We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roaches, dirt and stains does not make a happy camper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Area
Ranked #212 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Roaches, dirt and stains does not make a happy camper”
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We had planned on staying at this LaQuinta for 4 days but after 3 roaches in 3 days, we'd had enough. Throw in stains and tears in the bedding and feet/socks that turned black after a few minutes on the carpet and you might wonder just how this hotel is in business let alone given 3 stars. What happens at 2 star hotels? Do they film Candid Camera versions of Fear Factor? At least the shower curtain was clean and the shampoo and soap smelled nice. Then again, their scents clashed with the smell of over use of Febreeze or whatever aerosol 'freshener' they use.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wirelesshero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    267
    166
    80
    61
See reviews for
414
184
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Staff was not helpful, air conditioner smelled musty, no screen on the window. Supposed to be no smoking but the ground was littered with butts. pool was cute but had floaties in it and only went to 5 ft deep. Beds were awful no matter how you look at it. 1 was hard and 1 soft and both hurt our backs. and the pillows gave us both neck cramps. not very soundproof either.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morganxile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiser, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2010

It is very close to the park, about two miles and they have a free shuttle once a day to and from Universal Studios. It works pretty well with the park hours and is easy to get to and from the stop at the park.The staff was friendly and our room was kept very clean. The room was very basic with only a coffee pot and hair dryer, which didn't work. The outside key lock door was broken and anybody could use it. They said it had been broken for over six months. Anybody could park in the lot but we didn't have problems finding a space. We could hear everything in the parking lot and outside in the hall. The door didn't instill a safe feeling. We found better places to stay for the same price with more amenities.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carryon2bags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picayune, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The room was quiet, clean and the bed was confortable, loved the pillows. Wished the breakfast was until 10 a.m. Very convenient to Universal Studios. The staff was very helpful with directions and information.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genesmom_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2010

The person that checked us into the hotel was very rude and wouldn't even look us in the eyes. We booked two rooms at the very same time on the same credit card and was given a room on the 3rd and 1st floor - instead of together. We were given two keys (thinking that they were for two rooms) and were fussed at (by the person who checked us in) because we were trying the key in a couple of different rooms - as we were not given clear instructions on where our rooms were. When we returned to get the key for the second room, we were given a key (and a bad attitude) to a room that was occupied (thank God that noone was actually there at the time). I also feel that the bathrooms are not wheelchair accessible. I thought all rooms in a public facility are supposed to be wheelchair accessible? We had a wheelchair bound travel companion that was having alot of difficulties getting in and out of the room.

The person that checked us out was actually very friendly though.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knj41227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My husband and I stayed two nights and had our dog and bird with us. The room was very clean, as was the bathroom. Over all a very nice stay and no charge for the pets. had HBO and a lot of tv channels. Good enough breakfast and the pool was very clean . We will definitely stay at this hotel again. Management was very clean and neat looking and very very nice. Beds were comfortable and it was near shopping & Universal Studios and you can't beat the price per night.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilbertmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I stayed for three days in mid-July, combo business and leisure, with my grandchild. Great rate through AARP. Everything at this LQ was very clean; staff was very friendly and helpful. Solid comfort at a good price. Beds very comfortable, linens soft and clean. Towels are rough but clean and abundant. It's pet-friendly but no pet smell - this is a good sign. The free breakfast was a bit better than most: bagels, waffles that you make so they're fresh, hardboiled eggs, etc. My last business trip took me to the Monteleone in New Orleans where there was obviously a lot more vastly overpriced faux-luxury, but a much smaller room and hideously expensive internet hookup. LQ's free wireless isn't the fastest in the world but it's free. Also free parking - a refreshing change from the 'gilded slum' high-price hotels. Very close to Universal.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MKBlackwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area
Florida Center
La Quinta Inn Orlando International Drive North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Clarion Inn & Suites
#119 of 338 in Orlando
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Area

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Area
Address: 5621 Major Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7960
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Orlando/Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
La Quinta Hotel Orlando
La Quinta Orlando
Orlando La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orlando Universal Area Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing