret the resort did not generally meet your expectations. Certainly, this is not the type of guest experience we are trying to provide. I am particularly sorry that you did not bring your concerns to our attention during your stay so that we could meet your requests immediately. I would love to hear what room you was in, please contact at your earliest convenience. I have shared your comments with our executive housekeeper, chief engineer and director of front office operation. Again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,
Luis Gonzalez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Orlando hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Ok, so let me start out by saying the staff was nice but the hotel is one you should pass on.

We arrived the day before Thanksgiving (staying 3 nights) and the hotel didn't seem too full. Desk staff was nice and check in was quick. We had booked through Travelocity and had prepaid for the hotel. There were resort fees ($7.50/day) but those were well published before hand and I expected them.

Room #1: We got to the room, first floor building D, and the key card unlocked the door, but the door was dead bolted from the inside. Not the "chain" lock, but the dead bolt itself. At first I thought we had been given a room with someone already in it, but after trying the door several times, no one answered it. I went back to reception and told them. Their first response was they would send "engineering" to open the door. I requested a new room. They have a 14-story tower with a central atrium and I requested something in that building towards the top. The 14th floor is actually the 13th, but it is one of those buildings were the elevator has 12th and then 14th. We get to the 4th floor and the room we were given doesn't exist. The room numbers started one number higher than the room I was told. At that point, we joked that it couldn't get any worse...wrong.

Room #2: After walking the level twice, I called the front desk from the house phone near the elevator. The girl is the same one who switched my rooms to begin with and it turns out the room she gave me was on the 4th floor and she didn't realize that. She insisted that she bring me keys to a room on the 14th floor and to meet her in the atrium (like I said, the staff is nice). So I didn't even get to see room #2.

Room #3: I wish I had stuck with room 2. This room was "upgraded" from the room I choose when I checked in. I was given the option of a king bed or two double beds. It didn't really matter which one I had, but I choose the double. I only put upgraded in quotation marks above because the girl made it sound like I was being given a better room, but it was just the king room which also had a sleeper sofa. The room smelled faintly of something that we couldn't place until later on (but I will save you the suspense: urine). We had been driving all day and wanted to go to Downtown Disney so we dropped our luggage off and headed out. The weather had turned cold in Orlando and it was about 45 F when we returned at 12:30 am. So, I turned on the heater. I do understand that when a heater is turned on for the first time of the season that it has to "burn" of the dust from the coils and there is that almost oddly comforting, "winter time is hear" smell for a few minutes. This was different. It smelled as if a live animal had been set on fire. The smell of acrid smoke filled the room and set off the room's fire alarm. I quickly turned off the unit as I gagged and nearly vomited from the smell. While the alarm was going off, I called the front desk to let them know there was no actual fire but no one answered. Meanwhile, my partner came of the bath room and started gagging as well. We propped the door open and tried the front desk again...no answer. I went over to the house phone near the elevator and called. The desk clerk indicated that she new the alarm had gone off (it did stop), but didn't seem concerned. Engineering is on their way. After waiting about 15 minutes, we packed our bags with the intent of requesting another room. Engineering was no were in sight. That smell wasn't going anywhere. Even though the room was fully paid for 3 days, we serious discussed checking out at a loss. Now on to room #4.

Room #4: She tried to give me the connecting room to to the "burning animal room" but I insisted we be moved to another building. This building was at the back of the property away from International Boulevard next to the the tree line...the tree line that separated the room from Interstate 4. You didn't really notice it outside, but inside the room, you would have thought the room was on the shoulder of the interstate and earplugs didn't help. This room smelled clean and looked clean so we brought our stuff in (we had checked out the room first this time). We got settled in at 1:10am and turned the heater on...same burning smell, so it was turned off. The room was warm enough. The odd thing was that the beds had no blankets. 1 top sheet, a VERY thin duvet that was more like an extra thick sheet, and a decorative sheet (not a duvet cover). The beds were fairly comfortable. In the night it did get cold so the heater was turned on with no smell. The bathroom had a vinyl tub insert fitted over the existing tub as part of the remodel. However, the seals had broken and water had gotten under the insert. The bottom of the tub felt like a water bed and it made a gross slushing noise as you stepped around. The tub also wouldn't drain nor would the sink. They both had very slow drains. There was enough standing water that when you were done showering or brushing your teeth, both were about half full. We ended up staying because it would take time away from our leisure time to find another hotel. The second night we found out why the heater didn't smell. Apparently the unit had burned out the night before when I had turned it on. Only the fan was running. While laying in bed on night 2 there was the sound of arching electricity inside the A/C unit and the unit kicked on and off several times while we looked on in horror that it was going to explode. Finally a big zap and it was gone, just the fan continued to run. It had gotten warmer outside and the room didn't get too cold the next two nights.

As compensation for the repeated room switching, I requested the resort fee be waived (a whopping $23). Instead they suggested I get free breakfast (a $11.99/person value) for the three mornings I would be there. If they suggest this, skip it and insist on a free night. The breakfast was a European continental breakfast not American (if you are European, then you should know a continental American breakfast are danishes, muffins, cereal, and a waffle bar if you are lucky). If you are American, then you should know a European continental breakfast consists of the American stuff plus meats and cheeses, yogurts, muesli (dry oat cereal), eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. I was impressed to also see the makings of a full English breakfast as well (my British friends will get that one). The food was as expected, nothing spectacular, but they did have an omelette/egg bar made to order. The problem was that with the free breakfast vouchers, we were TOLD no less than 3 times that tip was not included so we shouldn't forget that. The problem was that I don't typically carry cash and being free as a courtesy, I couldn't use my card. So we ended up not eating breakfast again because I didn't want to be rude to the pleasant waitress.

So in short....skip it.

Room Tip: Rooms in a different hotel would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
International P... O, Manager at International Palms Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It is through such candid feedback that we continue to improve upon our product and services. We regret the resort did not generally meet your expectations. Certainly, this is not the type of guest experience we are trying to provide.I took the liberty of reading your review at our morning meeting and instructed the management team to share it with their associates. But I must say I am particularly sorry that you did not bring your concerns to my attention during your stay so that I could meet your requests immediately. Again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,
Luis Gonzalez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Myself, husband and son all recently stayed at the palms for our two weeks holiday.
The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our full stay.
The staff who deal with bookings for the shuttle buses and park tickets were also very helpful and friendly throughout our stay.
The shop staff were also very friendly and helpful throughout our full stay.
Also the guy at the outside pool hut was very funny, pleasant and friendly for our stay, also all bar and kitchen staff were all very friendly and pleasant throughout our full stay, in particular,.... Bonnie, Simo and Marybeth were very friendly, helpful and an absolute joy to have around whilst dining for our breakfast.
Kenny the manager was also very friendly and helpful going out of his way to make our stay there great.
The staff who cleaned our room daily were also great, always making sure we had clean fresh bedding and towels.
The location is perfect for getting to all parks, also having lots of local shops and places to eat!
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at international palms and would defiantly stay there again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma-LouiseBrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
International P... O, Manager at International Palms Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It is through such candid feedback that we continue to improve upon our product and services. We are most pleased that you generally found the resort and staff met your expectations. I have shared your comments with Bonnie, Simo and Marybeth. Again, thank you for your kind and gracious comments regarding the facilities and the exceptional service and attention you received from our entire team, they are greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
Luis Gonzalez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

C block - sent to this from arrival and was absolutely shocked at the state of the accommodation, went to complain and asked to move was informed that this block had been just renovated and the other lower rise blocks and tower block were far worse i don't think the staff knew what the word meant and i informed them it was a complete sham and never renovated since first built, dirt and bits of food on the walls, bath terribly stained what with we could not tell but definitely needed a replacement, no veranda and the windows would not open, out of date air con and not sufficient to keep the room cool, no kettle when advised by their brochure and the staff at the hotel this would be available, $12 per person per breakfast this adds up over the time your there, outside area better than the inside, no kids play area in or around the pool I could go on and on but it makes me sick thinking of the cost i paid for a sham of an hotel. No never again thomson holidays and i went into their local shop to let them know and they did not seem really interested as they had already been paid for the holiday.

Room Tip: Read trip advisor first
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly1790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
International P... O, Manager at International Palms Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It is through such candid feedback that we continue to improve upon our product and services. We regret the resort did not generally meet your expectations. Certainly, this is not the type of guest experience we are trying to provide. I am particularly sorry that you did not bring your concerns to our attention during your stay so that we could meet your requests immediately. I am truly disappointed that your children did get an opportunity to enjoy our outdoor chess game, hamcocks, alligator enclosure, volleyball court and game room. We do offer kettles free of charge and it would be our pleasure to purchase one for our guests if needed. Our breakfast buffet is $11.95, includes omlet station and all you can eat and well worth the price. Again, thank you for your comments. We have free internet and computers for our guests in the Lobby and free transportation to the parks. I also find it strange that a Thomson Representative did not contact the hotel as is the norm? Thanks again for your comments.

Sincerely,
Luis Gonzalez
Assistant General Manager















Sincerely,
Luis Gonzalez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Monumental MovieLand
Monumental MovieLand
#249 of 336 in Orlando
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Rosen Inn
#106 of 336 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Heart of I-Drive
#289 of 336 in Orlando
3.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge International
#218 of 336 in Orlando
3.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Palms Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Palms Resort & Conference Center

Property: International Palms Resort & Conference Center
Address: 6515 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819-8217 (Formerly Holiday Inn Orlando International Drive Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — International Palms Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The International Palms Resort & Conference Center has temporarily closed to undergo a complete renovation that will include a branding change, remodeling of the guest rooms, lobby & dining facilities, pool area and 20,000 sq. feet of convention space. Renovations are expected to be complete towards the beginning of 2018. When searching for ideal Orlando Florida hotels or resorts for your Central Florida vacation, meeting or event, make your reservation at the International Palms Resort & Conference Center Orlando on International Drive. Our resort is conveniently located in the heart of International Drive and offers guests easy access to the most popular Orlando attractions and exciting things to do. Discover adventurous thrills at Universal Orlando, marvel at an amazing underwater paradise at Sea World, cool off with an exciting trip to Aquatica or Wet n Wild and enjoy some of the best shopping in the world! With our Attractions Shuttle, Lynx Bus Stop, I-Drive Trolley Stop and Dollar Rental Car office, we have many ways to help you get around. At the resort, take a refreshing dip in our sparkling outdoor pool or whirlpool hot tub. Work out in our fitness center with an array of exercise machines. For tantalizing meals, choose from several delectable locations, like the Front Street Café, and enjoy a drink and pleasant conversations in our casual Coral Key Bar & Grill or Gator Joe's Poolside Bar. Experience event planning Florida-style, with delicious catering menus and 20,000 square feet of event space to meet all your needs. For great Orlando vacation deals, we offer an Orlando value vacation for your family or romantic getaway. We look forward to taking EXCELLENT care of you at the International Palms Resort & Conference Center Orlando! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your International Palms Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Palms Hotel Orlando
International Palms Resort And Conference Center
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn International Drive Florida
Holiday Inn International Drive Orlando
Orlando Holiday Inn
International Palms Resort & Conference Center Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing