We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd
Ranked #156 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed two nights for a quick visit to Orlando. As Platinum members we were upgraded to the executive floor which had some nice amenities. The room was fresh, clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast and happy hour on our floor were nice as well. The front desk staff and concierge were very nice as well - we were pleasantly greeted by them and the valet gentlemen every time we departed/arrived. A++ overall!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AshleyR314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments. Our Executive Level rooms are very popular and the attendants in the lounge have been with us for years and know many of our guests by name. I appreciate that you took the time to share your experience. You are only a few hours drive so visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 2,265 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

I travel for business to Orlando every month and sometimes twice a month. I always stay at this location. One of the biggest reasons is the staff. The front desk is very courteous and the bar and restaurant staff is very friendly. I look forward to finishing my day on the road and go relax at the patio by the pool with a drink and my cigar. Betty and Jennifer run the outdoor Bar, go check them out. They do a terrific job keeping the guest entertained and proving excellent service. The rooms are always very clean. I highly recommend this hotel for business travelers or vacations.

Room Tip: If you are a platinum priority club member you will be upgraded if rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan33647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor readers. I appreciate that you made mention of our staff and especially Betty and Jennifer at our Aqua Bar by the pool. Your loyalty as a Platinum Rewards Member means a lot to us andI hope you continue to call us your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Arrived almost midnight with a large group, keys were handed to us immediately. Inquired what we get for being IHG member, no points since we booked through a travel agency, only 10% discounts on food and free cup of coffee which we declined. On the 3rd day of our stay, we found out we could have free wifi access in our room by showing them our IHG membership card.
Rooms are big with 2 double beds, AC functioning well. Cough a lot (dry cough) when I am inside the room, so don't know whether it is because of the mattress or the carpet...Breakfast was so-so but there is this guy (forgot his name) who does wonderful omelet and the waiters were so friendly, attentive and fast with our requests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hapiness168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

I thank you for sharing comments about your recent visit to the Crowne Plaza Universal. More importantly, I hope that everyone you know in the Philippines is safe and sound given the terrible recent weather events. Please visit with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have now stayed here 3 years in a row. This visit we stayed a full month.


From the second we got there we had a huge welcome pack including sunscreens, snacks, outdoor plastic cups, towel and some extra things. Blew us away. Thanks Claudine, an absolute asset to the hotel.


The staff are amazing and always willing to do what ever is needed to make our stay more comfortable and fun. A massive thank you to Ricardo, Lisandra, Gary, Vicki, Anthony, Jason, Kevin, Jim, Doug, Phil, Anthony, Betty, Jen and yeah and the front desk/valet guy that asked me for ID for a room key. Everyone had a laugh out of that one. Your identity will remain a secret to protect you..haha.


An extra special thankyou to Claudine for putting up with us and just making it the best stay. Also to Matt the absolute best bar tender in Orlando. If either of these staff ever went else were it would be very hard not to follow they just made our stay. Not taking away from anyone else, they whole crew are amazing


The great thing about everyone there is we get treated like a mate/friend not a number. This hotel is the best kept secret in Orlando. We hope it stays that way :-) Nothing better than having only a few people by the pool. Great Pool area music and a good selection of games in and around the games room.


Could go on and on about how great this place is but instead we are planning the next visit next year

Room Tip: They are all great, depends on what your looking for. They have many different types. King, Queen s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you so much for sharing. It was a true pleasure meeting you both and I hope to see you again soon. Our wonderful team has gotten to know you like family and I know they appreciate your kind comments as much as I do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Great, centrally located hotel for all the nearby attractions. Nice, good sized rooms, clean throughout, good sized pool, really lovely staff and great breakfast buffet - nothing bad to say at all and the room rate was pretty good value. Would definitely recommend it for either couples or families.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Carrie_and_Matt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

I am so happy that you enjoyed your experience at our Crowne Plaza. The location cannot be beat with so much to do nearby. But if you dont care to leave the hotel just lounging by the pool is perfect as well. Please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We checked in here at 1pm even though we knew the room would not be available until 4pm. After flying from Australia, overnighting in Dallas we didn't want to do the touristy thing straight away so we sat at the bar in Elements. The lady behind the bar was very helpful and little did we know we would become friends with her by the end of the trip. Had salads from the menu and they were pretty good for the small price we paid. The caesar salad in the basket was quite unique and my fajita salad was very tasty. We did check in to our room at about 4pm and the room was comfortable even though it was a little tired. The staff had offered us another room if we wanted to check in earlier but we had selected the Junior Suite as we were staying for 7 nights and wanted a little more room. The air conditioning was very noisy, but we did manage to work out tactics to minimise this. The pool bar was a great place to visit on Saturday night and service here too was excellent. The hotel is only a short walk to International Drive and has many restaurants in walking distance, The tourist desk was more than happy to arrange trips for us and gave us some hints. When leaving the hotel during the day, the staff at the foyer were always friendly, and offered tips where to go. Quick with a joke and welcomed us back every time we arrived back from our jaunts. But, what really made this hotel so really special were the girls in the Elements Bar. When seeing us in the hall way we were always met by our names. Jennifer behind the bar made sure our favourite wine was available. This girl was simply amazing. She not only looked after the Elements Bar and the Pool Bar on one occasion but also the room service as well. But she was always so happy. It was great to see her face at the Bar when we turned up. Her customer service was exceptional. We will miss her! The breakfasts were great and service was excellent here as well. The only downside we can say was the hotel transport. We used this when going to the Epcot Centre. We weren't given an option of a taxi and was supplied a limo. When researching taxi fares to here they were in the vicinity of $30 and by limo it was $41. When asking for a taxi to return to the airport, the hotel limo provided the service. We were a little shocked when we were charged $45 when arriving at the airport. The journey by taxi on the way to the hotel was certainly not this much. Also the Epcot centre was further away. The hotel should supply both options, taxi or limo.

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior Suite if you want a little more room. Also, take the air conditioner off auto to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

I appreciate your very thorough review and I know our Trip Advisor readers will as well. Thank you very much for mentioning the staff and especially Jennifer. I know she will appreciate your comments. Please visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Hotel was nice. Great location central to everything. Room was nice size. We enjoyed our couples retreat. Seth and Maria at the front desk were awesome and special thank you to Bianca. They represent fine customer service. We enjoyed our stay and plan to return on our next trip to Orlando.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsP0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your visit with us at the Crowne Plaza Universal. I know our team members, Bianca, Seth, and Maria will appreciate that you took the time to recognize their service to you. I know I do. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#54 of 341 in Orlando
5,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Point Hotel & Suites
#19 of 341 in Orlando
4,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd

Address: 7800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#72 Business Hotel in Orlando
#96 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#123 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: £85 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the adventure capital of the world, enjoy the award winning service and experience of Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal. Recently voted the top hotel in guest satisfaction among all Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts, this Orlando, hotel is where relaxation meets adventure! The perfect blend of modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting soaring 15 stories over world renowned International Drive and offering views of popular local attractions and their fireworks or seasonal light shows. A masterpiece that blends Park Avenue elegance with the chic deco of South Beach. The hotel features complimentary scheduled shuttle service to the Universal Orlando Resort including Islands of Adventure, City Walk and Universal Studios, the Worlds of Discovery theme parks including Sea World of Orlando and water pakr, Aquatica, the Walt Disney World theme parks and Wet n Wild. The hotel is also a stop on the I Ride Trolley, serving Universal Boulevard and the International Drive areas for just dollars a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Orlando Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Orlando
Crowne Plaza Universal Orlando
Crowne Plaza Orlando - Universal Blvd Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing