We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal
Ranked #143 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here last year for 2 weeks. Couldn't have asked for better. All staff were very helpful and went out of their way to ensure we had a great holiday. They gave us great directions when we were going out of town. Recommended wonderful places to eat.
Rooms very clean and decent size. Easy walk to Universal may need a taxi back afetr walking all day. Pool was lovely and we could always get a bed when we not at the parks. Security was very good at night we sometimes arrived back late at night and security were always visible. Great place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotland192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for the very kind words. I'm happy that you found the hotel, the location, and the staff all there to meet or exceed your expectations. Please visit again soon. Your words are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,023
    720
    272
    92
    61
See reviews for
659
624
68
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I spent a few days at The Crowne Plaza in Orlando for a conference and it was wonderful. The place was great, nice pool and pool bar. The staff was great especially Jayme and William who really took great care of us organizing our travel and dinner reservations. would highly recommend the Crowne Plaze, especially if you will be at the convention centre... five minute cab ride.

WZ

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wally z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyLazzara, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Your review is appreciated and I thank you for taking the time to mention William and Jayme. I am sure they will be appreciative of your praise. Realizing you were here for a convention I do hope you reserved a bit of time for relaxation as well. Please visit again soon for business or better yet when you have some pleasure time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal for 7 nights with my elderly Mum (who was visiting me from the UK). We found the hotel clean, welcoming and conveniently located to restaurants and a short drive to the malls. There was a shuttle bus but I didn't use it to go anywhere. Driving hint: Universal Blvd is a great alternative to the busy International Drive and we found an excellent Publix with a take-away section less than a five minute drive on Universal Blvd (Ave?).

There are a lot of elevators, two of which are glass enclosed and add a little excitement to getting to your room, so we never had a long wait. The hotel is extremely quiet and it was nice to mingle with the international flight crews on their layover - it added to the classy feel of the hotel. The pool area is comfortable and well landscaped. I did not eat at their restaurant or go the bar but it always looked like everyone was having a great time. Parking was never a problem.

I highly recommend staying here and would certainly come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanPIKYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyLazzara, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
The ultimate compliment is reading that you want to come back. I am glad you enjoyed your seven day visit and the surroundings of the hotel. Please do visit again and I thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Myself and my family have just returned from our holiday in Orlando. We did not get on our return flight so had to stay in orlando for one more night. We were recommended to stay at the Crowne Plaza hotel. From check in to check out this was an excellent hotel. When we checked in the staff member Jayme was very helpful in arranging a late check out for us and an upgrade in room and making sure that we had everything that we needed. Out cases were taken to our room by Douglas who continued to be very helpful in arranging transport to the shopping mall and our return trip to the airport. The rates for the 1 night stay was very reasonable for the standard of hotel and room, which was very clean and spacious. The hotel pool and spa was open until midnight which the children enjoyed.
Overall if you are looking for a nice hotel located just off i drive near Universal with reasonable rates then the Crowne Plaza is the place. We only had a short stay but will remember it for the excellent service from the very helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyLazzara, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Your very kind comments are appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed your short visit with us and hope you can return again soon and spend more time with us. There is so much to enjoy in the immiedate area. I am thankful that you mentioned Jayme and Douglas and will be sure to let them know of your praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel, along the universal strip, is a high rise with a lovely pool, good breakfast, clean rooms, and exceptionally nice staff. However, it is FAR away from anything. 1 restaurant within walking distance. What saves this place is the friendliness of the people. The hotel was full of European vacationers having a good time but not overly loud. Also conventioneers. The price was not overly competitive but it had a restaurant. Having a mobility problem I was forced to eat there unless i wanted to taxi out of the hotel. Limited menu for sure, but again great wait staff.

Room Tip: pool view is more expensive but it depends on what you want--roadside was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CascadeProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. I am pleased that you found the hotel itself to your liking and especially appreciative of your fond mention of the friendly service from out team. I am sorry that you found our location not to your liking and apparently the reason for a 3 star review. There are many new restaurants within a block or two well within walking distance and serveral more under construction, soon to open. Our location, close to the Universal attractions and the Orange County Convention Center appeal to many visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Everything about our experience was excellent! From the minute we walked through the door, we were greeted with friendly, professional staff. We arrived early, and the front desk employee accommodated us, upgrading us from a queen bed to a king bed in a room that was available. The room was clean and comfortable, the pool area was gorgeous, the staff was very attentive, and overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyLazzara, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for sharing and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your recent experience at the Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal. Most gratifying was that you found our associates to be friendly and helpful to you. That means a great deal to us in our efforts to be the hotel that guests love. I hope you can visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

When booking my stay, I was looking for an inexpensive hotel with a decent pool area and a bar, that was close to Universal. This hotel meets these expectations. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff was pleasant. The pool area isn't huge, but it's big enough and there is a pool bar. This is not a luxury resort, but I knew that when I booked. For the price (low $100s), I feel like this is a very good value. The Crowne Plaza fit my needs perfectly for a short stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am happy that we were exactly what you were looking for. While we met your expectations, in all honesty, we strive for a much higher review from our guests. While we provide a clean and comfortable facility we really feel that the difference in our service delivery and friendliness of our staff. I hope you come back again and visit with us so we may get that 5th star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
The Point Orlando Resort
#21 of 337 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal

Property: Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal
Address: 7800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#72 Business Hotel in Orlando
#96 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#124 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the adventure capital of the world, enjoy the award winning service and experience of Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal. Recently voted the top hotel in guest satisfaction among all Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts, this Orlando, hotel is where relaxation meets adventure! The perfect blend of modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting soaring 15 stories over world renowned International Drive and offering views of popular local attractions and their fireworks or seasonal light shows. A masterpiece that blends Park Avenue elegance with the chic deco of South Beach. The hotel features complimentary scheduled shuttle service to the Universal Orlando Resort including Islands of Adventure, City Walk and Universal Studios, the Worlds of Discovery theme parks including Sea World of Orlando and water pakr, Aquatica, the Walt Disney World theme parks and Wet n Wild. The hotel is also a stop on the I Ride Trolley, serving Universal Boulevard and the International Drive areas for just dollars a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Hotel Orlando
Orlando Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Orlando
Crowne Plaza Universal Orlando
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing