We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great off-property option for Orlando parks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal
Ranked #144 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
St. Pete, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great off-property option for Orlando parks”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights for our Disney vacation and had a great stay. The junior suite was well-appointed with a nice view. We utilized the Executive Lounge each morning for breakfast (your standard continental fair: Bagels, yogurt, fruit, coffee, cereal, etc.) and free wifi. The concierge was prompt at scheduling shuttles or calling a cab. The shuttle service was definitely convenient for avoiding the $15/day parking fee at Disney (they have 2 AM drop off times and 2 PM pickup times, so if you can't work with that schedule, you'll have to find an alternative). Everything was clean and well appointed, so no complaints with the hotel. It was a considerable discount to the themed hotels on Disney property, which was great.

One thing to note: There is no free wifi in the rooms, which is why I'm giving it a 4-star rating. As we were there for vacation, it didn't really affect our stay, but if I were there on business (pretty much the only other reason I'm in Orlando) that would have been problematic. In this day and age, that kind of nickel and diming (it was like $7/day for 24 hour access in-room) is a little archaic. If I can go to the Mcdonald's up the road, buy a $1 coffee and use their wifi all day, at $80/night for a room, free wifi is not unreasonable.

Room Tip: The junior suite comes with a mini-fridge and a pull out couch, so definitely go with the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopgirlmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for sharing. Your thorough critique is very helpful to our Trip Advisor readers. You highlighted some very good tips for our future visitors to take note. I am sorry that we missed the 5th Star due to internet costs. Internet is complimentary in our public areas and to our IHG Rewards members. I would encourage you to enroll in IHG Rewards during your next visit to take advantage of this. I do sincerely appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,023
    720
    272
    92
    61
See reviews for
659
624
68
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

A clean modern hotel near to the city centre and all attractions including the convention centre. Great pool and gym and the bar staff are great - after the first night they know exactly what drink you require!
I would recommend this hotel

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
I appreciate you sharing with our Trip Advisor readers. We hear time and time again how relaxing our pool area is to our guests. The Aqua Bar (Tiki Bar) is also a favorite and our two wonderful bartenders, Betty and Jennifer, love to know our guests. In many times its a family atmosphere by the time our guests depart. Thank you for your very kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Clean enough, not uncomfortable, decent coffee. Room a little worn. Loud neighbors one night. (Too tired to call the front desk, I put pillows over my ears!) Desk staff reasonably helpful and courteous. Parking difficult one night, front desk offered to comp valet. Fine as a resort alternative, not a good choice if traveling on business.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry that you encountered noisy neighbors and really wish you had called to let us know. Our security staff is very quick to respond to and address these infrequent situations so that our guests may enjoy the peace and privacy that is deserved. I do hope you give us another opportunity to be your host. You will find that we are accommodating to both leisure and business clientele. I appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

A very nice corporate hotel although a little soulless.

Very surprisingly, the only complementary wifi is available in the lobby area and it is very weak and intermittent.

Wifi in the rooms costs $12.95 per day...budget hotels around the corner on International Drive all offer free wifi in their rooms.

When will hotels learn that expensive wifi is a deal breaker for many potential guests?

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for sharing. I will certainly look into the weak wifi signal that you experienced. I apologize that the connectivity was not up to your expectations. While it is true that WIFI is complimentary in many of the limited feature and budget hotels, you will find most full service hotels do charge for in room internet. We find that we are very competitive with our daily charge of $12.95 but do offer complimentary internet in our public areas. We also provide complimentary WIFI to our IHG Rewards members. I appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I and my husband spend 3 nights at the Crowne Plaza Universal. The hotel itself is beautiful, with a great location (killer views of Universal from our room). The beds were comfortable, the room large and very clean. We didn't go to the parks, so no experience with the shuttle.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor on the Universal side, you'll have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsPeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
MrsPeal, thank you for your review. Brief yet informative and much appreciated. We love our South Carolina guests and hope you come back often and visit us again at the Crowne Plaza Universal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Strategically located. Rooms are spacious and pristine clean. Service is attentive. You can't get a better hotel for such affordable rates. Definitively recommended if you do not want to stay at a resort hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rubba777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your very kind comments with our Trip Advisor readers. I have to agree that the setting is perfect and relaxing and close to just about everything you need. Please keep coming back. We do appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Great place to stay whilst visiting Orlando. Easy to get to all venues and great staff. Had a free bus to the theme parks. Good parking and executive lounge. Family friendly hotel that suited teenage gym users also.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkFAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you so much for sharing and I am thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your experience at our hotel. I do appreciate that you have taken the time to post your comments so our Trip Advisor readers may know more about us. Please visit again when your travels bring you half way around the globe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 337 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal

Property: Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal
Address: 7800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#72 Business Hotel in Orlando
#96 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#124 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the adventure capital of the world, enjoy the award winning service and experience of Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal. Recently voted the top hotel in guest satisfaction among all Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts, this Orlando, hotel is where relaxation meets adventure! The perfect blend of modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting soaring 15 stories over world renowned International Drive and offering views of popular local attractions and their fireworks or seasonal light shows. A masterpiece that blends Park Avenue elegance with the chic deco of South Beach. The hotel features complimentary scheduled shuttle service to the Universal Orlando Resort including Islands of Adventure, City Walk and Universal Studios, the Worlds of Discovery theme parks including Sea World of Orlando and water pakr, Aquatica, the Walt Disney World theme parks and Wet n Wild. The hotel is also a stop on the I Ride Trolley, serving Universal Boulevard and the International Drive areas for just dollars a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Orlando Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Orlando
Crowne Plaza Universal Orlando
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing