We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grande Villas Resort
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband, three children (2, 5, & 8), and I stayed in a 2 bdr, 4th floor suite. We loved it! Our room was spotless upon arrival. It was not the most modern suite but that's minor to us. Plenty of space for a family of 5. My girls loved the large jet tub in our room! The kitchen was nicely stalked and we didn't need for anything.

I was hesitant about this place because of the timeshare folks but it was hardly an issue. We arrived late at night and missed them at check-in. They called the next morning while we were out. I didn't return their call. That's the last I heard from them.

Over all, this was a great place to stay and the price was fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katseguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Grande Villas Resort – thank you for your review! We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here for another visit, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    516
    113
    44
    27
See reviews for
911
344
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

When we last visited Grande Villas, in October 2013, we were disappointed in our suite both in terms of position and maintenance. We mentioned this to staff as we left and were promised better on our next trip in Feb 2014. The staff were as good as their word and when we arrived in Feb 2014 we were happy with our 5th floor suite with excellent views over the pool. It was well looked after and generally we had no complaints.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a ground floor room as they tend to be dark and with a poor view from windows. Gen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKH245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
We are sorry to read that you had cause for complaint about the accommodation you stayed in during your previous visit to Grande Villas, but we are delighted that the team here were able to allocate an apartment which met with your satisfaction for this trip! We hope you’ll choose to come back here in the future, and we look forward to being of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I visit Florida regularly and on all visits ensure a visit to Orlando so I have stayed in many places for personal trips to work trips.

Our favourite has always been the Lake Buena Vista Resort Village & Spa but the standard has decreased while prices have increased and the Grande Vacation were offering a similar product for less than half the cost so we decided to give it a go.

We were very apprehensive but were pleasantly surprised, the apartment was roomy and bright, had everything you'd need for a stay. No the rooms aren't cleaned but thats because it is not a hotel, its an apartment complex with hotel facilities.

The facilities were also very good, 2 pools on site (others a little further away), a mini gold, shop, pizza place (very cheap!), free coffee in reception, Wifi at a charge - $20.00 for a week, normally this would annoy me but due to what I paid for the rental I didn't mind.

What I didn't like was the incessant attempts to get me to go on a time share visit, everytime I walked into reception to ask for something they asked and they left several messages and also woke us up on a morning I told them not to disturb us. This needs addressing.

While we were there major outside (pavements etc) refurbishment work started and water was shut off for a whole day - both with just 1 days notice which I was less than happy with so yes I complained - nothing was really done but this doesn't take away from the fact that outside of these issues this is a lovely resort.

Location is amazing, 30 seconds from I4, Downtown Disney entrance on 535, too many eateries to choose from, many within walking distance which is unusual unless staying on i-drive.

We had the 2 bedroom and my friends joined us for the weekend and stayed in a 1 bedroom, I wouldn't recommend the 1 bedroom for longer than a few nights and not for those with small children as the living area is where the 2nd bed is and no way to cut off the cooker etc from "small hands", so could be dangerous.

Always request higher floor if you don't want to be woken as the 1st floor meant we could here everything, cars parking, children in pool etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeyp0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We read your comments with pleasure and are glad to know that you were satisfied with your choice of holiday destination. We are sorry if you being approached by the sales team inconvenienced you in any way. We would like to assure you that we do not advocate ‘pushy’ sales approach, should you wish to contact us directly and provide the details of the person you were in contact with, we would address this issue immediately. It appears that you had an otherwise enjoyable stay, however, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The location is ideal for all of the major attractions in Orlando. Free parking and easy access in and out of the resort made day trips a breeze. There are two resorts side by side and you get access to play at both so there are three pools, plus free mini putt on property which is ideal for after the parks or just to spend a day catching some rays and having fun. We stayed in a one bedroom suite which featured a small but functional kitchen and a very comfortable bed. It's a time share property so no daily housekeeping but there is a twice weekly towel exchange. There is a pizza and sandwich/deli store on property which is quite handy if you have had enough of dining out, we took advantage of this a couple of times and it was a nice service to have close by. While we were invited to the time share orientation session, we were never pressured. Overall our experience here was very positive and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which made for very easy access to the pool and parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with friends for whom this is their home resort, for two separate weeks. Week one was a second floor apartment where we used two bedrooms.
It being their resort, we had the smaller twin bedded room. Although there was a decent sized wardrobe, storage space was at a premium. The bathroom was adequate but compared to the bedroom it was too large. We would have preferred to trade some bathroom space for more space in the bedroom and additional drawer space.
That said, the living area was quite roomy.
The unit was very clean however, there were noticeable signs of wear to kitchen cupboards and I thought it shouldn't be too long before the place was refurbished.
Week two was a quite different experience. We were joined by a third couple with their little girl. Although still in the twin bedded room it was part of a three bedroomed unit located on the ground floor (C11). They may all be three bed units for all I know but this was far better proportioned than the first one. Slightly smaller living area perhaps but bed two was bigger and had an additional chest of drawers. Sounds silly but those extra drawers made a big difference. We were able to stow our cases instead of living out of them and the extra space also allowed us to get our golf travel bags out of sight. Smaller but nicely fitted, possibly recently refurbished bathroom was perfectly adequate.
The kitchen wasn't showing signs of wear like the previous unit, was very pleasant and was well equipped.
The master bedroom was a good size and had a spa bath as well as a walk in shower.
The third 'bedroom' was in fact a mini unit with its own small living space and kitchen, a good sized bedroom and bed plus the normal bathroom facilities.
No clean or change of towels while we were there and this seems to be more the norm these days.
The pool areas were very busy on all but cloudy days. The problem is exacerbated by the fact that the buildings around the pool areas are for the most part between four and five storeys tall. As a result, only some of the pool surround gets sun all day and the sunny beds get nabbed very early although not necessarily occupied. The pool we went in was fine, if a little cool when you first got in (grit your teeth).
Parking was busy at times but we always found a space within thirty yards of the entrance to our building. Whilst I would be perfectly happy to stay there again, this market is extremely competitive and units showing even slight wear can create a negative reaction.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank raegladwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and the constructive criticism you agreed to share with us. We apologise for any shortcomings you may have encountered during your stay. We hope that this has not inconvenienced you and that we may see you coming back in the future, yet until then we wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at Grande Villas Resort from 18th January to 30th January. We had booked ourselves via an independent hotel provider online for a very good rate for 12 nights for 2 adults. The resort is located a comfortable 25 minute from Orlando International Airport.

Check-in was very quick and easy, the reception staff where very warm and welcoming. They do require a credit card deposit of $100 on check-in (the hold of $100 was very quickly returned to my card after departure).

After check-in we were invited to attend a timeshare presentation on a day and time of our choice but we kindly declined and where not hassled any further after refusing. The lady on the timeshare desk was very helpful and gave us a welcome pack with lots of coupons and guide leaflets for local areas and the theme parks. They did also try to sell us theme park and attraction tickets but we had already purchased these prior to travelling.

Having read reviews and suggestions regarding room choice on here by others, we had requested prior to arrival a room in the yellow building on an upper floor, our request was granted and we were allocated a one bedroom unit (B212B located in the yellow block right across from the reception, super quiet and near the entrance/exit).

The bathroom is located through the master bedroom and was huge!! There was plenty towels for both the bathroom and for using at the pool, hairdryer etc. The kitchen/living room was a lovely size and equipped with everything you should/would need including cable TV, sofa and a dining suite. The bedroom was a lovely size too equipped with cable TV, a lovely big bed which had the most super comfy pillows I personally have had in any hotel! Air con and heating also work perfectly.

Our rooms where cleaned once a week and clean towels, toilet roll etc replaced every two days, which was more than enough for us.

WIFI is $4.99/day or $19.99/week. This service is provided currently by an external host so the hotel does not control over it. There is however computer stations in the reception area which you can use to gain access to the internet for free. Tea/coffee was also available free of charge in the reception area.

There was a pool, hot tub, shop, gym etc but we did not make use of any of these while staying so are unable to comment but they did all look clean and well maintained.

The resort is located within walking distance to the main street Vineland. Winn Dixie and Walgreens are also within walking distance. Walmart is only a 5 minute drive away and is HUGE! There are plenty of restaurants within walking and driving distance of the resort.

The resort is also located so close to many parks - Disney entrance is about 5 minute drive away, as is the WetNWild water park. SeaWorld, Universal Studios/Island of Adventures about 10 minute drive away and Kennedy Space Center is about 1 hour away. Busch Gardens is about a 1 hour 30 minute drive.

This resort was ideal for our stay for so many reasons and would recommend to anyone looking for a self-catering resort which is central to all the attractions.

Room Tip: Yellow building opposite the reception on an upper floor. Clean, quite and nearest to entrance and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaznRoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for this detailed review of your stay at Grande Villas! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and would recommend the resort to others, and we feel sure that the information you have provided will be of great benefit to future guests! We hope you’ll choose to come back here in the future, and we look forward to being of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I've read mixed reviews on this hotel but we thoroughly enjoyed our time at this hotel. The rooms are spacious, there are 2 heated pools and free mini golf. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank StaceyB0620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Grande Villas Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Grande Villas Resort, and we hope that our team were able to provide you with everything you needed during your stay. We hope you’ll consider us for future visits to Orlando – we’d love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.0 mi away
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach
2.1 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 338 in Orlando
1,424 reviews
1.1 mi away
Floridays Resort
Floridays Resort
#19 of 338 in Orlando
7,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 338 in Orlando
3,067 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Villages - International Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Villas Resort

Property: Grande Villas Resort
Address: 12118 Turtle Cay Circle, Orlando, FL 32836-6400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grande Villas Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to deluxe accommodations for the whole family to enjoy, what area could possibly be better than Orlando, Florida? Avoid the hustle and bustle of traffic and overcrowded streets by refusing to settle for anything other than Grande Villas Resort. Here you will find relaxation and tranquility, all while giving yourself the pampering you and your family deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Villas Resort Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing