We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean and Close to Universal Studios!”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #114 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean and Close to Universal Studios!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I highly recommend this Comfort Suites if you are planning on going to Universal Studios. Check in was easy and pleasant and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room itself was clean and very spacious. The front desk even called 15 minutes after check in to make sure everything was to our liking. I've stayed at 5 star hotels that don't bother to do that! The hotel is close to Universal. If you felt energetic and wanted to walk, there is a sidewalk you could take but we saved our feet for the park and opted to take a taxi for about $5 each way. The taxi brought us right to the escalators with no hassle or waiting. We were told that the parking fee for Universal was $16 all day. The hotel has a shuttle service as well but you have to go across the street to the Holiday Inn to sign up for it. It is a first come first serve type of shuttle. The breakfast in the morning offered everything you could want. I would have preferred more fresh fruit offered over carb loaded foods but that's just my personal preference. There is so much to do just outside of the hotel besides the park. It is about 15-20 minutes from The Mall at Millenia and Premium Outlet malls as well as tons of restaurants. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Orlando Universal Studios!

Room Tip: Request a room that does NOT have an attached door to another room! We could hear the people in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiveLife72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
I'm so happy we met or exceeded your expectations. My staff works hard, everyday, to ensure our guests are happy and well taken care of. You will always have a place to stay when you visit Orlando! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    235
    61
    17
    17
See reviews for
381
125
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at this Comfort Suites directly across from Universal Studios parking garage, so it was really convenient to access Universal Studios. There are lots of good restaurants around the area also. The rooms were very clean and spacious and we had 2 queen beds and a pullout sofa in each of our 2 rooms, which was very handy! The free breakfast included in your room breakfast was plentiful with lots of great choices! We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: ask for a room with queen beds and a pull out sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
DebbieB, We appreciate the fantastic review of your recent stay with us. I'm so happy to hear we met your expectations and hope you will consider us again when your travels bring you back to sunny Orlando Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I'd just stayed two nights at an on-site hotel - which is a different caliber of experience but with associated cost. But that said - one can't get much closer to the parks and if one adds in the value of the breakfast with hot food and the spaciousness of the rooms and the free wifi - it's perfect as a Value-level hotel.

We checked in at around 5pm on Labor Day Saturday - took about 2 minutes! Our room was perfectly clean as were the hallways and lobby. We did not explore the pool area or business center. Wifi was open and good in our room. Air conditioning was fine as was the water temperature and pressure for showers. Microwave and fridge etc there for us, although we didn't use it. We liked the suite aspects with the couch, desk area and very many outlets for charging our electronic gadgets - many hotels/motels never have enough and one has to unplug something - not here!

Breakfast was ready at 7, well-replenished and with a very good selection.

The drive to Universal was, as others have said, less than 5 minutes. I don't think I would choose to walk or take the shuttle but since I did neither can't comment with details. We have a preferred annual pass with free Universal parking - and in the future, if not going at peak or moderate times, will return to this hotel rather than staying at a resort hotel. It didn't take any longer to drive/park/walk to the parks than it did from the resorts by walking or taking the water taxis.

The attendant at the desk on checkout was courteous and asked about our stay.

While we didn't make reservations through the Universal website (https://www.universalorlando.com/Vacation-Packages/Partner-Value-Hotels.aspx) I understand that sometimes there are benefits (other than Universal Express Passes) that can be achieved booking that way so check it out when making your plans. I will do so in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveh2ofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
loveh2ofl, I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We understand that travelers have many lodging choices in Orlando, so we try to differentiate ourselves by providing top notch service to your guests. If you ever visit Orlando again, please keep us in mind. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is an ideal place to stay with a family when visiting Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure... the location is great. It is a short drive if you have car, or the hotel offers a free shuttle. As people have mentioned, the shuttle pick up is across the street, but that is not a big deal. One thing you may want to consider as you are making plans is how often during the day you will be returning to the hotel room. The shuttle seems to make several runs to the park in the morning, then it won't start picking people up from the parks until the evening, If you have little ones who need a break or a nap around mid-day, this shuttle schedule may not work for you.

Another thing to keep in mind is that the shuttle fills up quickly. So try to make a reservation as soon as you check in to the hotel. If you arrive later in the evening, and plan to visit the parks the following morning, the shuttle may be booked up before you have an opportunity to make a reservation,

I did notice people walking to the parks from the hotel (and the other nearby hotels), but it is a long walk. Not sure I'd recommend it, at least not in the summer heat.

The hotel room was great. We actually wound up switching rooms midway through our stay because our wifi access was a little too weak in our initial room (we were at the end of the building), and both rooms were very spacious. The second room we were assigned even had two showers, which was perfect for our family with two kids. (I think it was a wheelchair accessible room.)

The room was clean, the beds were comfy, and everything seemed relatively updated and modern. There was a fridge and a microwave which came in handy.

The staff was wonderful and kind, even during the busiest times.

The breakfast was what you would expect, and the breakfast area did get quite crowded. But we always found a place to sit and it is a great way to fill up before heading out for a day of fun.

There are some fast food places and a couple of sit down restaurants nearby. Those came in handy as well.

In all, I'd recommend this hotel. It's a great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
travelOne, Thank you for the thorough review of your stay with us! I was happy to see you enjoyed your stay at the Comfort Suites, please keep us in mind if you travel to Orlando in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and were entirely satisfied. Clean, comfortable, very helpful staff and good service throughout (pool, business centre, laundry room etc) - perfect for universal (a two minute drive). Breakfast good - more choice and better quality than expected. Didn't try the bus service - did drive to sea world and the vineland mall (both straightforwad 20 mins or so drive). Very good value. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricWhiteside7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Eric, Thank you for the nice review of our hotel. We are in a great location across from Universal Studios and many restaurants and shopping. Please keep us in mind when you visit Orlando again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is a typical Comfort Inn quality hotel with no surprises. The fitness center is really nice and has more exercise machines than other Comfort Inns I've visited. The business center is also very private and nice. Breakfast were the usual Comfort Inn items like scramble eggs, sausages, waffle, and other cold items. We were given a room for the disabled so it was huge. The room is tidy but still doesn't feel too clean. It just may be me. This is a no frill hotel. The location is definitely worth mentioning. It is within walking distance to the park entrance. It took me roughly 30 minutes each way. There is also a Walgreen and many restaurants within a short 5-10 minute walking distance.

We found a restaurant nearby called Border Grill that serves authentic Mexican food at a very reasonable price. It's definitely worth a try if you like Mexican food,

So, if you are going to Universal Studios, stay here and you won't be disappointed as long as you don't expect too much.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HipHipHop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. I'm sorry you did not feel the suite was clean up to your standards. We take great pride in the overall cleanliness of our hotel, because that is what the traveling public expects and deserves. If you ever stay with us or any other Choice property in the future, please contact guest services to rectify the issue right away. Otherwise, it appeared you had a good time visiting Orlando, so we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My family and I stayed here for three nights at the beginning of our Orlando trip to take advantage of the early admission into both Universal Orlando Theme Parks. The king size room we occupied was fine. Amenities included: small refrigerator/freezer, microwave, coffee maker and cable TV. Comfort Suites offers inclusive daily hot breakfast, a workout room and outdoor pool. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Check-in and out was easy and quick. Comfort Suites is just one block east of International Drive. Wet n Wild, The Fun Spot and Universal Parks are only five minute drives away. Tip - Book your Comfort Suite stay through Universalorlando.com and you obtain not only tickets for both Universal Parks but you also receive early admission to both parks for the length of your Comfort Suites stay. This feature allowed us to ride the popular Harry Potter ride and the new Transformers Ride without any wait time. Admission to IA is usually 9AM but we were admitted at 8AM and at US, we were admitted at 7AM instead of 8AM. For early risers like my family, this is a great feature we just could not pass on. Great stay; Great nine day vacation. Ps. Give The Fun Spot (FunSpotAttractions.com) a try. It's a great amusement park with two new rollercoasters, four or five go-car tracks and other rides. The food is reasonably priced and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: One way in and out of the hotel. Good for safety purposes. We stayed on the third floor. Area was re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kennyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekrakow, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Kenny, We appreciate you sharing your experience. We work hard everyday, to ensure our guests enjoy their stay at the Comfort Suites. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn
#55 of 339 in Orlando
1,022 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#124 of 339 in Orlando
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 5617 Major Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#64 Family Hotel in Orlando
#88 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#113 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area Hotel Orlando
Comfort Suites Orlando, Florida
Orlando Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing