We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for the parks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites Downtown
Ranked #159 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great base for the parks”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Found the hotel to be very convenient, offering free shuttle to both disney and universal. good sized rooms with comfortable bed and good power shower. short walk to I-drive plenty restaurants. only downside was breakfast room always to crowded need more tables and chairs to accommodate guests. overall great cost effective choice!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmca76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelie S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and our great location. We are going to add more seating on our patio to help with the congestion during high season when the hotel is full. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    341
    109
    21
    17
See reviews for
387
195
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucedale, Mississippi
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My family was on vacation in Orlando. We had started out at a Hampton Inn by Universal, then went to Royal Pacific at Universal (see reviews for both). We then moved here because I had enough Choice points for the rest of the week. I believe this property used to be a Fairfield Inn. Check-in was extremely smooth. I had requested a room on the back side of the hotel, but didn't get it. Oh well, there wasn't much of a view from either side. The room was very spacious and clean. The beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast each morning was good, but get there early as the room fills up very quickly as the morning draws on. The pool was nice and quiet as there is nothing on the back side of the hotel except some wetlands area. All staff members we came in contact with were very friendly and helpful when we asked for anything.
I guess the only negative is that there aren't any places to eat close-by. However, International Drive is not that far away. It's a little difficult getting to Canada Avenue from W. Sand Lake Road. An easier way would be to go to Carrier Drive then go down Canada Ave. It's also easier to go out that way to Universal Studios (turn right on Carrier Dr, then Left on Universal Blvd). It may be a bit far to go to Disney from here.
We actually checked out a day early due to weather so I thought there would be a big mix-up getting my points refunded, but the desk clerk walked me through the process. Very helpful. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and would stay again if going to Universal.

Room Tip: Easier to get in and out of Canada Ave via Carrier Drive instead of from W. Sand Lake Rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhg155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelie S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and mentioned our wonderful staff. If you visit us again, which we hope you do, stop by the front desk and they can direct you to several dining options within a very short walk from the hotel. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We really like this hotel. The room we reserved was upgraded to a suite. Breakfast was good and great variety was offered. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and contemporary.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pstoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelie S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our wonderful staff and newly renovated property. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Prairie, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My family of 5, ( my husband and myself and our 3 kids, ages 6,4 and 1), my best friend and my parents all stayed at this hotel on July 3-5 of this year. We had 2 rooms. Our room was a suite on the fourth floor. It had 2 queen beds and a sofa pullout bed that was a full. Our room overlooked the pool. From our hotel room we could see universal studios in the distance. Our hotel room was very clean and had plenty of room for us to put up my daughters pack in play and still have room for my kids to play. My parents had a king suite that was also very nice as well. The hotel staff was very friendly. My children loved the pool. I liked that it was clean and was heated so we could even swim in the evening. My only complaint was at breakfast. The food was your standard hot breakfast food. The set up though with the waffle station made it where it caused congestion in and out of the breakfast area. We loved the area of the hotel. Very close to places to eat and stores but far enough down the street that the noise was not bad at night. Overall this was a great place to stay for a reasonable price. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelie S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Jessica,

Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
237 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed prior to my husband's surgery at Florida Hospital. The hotel is within walking distance from the hospital with a Panera Bread and Wendy's nearby. The hotel offers reduced rates to those who book directly and can provide a voucher from Florida Hospital's Guest Services. The registration agent also accepted our "Instructions for Surgery" form. The hospital shuttle service is available to transport guests between the hotel and hospital as well.

We were in King NS suite #233. The room fit the pattern of better Comfort Suites hotels. It was very clean, equipped with a large screen TV, mini fridge, microwave, couch, desk, and spacious full bathroom. Towels were big and fluffy. Breakfast would have been provided; however, we were due at the hospital before it was served.

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone needing a hotel near Florida Hospital -- or in this general area. The Orlando Science Center and Art Museums are nearby as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanda71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at our Comfort Suites.
I was glad to hear your stay was an enjoyable one.
I hope everything went well with your husbands surgery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The receptionist was very helpful and friendly and the actual reception was clean with the breakfast area very nice. The rooms were great, clean, free wifi and the beds comfy. The location was great very close to the popular attractions. Had a great overall stay and will go again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelie S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This place was a great inexpensive option to the Universal resorts. This is only 5 min. from the entrance to universal, very clean and the staff were friendly. No restaurants you could walk to but I-drive is only 1 min. away. the room was clean and modern, good linens and bedding, central air would have been nice.....but at this price you get the wall unit, this is my only negative about the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelie S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Don G.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the great value we offer to our guests. There are several restaurants within walking distance to our property. There is a TGI Fridays and Chili's within a few minutes walk. The next time you visit, check with our front desk staff and they can give you a list of all of the dining options within walking distance. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Florida Center
Hampton Inn & Suites Orlando International Drive North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn International
#122 of 337 in Orlando
833 reviews
Florida Center
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown

Property: Comfort Suites Downtown
Address: 2416 N Orange Ave, Orlando, FL 32804-5513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Orlando
#83 Family Hotel in Orlando
#104 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Downtown hotel in Orlando, FL is just a mile north of downtown but just across the street from Florida Hospital and within minutes of the Amway Arena and the Expo Center. Our smoke-free Orlando hotel is a short distance from Disney World and attractions like: Florida Citrus Bowl Stadium MGM Studios Loch Haven Park Epcot Center Magic Kingdom Park We’re a short drive away from both the Orlando International Airport and the Orlando Sanford International Airport. Business travelers will appreciate our meeting room and boardroom, which can accommodate up to 37 guests. At our hotel in Orlando, you can take advantage of such amenities as: Free WiFi Fitness center Outdoor heated pool Free weekday newspaper Guest laundry Get going with a great breakfast. Start your trip to Orlando with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. All guest rooms offer coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, microwaves and refrigerators. Keep your electronic devices charged with the recharge device including AC and USB outlets provided in all guest rooms. The Comfort Suites Downtown hotel in Orlando, FL is the perfect hotel for both business and leisure travelers. Book today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Orlando International Drive
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando International Drive Hotel Orlando
Fairfield Inn Orlando
Fairfield Orlando
Orlando Fairfield Inn
Comfort Suites Downtown Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing