We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal
Ranked #138 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
264 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 641 helpful votes
“Convenient and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

My wife and I wanted a place near Universal Studios for three nights in late April, ‘12, that was comfortable, quiet, and convenient. Since we don’t have kids we weren’t as concerned about family-friendly features as many visitors might be. We booked this as part of a Universal Studios package that included park tickets.

For us the Crowne Plaza was a very good choice. It is conveniently located not far from the park and from International Drive. There is a free scheduled shuttle to the park that serves a number of hotels but we opted to take a taxi (about $10 for a 10-min ride) because we could choose our time and avoid the hassle of signing up in advance. Also, we wanted to take advantage of the early admission our package offered and that was difficult with the shuttle. The cost of taxis to and from the park was about the same as the parking fee at the park and much more convenient.

The hotel is an attractive high rise with a large lobby and sitting area looking out toward the pool area. There is a restaurant and bar but we did not use either. Free wi-fi is available in the lobby area but not the rooms. Our room was on the 10th floor and was very comfortable. It was entered from a balcony surrounding an enclosed atrium, so all rooms have views outward. The room was fair-sized and nicely decorated, with a built-in closet, mini-bar, comfortable double bed, and a sitting area by the large window with a reading chair and table. The bathroom was attractive but ready for some updating. There was a tub-shower combo and adequate counter space. The a.c. was quiet and effective.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, particularly the front desk clerk who helped us get into our room a bit early, and the bellman who consulted with us about nearby restaurants and strategies for getting to the park.

All in all we liked the Crowne Plaza and recommend it, though it might be best suited for couples or for small families.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,019
    702
    267
    90
    60
See reviews for
651
616
67
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Very comfy rooms & beds & pillows. Nice size. Love the temp control. $10 shuttle to universal & not far. Costly breakfast. There is a pool & bar. No views from room but didn't care.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raven_Lenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plover
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Crown Plaza was a wonderful place to stay. It was very well located with great shopping, restaurants & close to all the attractions.
We would definetly stay here again. Clean, well maintained and the staff was the most impressive of all!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaundraPlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

from the very moment i walked into their lobby i was greated by very cheerful and helpful staff, anything from room service, restaurant which offers small variety but great tasting, the room with a great view, etc was great. If you are looking for peace of mind, this is it. Pool area is small but clean, I would definitely go back and enjoy the tranquility this hotel has to offer.I was dissapointed about their spa services which offers on-call massage therapist with few days notice which i did not know ahead of time

Room Tip: "Quiet Zone", believe it or not name says it all
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Nice hotel conveniently located for Universal Studios and the Congress Center. Very nice and spacious rooms. Nice pool. Free Wi-Fi in the lobby

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prcoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Stayed here on memorial day weekend 2012, and although I knew the city would be packed, the attentiveness and courtesy of the staff at the hotel was truly next to perfect considering the traffic . The front desk was very accommodating in terms of moving us up to another floor and a bigger room , just by asking . The room was very clean and they changed the towels and linen within 2 hours of the request . No issues, very smooth, and quick with service, I will def stay here next time Im in Orlando

Room Tip: Certain corners of the hotel give you a view of the Disney Fireworks
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravenus110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Hotel was as expected for a Crowne Plaza brand. Room and bathroom is clean, service was great, central location. I recall they have shuttles to Universal Studios but we had a rental so we had no need for it. One comment about the room is the airconditioner. Why would they have the vent so close right beside the bed? Air was blowing in my face even after I moved the vents to face up and away.
The buffet breakfast seem really expensive(almost $50 for 2 incl tax and tip) for a regular breakfast fare of omelette, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, hash brown patties, oatmeal, fruits, bread and pastries. Kudos to the staff though. We came in almost closing time (11am), they cleaned up a little bit but never broke down the buffet line until we left. There was no grumbling whatsoever.
We stayed on what seems a non busy time as there are not a lot of people around but the parking lot seems really full at night. On a peak season, I would say it would be harder to find parking. Parking is only around the perimeter of the hotel, one lane facing the hotel and another facing the roads. What's good about this is they have hotel access doors on the side and around back so you don't have to go around all the way to the lobby to enter the hotel.
Checking in and checking out needs improvement though. I had to wait almost half an hour to check in. There were 5 people in line and only one person at the counter. After a long flight, I just wanted to go to my room. Check out via TV was unavailable(maybe broken) so I had to call the lobby to check out. Good thing I don't have to fall in line to do this. The front desk person said the call was good enough for check out.
All in all it specific comments were minor details to be. I had a good experience and I will stay here again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melmaya27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
The Point Orlando Resort
#25 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,419 reviews
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal

Property: Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal
Address: 7800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#72 Business Hotel in Orlando
#96 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#124 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the adventure capital of the world, enjoy the award winning service and experience of Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal. Recently voted the top hotel in guest satisfaction among all Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts, this Orlando, hotel is where relaxation meets adventure! The perfect blend of modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting soaring 15 stories over world renowned International Drive and offering views of popular local attractions and their fireworks or seasonal light shows. A masterpiece that blends Park Avenue elegance with the chic deco of South Beach. The hotel features complimentary scheduled shuttle service to the Universal Orlando Resort including Islands of Adventure, City Walk and Universal Studios, the Worlds of Discovery theme parks including Sea World of Orlando and water pakr, Aquatica, the Walt Disney World theme parks and Wet n Wild. The hotel is also a stop on the I Ride Trolley, serving Universal Boulevard and the International Drive areas for just dollars a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, IHG, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Orlando Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Orlando
Crowne Plaza Universal Orlando
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing