We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely newer hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando
Ranked #211 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Vancouver
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely newer hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Walking distance to restaurants and shops. Front desk nice and helpful. Rooms have mini kitchenettes. Breakfast was great with everything from bisquits and gravy to waffles etc.

Room Tip: Just walk around and explore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gainerVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cis7701, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding it. We are also happy to hear that you had the chance to enjoy our complimentary Be Our Guest Hot Breakfast. It's the most important meal of the day and we want to be sure that guests have plenty of energy to face the day exploring all the local attractions. We do hope to see you the next time you are in the Central Florida area. We will be looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    337
    192
    94
    79
See reviews for
483
209
34
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Nice! Good location! Good service! Its all what u need in Orlando. Not a luxury hotel for sure. Its the typical hotel that make focus obviously in have an excellent time in the parks. It have his own bus service included to all parks. Thats great!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollomuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cis7701, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that you had a wonderful time visiting our local attractions while in the area and that you chose us as your home away from home. We do hope that the next time you are in the area, you will return to visit us again. We love to have guests return and become part of our Country Inn & Suites Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

First time going to Universal in Orlando with family. We stayed in 2 suites and they were very clean and spacious. It was very close to Universal (1.5 miles down the road). The Staff was great (gave us directions to nearest food joints and convenient stores). The Breakfast was good the first day. 2nd day seemed they were running out of a lot of food but it was a Saturday and the place was packed which I would not hold against them. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to universal.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uselessnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cis7701, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and ejoyed our Be our Guest Hot Breakfast. We do hope that the next time you are in the Central Florida area you will return to visit us again. It is important that when our guests leave they are saying "I Love this Country."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I've been going to this place for years (every time I go to Orlando). It's perfect for the family! I tried another hotel once (days inn - international drive) and it was disaster! Never again! I know days inns are supposed to be crappy motels but in Orlando It's different because it's all family oriented. Anyways back to the Country Inn - great value for you hard earned buck! I recommend this one 100%.

Fresh baked cookies at reception 24/7 is a plus :)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padilha1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cis7701, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
We are so glad that you returned to visit us when you returned again to the Orlando area!! We hope that you noticed all the work we have done to renovate the hotel and enjoyed the new beds, bedding, drapes and the Be Our Guest hot Breakfast!! Be sure to return and visit us again soon so you can see more exciting things to come!!! Thank you for being a valued guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

The good:
1.5 min drive to universal studios
2.Free breakfast
3 Free wifi
4.Free parking (though it is difficult to find a spot late in the evening)
5. Comfortable rooms/bed
6. Inexpensive
7. Helpful Staff

The not so good:
1. No convenient shuttle to universal - require renting a car / cab (the hotel staff advised to me either rent a car or hire a cab)
2.Dining options closely are few. Again requires a cab/car.

Overall this hotel is great value for money near universal!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lodget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cis7701, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
We would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out a review regarding your recent stay with us. It is always nice to hear when one of our guests had a great time and enjoyed their stay! We do hope that the next time you are in the Central Florida area, you will return to visit us again!! We look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We just got back from a week-long stay in Orlando and when we go back, we've already found our hotel! This hotel was perfect. As others have mentionned, the plentiful breakfast, the washing machines, the cleanliness. The rooms are large, the safe is VERY practical for keeping passports and other things we don't want to lose in the theme parks. The staff is friendly. The gift shop is practical and items and reasonnably prices (that's rare for hotel gift shops). The counter in the lobby where you can get attraction info, brochures and coupons is very practical. The lobby is beautiful and nice to come back to when exhausted (with a library from which you can borrow books). We loved the LARGE breakfast area with the TV where we sometimes came to eat in at night as there was a microwave and we could bring back food from anywhere, heat it up and eat quietly and comfortably seated. The pool was clean (although somewhat cold at night). We walked to Wet & Wild one day and saved the 10$ parking fee. International drive with all it's attractions and restaurants is the next street over and the hotel is a 5 minute drive to Universal Studios. Very easy to get to and very fast & easy to get back from (when you're exhausted). Check-in and check-out was a breeze. All in all, no complaints whatsoever. The place feels like home and will definitely be our home away from home when we are lucky enough to visit the area again. Thanks to the management for being one of the reasons our family of 4 had a dream vacation!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnneMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cis7701, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return the next time you are in the Central Florida area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites for 2 weeks and wouldn't hesitate about recommending it to others. The only problem we had during our whole stay was during our check in and was only minor. It took 3 rooms before we finally got one that we were happy in but that was only due to one being in the process of being renovated and given to us by accident and the safe not working in the second room.

The breakfast everyday was quite sufficient. There was a constant supply of bread, bagels, waffle batter, juice, coffee and muffins and the hot food changed daily. If like me, you only wanted something simple, there was a plentiful supply of natural yoghurt, granola and a range of cereals. It can get quite busy with coach tours but they seem to have breakfast between 8:30 and 9:30. If you get their earlier, it is a lot quieter.

The hotel itself is basic but clean. They shampooed the elevators and the dining area whilst we were there.They provided clean towels and repleanshed toiletries daily in our room and the staff are very pleasant and will help you as much as possible. The gym and the games room are both clean and quiet. At the end of the corridor the were washing machines and driers that you could use and they were not too busy either.

The pool is small but ample. They provide smaller towels on the poolside for you to use rather than your room towels. Most people are out at the theme parks or at the Conference Centre so we had the pool to ourselves for most of our holiday.

For those that have said in previous reviews that the location is not ideal for restaurants obviously don't walk very far. The hotel is literally a 5 minute walk to loads of places to eat. Ones to mention are the Buffalo Wings Grill & Bar for great chicken wings and burgers at a reasonable price and $6.00 pitchers of beer, Giordano's for really good pizza and less than 2 minutes walk from the hotel, Kobe's (just across from Ripley's believe it or not) for teppanyaki dining at around $25 a person for soup, salad, noodles, rice, sirlion steak, lobster and shrimp. You can also walk to Walmart on Turkey Lake Road (around 25 minutes) where there are a number of other restaurants hidden from I-Drive.

The shuttle bus at the hotel came in handy to get to Universal, Sea World and the Magic Kingdom where Disney put on free transfers to all their themeparks apart from Waterparks. Tip- If you are wanting to go to Typhoon Lagoon, take the free shuttle from the hotel to Magic Kingdom and then jump on the Disney transfer from outside the Polynesian Hotel to Typhoon Lagoon. Disney only put on free transfers to the waterparks from their hotels and it's the closest! The only downside was that because it was quieter in all the parks, we were finished some by early in the afternoon and had to sort our own transport back as the first return shuttle bus is not until 6:15pm.

Prior to our visit, we bought 7-day passes for the Lynx buses in Orlando which take you to Florida Mall (42 from International Drive going north), Premium Outlets on International Drive and Vineland Road (8 or the 42), Mall at Millenia (Number 8 then transfer at I-Drive Premium outlets to the 24) and Sea World (8). We also used the I-trolley a couple of times and for $1.25 a single journey it was worth it. The number 50 from Magic Kingdom back to I-Drive is not the most reliable and we waited nearly an hour and a half for the bus one night so it may be an idea to have a back-up plan if you leave the Disney parks early.

We are looking forward to our next trip and would easily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cis7701, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your most recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is our goal to have every guest leave saying "I Love This Country." We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Central Florida area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Comfort Inn International
#119 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge International
#216 of 335 in Orlando
3.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando
Address: 7701 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8371
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a family vacation to Florida or a professional business trip, the Country Inn & Suites Orlando hotel is a great place to stay. Our Orlando hotel near Walt Disney World(R) Resort, Universal Studios(R) and Sea World(R) theme parks offers a convenient, scheduled shuttle for guests, to ensure your trip is hassle free. We have Orlando hotel rooms and suites for every occasion, and offer a complimentary hot, continental breakfast, outdoor pool, boardroom, Fitness Center and more. With all the perks available at the Country Inn & Suites Orlando hotel, there's no better place to stay during your Florida vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Country Inn And Suites Orlando Universal
Country Inn International Drive
Country Inn Orlando
Orlando Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orlando Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing