We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms BUT no wifi and constantly flogging time share”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Villas Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

9am and the phone riings... time share offer of the day... three days in a row. Otherwise rooms spacious and well equipped - Air con was a little loud but fine. They dont change your linen. Finally the bathrooms were large with bath, shower and two sinks

Room Tip: We chose a high room for its views -what view??? Choose one near the pool
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarKochbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,583)
There are newer reviews for Grande Villas Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,001 - 1,007 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Terrific location if you are visiting the parks ONLY. 5 minutes to Sea World, 12/13 to Universal all on side roads. HOWEVER, if you plan on sitting at the pool afterwards, forget it. 200+ units, many 2BR and maybe 100 chaisse lounge chairs in the 2 relatively small, pool areas.
Property has a dated 'mini golf' course. This should be razed to allow more pool space.
Extremely tight, cramped property with 6-7 buildings with the pools in the middle. Property is dated. Rug work in the unit we were assigned looked like something I did and I can't hammer a nail. An old 'box' color TV was in the 2nd bedroom. Gold plated bathroom fixtures were awful looking. Neighbor could be heard. Our unit faced the maintenance shed. Guys started work early.....trust me.
Had to return to the office SIX times to get our entry cards reprogramed. After being told a few times to keep the cards away from my cell phone, I told the 'engineers' I didn't carry my phone around Orlando.
As far as being bothered by time share sales people.........when I checked in I was given a sheet of paper to walk over to 3 people at another desk for my check in 'present'. Knowing full well what was happening, I said I did not want any gifts and that in return, I did not want any time share people calling. NO one ever reached out.
BOTTOM line - if you get a good price for this location and only plan on visiting the parks, you could do worse.......

Room Tip: demand NOT to be situated near the maintenance building
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DRhodesNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We are very pleased to have welcomed you to our resort and thank you for noting our great location in your review! We apologize if you felt our resort was lacking in some areas. At Grand Villas Resort, we want all of our guests to be satisfied with their choice of staying with us. For that reason, there are many exciting refurbishment projects planned for our resort this year including adding new furniture at both pools. Another project entails replacing all of the key cards and door locks with a new “swipe” system. No more de-magnetizing your key card by putting it next to your cell phone! One more upcoming project is refurbishing many of our rooms over the next two years. Our Wi-Fi system will also be enhanced to provide better service for our guests. We know you will be pleased with all of our upcoming changes and we look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

First, this is a time share. If you are renting for a ridiculously cheap price you should know they want you there as potential buyers. As a reader of this review you should know that my wife and I are owners in Diamond International Resorts.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. It was recently renovated. Furniture and drapes were fairly new. The suite was spotless upon arrival. The grounds were attractive and nicely maintained and the pools and spa were clean. Every staff member I encountered was friendly and helpful.

One complaint - the wireless internet is poor. It must get overloaded and drops your device at times. This must be addressed quickly as almost every traveler needs and wants reliable service.

Overall, Grande Villas is a very nice resort and we would stay there again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

We are pleased that you would not hesitate to stay with us again and we hope you will chose to do so next time you are in the area. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights with our 1 year old baby and it was perfect. The hotel has a great location near parks and restaurants. Our room was nice and clean. They provided a pack and play for the baby.
Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Dated resort. We stayed in a 1 bedroom, Old hide a bed couch and dated kitchen table and chairs. Refrig would not open all the way due to the wall. kitchen hanger closet with the garbage can? Really? Tiny balcony with 2 rubbermaid chairs and small table. Saw 2 bedroom and that looked better with improvements. Pools ok and activities for families good. Staff was nice and I thought it was clean. Other plus, very close to disney, if that's what you want.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank fun040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at grand villas resort January 2014. I booked via expedia for approximately $40 per night for 9 nights! Upon arrival they said they had a "gift" for us at the information counter. Beware this is their first step to trying to enroll you into a timeshare presentation. We declined. He insisted a few times but we said we weren't interested. They called once during our stay to ask if we would reconsider and we again declined. If you accept they offer $75 credit card and discounts on tickets.
We stayed in a one bedroom which was sufficient for a couple (or a couple with a child). There is a king size bed and a pull out sofa. The bathroom is connected to the bedroom and not the main area so I would caution two couples from staying in a one bedroom if this is an issue. I found the room to be clean and in fairly good repair (a couple of cracked tiles but over all acceptable). The carpet in our room was fine. The kitchen had everything we needed. Beware the refrigerator is only bar size. The only issue was a constant beeping from the electrical room outside. I couldn't hear it if we closed the bathroom door so I didnt bother to complain.
There were people inspecting the heat detectors and sprinklers while we were there as apparently some were painted which makes them not as effective. I would inquire about this before staying there, especially with children! I assume it will soon be fixed.
the grounds were also acceptable. I did find the pool was a little dirty with leaves and bugs in it but we swam in it anyhow. The hot tub was ok as well. We also took advantage of the free 9 hole mini golf. Very basic and only took the two of us 15 minutes but again it was acceptable considering it was free.
There were plenty of places to eat near by. A few within a comfortable walking distance. Downtown disney would be almost an hour walk navigating some busy roads. A short drive. The day we arrived was new years day and it took 1. 5 hrs to drive a mile or so down apopka homeland but we had no issues any other days. Premium outlets are also very close.
overall I would recommend this hotel to budget conscious travellers. We were comfortable here and nothing would prevent us from staying again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mandyparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have stayed at many timeshare condos in the Lake Buena Vista area. This is one we will cross off the list. While the condo is spacious and has decent amenities in the room (full kitchen, washer/dryer, cuisinart appliances, etc.). It's simply too dirty. The carpet is so dirty it sticks to your feet when you walk and your feet turn black. The bathroom shower/bath are in need of repair (mold, needs new faucets, shower heads, etc.). Overall, the room we stayed in (2/2 B/B) is in serious need of overhaul, remodel, etc. While it is an excellent location, please be warned that the traffic on Apopka Vineland Road is terrible and can take up to 30 minutes or more to go a mile or two. Not worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SouthFLAFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

The lack of housekeeping you described in your is not acceptable and there is no excuse for a guestroom being dirty upon arrival. At Grande Villas Resort, we understand that carpets need regular cleaning to keep them looking their best. We will definitely make sure to bring up the sticky carpet with our housekeeping teams so this kind of oversight will not happen again. While it is true that several of our rooms do need updating, we should never have a room that does not meet cleanliness standards. We have passed your concerns about the shower heads and faucets to our Maintenance departments so they can follow up with the proper attention to these matters. We hope this has not marred your stay and you will consider us for your future bookings. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.1 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,458 reviews
2.2 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 340 in Orlando
3,173 reviews
1.9 mi away
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lake Buena Vista
1.1 mi away
Floridays Resort
Floridays Resort
#20 of 340 in Orlando
8,169 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Villas Resort

Address: 12118 Turtle Cay Circle, Orlando, FL 32836-6400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Orlando
Price Range: £59 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grande Villas Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to deluxe accommodations for the whole family to enjoy, what area could possibly be better than Orlando, Florida? Avoid the hustle and bustle of traffic and overcrowded streets by refusing to settle for anything other than Grande Villas Resort. Here you will find relaxation and tranquility, all while giving yourself the pampering you and your family deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grande Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Villas Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing