We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Universal Close By”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites Downtown
Ranked #160 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Universal Close By”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel itself was uninspiring, but the staff made us feel welcome and our room was ready at 10 am when we arrived from Disney.
The room was more than ample for my wifde and I as well as our 17 and 12 yr olds.
The included breakfast had more choices than we could all have hoped for and the Biscuits and Gravy were unexpectedly good.
Pool was good but tiles around could use a cleaning as they are beginning to show som black mildewy buildup.
Convenient to Universal and Wet and Wild.
We would consider this hotel in the future

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelie S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was nice to read that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and free breakfast. Thank you for mentioning our welcoming staff , we are very proud of them and the service they offer valued guests like you. I will make sure to share your comments with all of our staff including our maintenance department regarding the pool. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    341
    109
    21
    17
See reviews for
387
195
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Room had a very weird odor when we arrived and never really got much better even when the a/c was on high. The a/c was off when we arrived and that didn't help. It really wasn't a smoke smell, but more of a stale musty mold smell.

It's too bad about the odor because everything else about the hotel was great. The check in and out was fast and friendly. The room was clean and updated with a microwave and small fridge. The tv was a nice size led and internet signal was good.

The breakfast had a large selection of items and 3 waffle makers. Breakfast staff keeping everything stocked and clean.

Be aware getting to this hotel from eastbound sand lake rd is really bad. Traffic in that area never seemed to be light. Overall a nice place, too bad we just happen to get a not so nice smelly room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelie S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and we appreciate your comment on what we can improve on. We have addressed the problem with the smell you mentioned in your room and it has been resolved. Your feedback was important to us so we could make sure that future guests assigned to that room will not have the same issue. We hope you will visit us again. We look forward to offering the exceptional experience that we strive to offer all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

So I have just got back from a two weeks stay here (room 542) with six of us staying in three different rooms. Firstly, the reception staff we're amazing. Nil, Fuse and Orlando always made my day with conversions and topics about the area etc. All the other staff we're just the same but didnt get all you're names. Keep up the hard work all. The rooms were very clean, we had two king size beds that are probably the most comfiest I've stayed in...better then home! The room has all the extras like tea, coffee, microwave, iron and hair dryer. Nice size LG tv with over 40 channels to choice from. Free 24/7 Wifi...The maids always kept the room clean and tidy. The hotel has a heated pool and spa. They have plenty of seating and chairs so never an issue for space. (The blue pool tiles could do with a clean though and the pool floor has a lot of bugs) There is a FREE shuttle bus to Universal and a Universal rep at the reception until 12 midday to buy any tickets, you need to book your place on the shuttle though!!!!. The breakfast is comprehensive but could do with bacon being added to the menu but still very good. Overall we all had a fantastic stay here, great location just off International drive (away from traffic) just around the corner from shops to stock up your fridge with food and drinks to snack on. I would make sure you get your park tickets online before going as cheaper and miss the cues and budget 100 dollars a day per person, I would say 150 a day if buying tickets there. Feel free to comment if you need more information on the hotel or parks, I have brought back every leaflet going. Thanks for the great stay and I look forward to returning in the near future. Paul

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank paulj79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelie S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our wonderful staff, I will make sure to share your comments with them. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The room was very nice and clean. The staff was great and the free breakfast was awesome. They provide free shuttle service to Disney and other theme parks. I will definitely stay there again when I go back to Orlando.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor, better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DownRodeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelie S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit. We are so glad you enjoyed our wonderful staff and great breakfast. We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Found the hotel to be very convenient, offering free shuttle to both disney and universal. good sized rooms with comfortable bed and good power shower. short walk to I-drive plenty restaurants. only downside was breakfast room always to crowded need more tables and chairs to accommodate guests. overall great cost effective choice!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmca76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelie S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and our great location. We are going to add more seating on our patio to help with the congestion during high season when the hotel is full. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucedale, Mississippi
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My family was on vacation in Orlando. We had started out at a Hampton Inn by Universal, then went to Royal Pacific at Universal (see reviews for both). We then moved here because I had enough Choice points for the rest of the week. I believe this property used to be a Fairfield Inn. Check-in was extremely smooth. I had requested a room on the back side of the hotel, but didn't get it. Oh well, there wasn't much of a view from either side. The room was very spacious and clean. The beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast each morning was good, but get there early as the room fills up very quickly as the morning draws on. The pool was nice and quiet as there is nothing on the back side of the hotel except some wetlands area. All staff members we came in contact with were very friendly and helpful when we asked for anything.
I guess the only negative is that there aren't any places to eat close-by. However, International Drive is not that far away. It's a little difficult getting to Canada Avenue from W. Sand Lake Road. An easier way would be to go to Carrier Drive then go down Canada Ave. It's also easier to go out that way to Universal Studios (turn right on Carrier Dr, then Left on Universal Blvd). It may be a bit far to go to Disney from here.
We actually checked out a day early due to weather so I thought there would be a big mix-up getting my points refunded, but the desk clerk walked me through the process. Very helpful. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and would stay again if going to Universal.

Room Tip: Easier to get in and out of Canada Ave via Carrier Drive instead of from W. Sand Lake Rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhg155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelie S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and mentioned our wonderful staff. If you visit us again, which we hope you do, stop by the front desk and they can direct you to several dining options within a very short walk from the hotel. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We really like this hotel. The room we reserved was upgraded to a suite. Breakfast was good and great variety was offered. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and contemporary.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pstoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelie S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our wonderful staff and newly renovated property. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Florida Center
Hampton Inn & Suites Orlando International Drive North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn International
#123 of 337 in Orlando
833 reviews
Florida Center
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown

Property: Comfort Suites Downtown
Address: 2416 N Orange Ave, Orlando, FL 32804-5513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Orlando
#83 Family Hotel in Orlando
#104 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Downtown hotel in Orlando, FL is just a mile north of downtown but just across the street from Florida Hospital and within minutes of the Amway Arena and the Expo Center. Our smoke-free Orlando hotel is a short distance from Disney World and attractions like: Florida Citrus Bowl Stadium MGM Studios Loch Haven Park Epcot Center Magic Kingdom Park We’re a short drive away from both the Orlando International Airport and the Orlando Sanford International Airport. Business travelers will appreciate our meeting room and boardroom, which can accommodate up to 37 guests. At our hotel in Orlando, you can take advantage of such amenities as: Free WiFi Fitness center Outdoor heated pool Free weekday newspaper Guest laundry Get going with a great breakfast. Start your trip to Orlando with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. All guest rooms offer coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, microwaves and refrigerators. Keep your electronic devices charged with the recharge device including AC and USB outlets provided in all guest rooms. The Comfort Suites Downtown hotel in Orlando, FL is the perfect hotel for both business and leisure travelers. Book today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Orlando International Drive
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando International Drive Hotel Orlando
Fairfield Inn Orlando
Fairfield Orlando
Orlando Fairfield Inn
Comfort Suites Downtown Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing