We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and switch - get ready for a hard sell timeshare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grande Villas Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Bait and switch - get ready for a hard sell timeshare”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

So we booked the 1 bedroom - but we got the "efficiency" instead as there is no such thing as a 1 bedroom. The door hit the couch when you opened it and we had to take turns entering the condo because we couldn't all come in at the same time because we couldn't fit. We had to move the "kitchen" table to get to the trash can because the kitchen and living room were smaller than my bathroom at home (no really...). There's no housekeeping service available unless you stay 7 days (shouldn't expedia have told us that?!?!). Someone pooped in the pool and it was left floating in the pool for hours (and no they didn't drain the pool and clean it..they just scooped out the poo). THe toilet broke on the third day. Its not in a very nice part of town but its close to Downtown Disney BUT DEFINTELY NOT WALKING DISTANCE. You can hear everything that happens in the stairwells, the parking lot and the hallways. And on top of it all, we had to sit through a 2 hour time share hard sell presentation in order to get the "great rates" that expedia booked. For the same cost we could have paid $300 more (for the full week) and stayed at Downtown Disney (and not paid for parking at Disney and got in early to the shows). Yes they fixed everything within a few hours but that everything was broken or failing apart is what you should be worried about. It's an OLD condo location. The pictures they show are the 2 bedroom, not the one bedroom. While there was a big master bed, the condo says it sleeps 6 for the one bedroom. Yes yout get a pull out couch but you get NO LINENS for it. You have to PAY for the linens if you want sheets for the couch - and even then there are no blankets (guess they assume you won't get cold). No clean towels for a week unless you pay for them. Really felt like a bait and switch. The property seemed run down. We stayed here because we thought it would be nice to have a kitchen to cook in. There was NO counter space (have to use the table in the "living room/bedroom" for food prep and there was no where to pu any food (we had to store all the food on top of the fridge since all the counter space was full with dishes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank isthatyourdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
We are truly and sincerely sorry that your stay here at Grande Villas Resort did not meet your expectations. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality, provide exceptional customer service, and offer quality accommodations at an affordable price to each guest that stays with us. It was very concerning to read that these issues with your accommodations, our housekeeping policies, and an incident at our pool had a negative impact on your stay. Please be advised that our one bedroom accommodations are actually part of our 3 bedroom lock-offs along with the two bedroom unit. As stated on our developer, Diamond Resort’s, website, our one bedroom accommodations are approximately 400 square feet where the bathroom is an en-suite situated off of the main bedroom. Even though the maximum occupancy is for 4, our 1 bedroom accommodations are more comfortable for a couple and a child due to the layout of the room. In addition, we provide this information to our 3rd party rental partners (such as Expedia), so that they can provide this information to their customers. As we are primarily a vacation ownership resort, housekeeping services are provide complimentary on a weekly basis for those guests who are staying at least 5 nights or more. Daily housekeeping services can be provided for a small fee and requested through out front desk. This information is provided to our 3rd party rental partners. We apologize if you were not made aware of this before your arrival. We have a very strict policy regarding issues when our pool has been contaminated. When this occurs, our pool is closed immediately, and steps are taken to ensure any leftover residue is removed from the pool. Reservations booked through Expedia do not require attending a timeshare presentation through our Sales Office. In regard to the linens in your room, linens are provided in each and every room for all sofas and beds. These usually provided in the closet(s). If these linens are not there, we advise contacting our front desk, and they will make sure these are provided. There may be a charge for additional linens requested above the ones provided for your unit’s bed(s) and sofa sleeper. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    516
    113
    45
    27
See reviews for
912
344
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santos
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel overall has much more good qualities than bad. The good: hotel room is like a small apartment ,with separate living room and kitchenette including stove, big size refrigerator, microwave, housewares, plates, cups, and so. You can easily cook simple foods. The bathroom is really big with shower and tub. The resort itself is big, not huge, and has two or three swimming pools , mini golf course, little grocery that works also as a restaurant (to order), children activities, among other activities. The staff is good, better daytime,( I think they are a bit shorter at night worsing services). The location is excellent, near Disney and many restaurants. They cover it all, mainly for a family with young children like us.
The bad: They only provide room services like once in about each seven days, so you may have to work a little bit to make unit clean. Although when they came you have full service, you can easily notice that all were absolutelly clean, even small and hiden spaces. They actually wash my dishes , so I have to give A+ to housekeeping, but not to resort policies about daily cleaning. You also don't have dry towels everyday,only two times a week ,but you can ask for them if you want. Other thing that for us is really boring is the timeshare apresentation you have to go in order to get tickets discounts, that work like a gift for your presence. The discounts are good, but although our timeshare cast member was really kind, it is a trap. You can do all the acounts later and you will see that it is overpriced ,for example they skip information about resort maintenance fees (about 1000/year). But as I said in the begining , it is a good and well maintened resort that worth the money you pay.

Room Tip: Ask for a new refurbished unit with two bedrooms, they are much better and bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drix08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Live Oak, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I only stayed one night but loved the resort. I actually stayed here because it was cheaper then just a plan hotel room I normally stay at. I will definitely come back when I can stay longer. Stayed in a one bedroom unit and shocked at how nice it was. If I was cooking it would have been fine for a week, full fridge and sink, dishes etc. Grounds were very nice, pools clean and love the fact you have a convenient store right near the pool for those items you may have forgotten.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed here over spring break 2013 (I am a little late in writing review). The location is great!! This resort very close to Disney, Sea World, shopping and grocery store. I think we stayed in one of the older rooms. We had a 2 bed 2 bath room. There were plenty of towels and they even gave extra towels for the pool. The carpet in our room was dirty and sticky (socks turned black). The furniture was uncomfortable, had stains on them and the chairs were all torn on the arm rests. The bathrooms had mold along the backs of the sinks and in the showers. The walls are thin, we did hear the neighbors watching tv (it was pretty loud) and hear their conversations. We did like the screened in porch and the pools were great for the kids. There are full size washer and dryers in the room which is very nice. We also liked the miniature golf course on property. I am sure the renovated rooms are much nicer, but our room was ok.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crzmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Grande Villas Resort! We’re sorry to read your concerns about the apartment you stayed in: there’s no excuse for poor housekeeping, and we regret any disappointment caused to you by this. We encourage guests to let our front desk team know if they have any concerns during their stay, as we’ll be happy to address any concerns as soon as they arise.

We really hope that this didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable vacation, and we’d love for you to give Grande Villas another try. We hope we’ll see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

we love this place. we stayed at this property for a week in one bed room unit. very clean, well kept. you could here the people next door , I think it's because the unit we stayed in was a part of next door . it's called lock out. but we had fun.
very friendly staff .
we loved dive in theater.
GOD's willing ,we will go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balvinder s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your review – we’re really glad that you enjoyed your recent vacation at the Grande Villas Resort! We hope that you’ll get the opportunity to return here for another visit, and we look forward to being of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at this property for a week in a 2 bedroom unit. The unit was very big, clean and very nice with granite counters and a washer and dryer.

The walls were very thin and you could here the people next door watching TV through the walls but still not that bad.

We stayed for free from a family owned time share but friends from Europe got a 1 bedroom for $60 per night on Expedia and they were also very happy.

Overall very nice stay and will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalRan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
We’re really pleased to read that you enjoyed your vacation at the Grande Villas Resort – thank you for your review! We’re delighted that you would like to return here, and we hope we’ll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My family and I stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom villa on the property and I have to say it was lovely! Very clean, updated and nicely furnished! The pizza place on site was not tremendously over priced ans I love the fact that the miniature golf was 24 hours and the pools were well maintained ans clean!! I went on a Groupon but I would definetey go back and pay full price:-)

Room Tip: The two bedroom villa sleeps at least 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QueenNita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your review! We’re really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Grande Villas, and that you’d like to come back here – we hope we’ll see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.0 mi away
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach
2.1 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 338 in Orlando
1,426 reviews
1.1 mi away
Floridays Resort
Floridays Resort
#19 of 338 in Orlando
7,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
2.2 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 338 in Orlando
3,074 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Villages - International Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Villas Resort

Property: Grande Villas Resort
Address: 12118 Turtle Cay Circle, Orlando, FL 32836-6400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grande Villas Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to deluxe accommodations for the whole family to enjoy, what area could possibly be better than Orlando, Florida? Avoid the hustle and bustle of traffic and overcrowded streets by refusing to settle for anything other than Grande Villas Resort. Here you will find relaxation and tranquility, all while giving yourself the pampering you and your family deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Villas Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing