We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been fantastic - if not for the thieving maids!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area
Ranked #96 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Homewood, Alabama, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Would have been fantastic - if not for the thieving maids!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Let me preface this by saying, the General Manager Eric K. was very apologetic about the situation and began an internal investigation. However, that does not change the fact that one of the maids took cash from our room and left a mess instead of cleaning. The hotel is in a very good location for Universal and not far from Disney and other Orlando attractions. The hotel next to them offer buses to Universal and if you dont call for bus passes more than 24 hours in advance then you must try the first come first serve line at 7:15am. We had 5 people and fit in the double bed suite comfortably. The couch bed was fairly comfortable and the actual beds were nice. The room was equipped with a pull out desk and small flat screen along with other end tables and coffee tables. The room is lit mainly by lamps. And our main lamp didnt work when we first got there but it was quickly replaced. The hotel was quiet despite a bus load of teens on a convention. The breakfast was good, waffles, sausage, eggs, bagels, muffins, cereal, juice, milk, coffee, oatmeal, etc. A lot to choose from. The pool was pathetic, it was 4ft deep everywhere and very small. The business center and fitness center were small but effective. Now to the maids, we did not expect a lot of actual cleaning because we had 5 people and its very hard to work around all of our junk. The beds were maid and towels and toiletries replaced, until one day we just got the worst. He/She didnt replace the toiletries, took cash we had in the room (it was hidden but apparently not well), and (here is the kicker) put one of our t-shirts in the toilet with THEIR urine. Got to love it! I dont care how mad you are at the amount of junk in the room, or how "hard" we make your job you absolutely dont steal and you definitely do not pee in the toilet and put a guests shirt in it.

Room Tip: There really is no good view, all rooms seem to be equally quiet but definitely get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Hannah, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay. As you know, I discussed the incident with the housekeeper in question, who concurred with your statement that you were in the suite during the time she cleaned it. We checked the logs on our electronic locks and there were no unusual entries, finding only your guest keys and the housekeeper’s were used to enter the room during the time period in question. We still consider this an open matter, and if there is any further detail you can provide that would give us more certainty as to the circumstances that lead to this issue, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I truly want to make this right for you as it is a most unusual situation and undoubtedly a major inconvenience for you. I do not take this complaint lightly, and I hope that despite this issue we can make you feel at ease in choosing Comfort Suites again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    233
    61
    17
    16
See reviews for
379
123
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great hotel blocks from Universal Studios. Clean. Great rooms. Excellent breakfast. Very close to all Orlando locations. Outlet malls are a few blocks away. Easy driving to Disney. Drove 45 minutes to Kennedy Space Center to watch Atlas V launch. Miami is a few hours drive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Joe, Thank you so much for the great review of your stay with us! We hope you will think of us next time you visit Orlando!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We only stayed at this hotel for 2 nights July 4-5, 2013 but will definitely be back! The rooms were very large. We had 2 queen beds and a pull-out sofa. Rooms also include mini fridge and microwaves. Beds were comfy and room was clean. The room stayed cool and we never heard any outside noise. The price of this hotel is a great deal, especially if you have a larger family. Breakfast was good with eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit, cereal, breakfast breads, etc.
The hotel is within walking distance to Universal (but once you include walking thru Universal's parking area and City Walk you are probably looking at at least a mile)
The only thing negative about this hotel was the water pressure in the shower. It was horrible! That is the only reason I didn't give this resort 5 stars.
We stayed 2 nights at a Universal Resort and paid 3 times as much and were extremely dissappointed and wished we had just stayed the whole time at Comfort Suites.
We will be back the next time we visit Universal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
sassysince1997, Thank you for the great review! I'm sorry you did not like the water pressure in the shower. You may or may not have noticed adjustments on the shower head which regulates the pressure. Another issue could have been that many other guests were taking showers at the same time, which can slow up the pressure. Either way, I can assure you that we have solid water pressure throughout the hotel. We hope you visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

july 2nd thru 5th,2013 This the second time to this hotel and it is still great , super clean rooms, a great friendly staff which will help you with all you need. I highly recommend this hotel... 5 stars in my book we will be back without a doubt

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinny947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Vinny, Thank you for being a frequent guest of the Comfort Suites. You have posted several nice reviews and I could not be happier you enjoyed your stay with us! Please be sure you let me know when you come back to visit, I would love to meet you. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect, pa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

we really enjoyed it here. the people at the front desk were beyond helpful with all of our many, many questions! it was within walking distance to Universal but we took the shuttle there and a taxi back as it was hot and we did a lot of walking at the park. The rooms were clean and decent for a family of 4 (2 teens). Breakfast was really good. My daughter loved the chocolate chip muffins. Make sure you don't book a room directly from the hotel. the hotel is a little expensive but we stayed for about $75 a night in June which was about half of what the hotel was offering. we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klkc2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
klkc2005, Thank you for the nice review of your stay with us. We hope you visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2013

reasonable price in terms of the room condition, breakfast and free business center service. friendly desk and room service. convinient shuttle. will stay here again if come to this area for business. the only drawback which all the hotels in that area shares is the inconvinience of food choices and no grocery stores around.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraTien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
DebraTien, We appreciate the great review of your recent stay with us. Just to clarify, when you decide to visit us again, there are a number of restaurants and grocery stores within a 2-3 mile radius and we are only 1/4 mile to the maingate of Universal Studios. Just visit the front desk on your next visit and we will be happy to provide you with directions and recommendations. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We chose this hotel because it was close to universal studios. The room was big, clean, beds comfortable, and it was quite. No noise from the other rooms. There was also a big enough selection for breakfast. We would definatly chose this hotel again if we go back to the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurogaltng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
eurogaltng, Thank you for the great review! We work hard everyday to ensure our guests receive a clean, comfortable suite with great service. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Florida Center
Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn
#55 of 338 in Orlando
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#118 of 338 in Orlando
438 reviews
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area

Property: Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area
Address: 5617 Major Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#64 Family Hotel in Orlando
#88 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#113 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area Hotel Orlando
Comfort Suites Orlando
Orlando Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area Orlando, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing